Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Thriller Labrador Retriever Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Male
  • Large
  • Black


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Thriller

Thriller's Story
-Written by Thriller, a 2-year-old, 46lb male Retriever Mix.

I have never had trouble making friends. I am the kind of dog that will run up and say hello to just about anybody. I love making new it another person or animal. I am the kind of dog who tends to always be happy. Since I am always happy, I try to share my happiness with everyone. If they are sad, I will give them a hug and a kiss. If they are happy, then I am happy...and together we will be a couple of smiling fools. If you are bored, I will engage in play with you. I always try to be the life of the party...and if there isn't a party...I will still bring the fun! It is simply who I am.

I am sure you are curious how a fun and happy boy like me ended up in rescue. Well, like the other dogs past includes being abandoned by those who I thought were my family. I am not the kind of dog to dwell on the past though. I cannot change it, and in the end, it landed me I am not going to get into it. Instead, I will start off with when I ended up in the shelter. I know many dogs end up depressed or sad there. For me, I saw it as another opportunity to make friends. I loved giving kisses to the shelter staff, I loved playtime outside with the other dogs, and I tried to bring a smile to everyone's face that I met. The only time I was a bit down was when I was in a kennel all alone. I would still try my darndest to make people look my way and come to my kennel. That way I could smother them in kisses! My charms didn't win anyone over though, and before I knew it I was on the urgent list. Thankfully, a lot of awesome people got together and with their help, I ended up with this rescue's fluffy butt family! I am now in an amazing foster home, and here soon..I will be in my forever home. I hope I am not being too forward when I say...I am hoping that forever home might be with you!

As you probably guessed from my personality already, I am a pretty playful guy. My energy level will match that of my family. I love walks and get excited to chase squirrels, but when everyone has settled down I love to sit in your lap for pets. I enjoy chasing my squeaky tennis balls outside in the yard. I am working on dropping the ball after I retrieve it. So, I guess I am like 80% a fetch player? Does that make be honest, I have no idea how to do math so that was a total guess. I may not know how to do math, but I do know how to have fun. I love to play with my toys, and am a very big fan of walks! I like to sniff, and am working on leash training. My new family will want to keep working with me, I am not saying that I am not awesome on the leash...but I do still pull and dart from side to side when I get excited. Now, I know some of you more active folks are already thinking..."Well, do you like hiking?!" and the answer to your question is YES! Well, actually I have never been hiking before. I love exploring, I love my people, and I love going on adventures. I am not a genius or anything but I am almost positive that means that I would love to go hiking! If you are the kind of person that considers yourself to be a mermaid..or a merman I guess...but I am sorry to report that I do not consider myself to be a merdog. I have not shown interest in playing in the kiddie pool, but I have done very well during there is that!

If there is one thing that I can promise you about myself, it is that I love making new friends! I will happily greet any person coming over, or even a person that I meet in public. I don't know that I have ever met a stranger, come to think of it. Now, I am so excited to make new friends that I do give hugs. Not everyone is a fan of this, so my foster family has been working with me to not jump on people. This is something my new family should be prepared to work with me on if they don't like hugs. I do great with other dogs. I am playful with them and enjoy teaming up with them to try and catch squirrels (so far, we haven't caught any). I bet those squirrels think they are pretty slick.....I am not currently being fostered around any cats so I cannot say how I would do with them. Cat lovers, I am sorry to break that news to you. If I were to guess how I would do with them, I would think I would want to play with them but I just can't say for sure. Sadly, seeing into the future is not one of my talents. I am not currently being fostered around kids. Now, I have not met a person I don't like so I think I would enjoy having some older dog-savvy kids in my new home. I am still pretty puppy-ish and would feel terrible if I accidentally knocked someone over.

I know many of you like a dog with good house manners, which I am happy to report that I DO have. I am both kennel and potty trained. I have not been a big chewer in my foster home, and tend to stick to chewing on my oinkies, dreambones, and rawhide chips. I will bark when I want something (like to go outside and potty or be served breakfast!) I am not a huge barker but will bark to communicate what I want. Apartment dwellers, I know that some of your probably have your eye on me as well. I would love to say that I would be happy in an apartment, but I really really love having a big backyard to run around and play in. So, I don't think I would be happy living in a small space with no yard.

Now I know I sound like the perfect fit for many of you out there, and I probably am! I am a pretty awesome dude! I love to play, am good about matching the energy of my family, have good house manners, and tend to love everyone I meet! But, someone else once thought I would be a great fit to their family and then let me end up in the shelter. So, if you apply for me be very sure that you can offer me forever..because that is the only kind of dog I want to be now!

If you are interested in adopting me and becoming my FUREVER family, please fill out an adoption app at

Once your app comes in, it will be sent to my foster family. This is to help ensure that not only am I a good fit for you but that you are also a good fit for me! ? And then...then my dream will have fully come to life.

I am currently residing in Tulsa, OK. If you have fallen in love with me and are out of state, how about a road trip? I won't go on a long transport, so the only way I am relocating to another if we are in that car together ?

My adoption fee is $250.
That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heartworm and flea/tick prevention.


-Below is an excerpt from Thriller's foster family.

"Thriller is a 46 pound, roughly 2 year old, black retriever mix. He is SO HANDSOME and has long fluffy black fur, a beautiful fluffy black fan tail, and the biggest brown eyes! Thriller is a total sweetheart. His favorite hobbies are getting pets, snuggling and cuddling with his foster family, fine dining, spending time with his people outdoors playing ball, and going for walks. He is the best bather we've ever had. He will step into the bathtub by himself and seems to thoroughly enjoy getting bathed. His new family will want to continue working with him to redirect him to a sit instead of jumping up, as well as to not pull too hard on his leash. If you're looking for a loving dog who will love you back as much as you love him, Thriller is your man! He is a dreamboat dog!"

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Labrador Retriever
  • Young
  • Male