Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

LeRoy Great Pyrenees & Anatolian Shepherd Mix Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Male
  • Large
  • White / Cream


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats, children.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet LeRoy

LeRoy's Story
-Written by LeRoy, a 1.5-year-old, 80lb male Great Pyrenees/Anatolian Shepherd mix.

I was not a stray. I was not in the shelter. I actually had a home. I was a mix of inside and outside and it was a pretty good life. I had a good routine that I loved. I had a family that I loved. What more could a dog ask for? Sadly, some things are not always meant to last though. My owner had a lot of things happening at once, and it left her unable to properly care for me anymore. She reached out to this rescue about taking me in and thanks to a wonderful foster family stepping up for me, I was able to become a part of their fluffy butt family.

The change was pretty hard on me. I had been with my last family for as long as I can remember. I was pretty reserved for the first few days but have really started to open up now that I know the routine and feel more confident. I am a pretty laid-back and chill guy, and definitely prefer to err on the side of caution. I am not the kind of dog that rushes into things. I tend to hang back and observe my surroundings. I don't think that I got out very much in my last home. I am TERRIFIED of the leash, and men make me nervous...., especially ones that are really tall and have facial hair. I am nervous when walking through large doorways and will sometimes pee myself if something spooks me too much. I don't know if this was due to a lack of socialization or points to something in my past that may have happened. I do know that it takes me some time to feel comfortable and become more confident. I am not someone who can walk into a room and immediately make friends. Consider me the loner who hangs back and waits for someone to approach him and get him to interact.

Now, I may not be the most outgoing guy but I can still hang with the best of them in the house. I am potty trained and can be trusted with free roam of the house. Yes, that also includes when my people are away as well. I tend to mostly just nap when my people are gone. I am not a big barker, in fact, currently, my foster family has no idea what my bark sounds like. A dog still needs to talk though, so I will whine when I want something but am still not a very vocal dog. At night, I like to sleep in the bedroom with my foster parents. Sometimes I like to shake things up and will sleep in bed with their daughter. I would like to think of myself as more of the sophisticated and regal sorts. That means that I don't believe in the silly shenanigans that would result in me chewing up things. I prefer order. Living wise, I think I would do wonderful in an apartment. I am a chill dude. However, the constant walks and going places may require some work and patience given that I am still very scared of the leash and unsure of new enviroments.

My foster has brought me to some public outings and I did well. However, you can definitely see me tense up and get nervous if a strange man approaches. I will shake and try to make myself small. I do like walks, but since I am still not the biggest fan of the leash will still run when I see you with it. Once I have gained some more confidence and feel better on a leash, I think I would enjoy going hiking every now and then. As far as having people come over, I am still more of an introvert. I may come to check things out but seem to be indifferent to women and kids. If strange men come over, I may run and hide. I am good with other dogs. I can be a bit shy when I first meet them. After, I am mostly indifferent to them. I am being fostered around cats and do very well around them. I have been around kids ages 7 and 10 and have done wonderfully!

I am not interested in playing fetch, in the water, or playing with toys. I am really more of a regal and proper guy. My ideal home would be with a calmer family. One that likes to just chill, but will also keep working with me on some things. I need someone to keep showing me that the leash isn't going to hurt me and help me feel more confident in new situations. I know many people have a man in their life. I do not believe I need to go to a home with no men around (but that would be ideal). However, the man in the house needs to be gentle and patient with me. My foster dad is really calm and is often giving me treats and showing me that everything is okay. I need someone like that in my new home. Someone who won't get frustrated with me if I get scared again or nervous.

I have already been an until dog. I know sometimes things just cannot be helped, but I am now ready to be a forever dog. I want my next family to keep and love me foever and ever!

If you are interested in adopting me and becoming my FUREVER family, please fill out an adoption app at

Once your app comes in, it will be sent to my foster family. This is to help ensure that not only am I a good fit for you but that you are also a good fit for me! ? And then...then my dream will have fully come to life.

I am currently residing in Edmond, OK. If you have fallen in love with me and are out of state, how about a road trip? I won't go on a long transport, so the only way I am relocating to another if we are in that car together ?

My adoption fee is $250.
That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heartworm and flea/tick prevention.


-Below is an excerpt from LeRoy's foster family.

"LeRoy seems to have had a hard first year and a half. He is fearful of men (larger men and men with facial hair terrify him), leashes, and loud voices (even when its laughter), sometimes he shows fear walking through double doors, and will wet himself if you scare him. He needs a family that can be calm and SLOW with him. He has so much love to give and I know he will be an amazing family member. He is so so sweet and has been such a joy to have in our home. When he plays with my kids, he is a gentle dog. Even when he plays with me. His adorable smile and 'windmill' tail melt my heart."

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Great Pyrenees
  • Young
  • Male