Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Herah's Story Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Female
  • Large
  • White / Cream


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats, children.
Adoption fee

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Considering Herah's Story for adoption?

Start Your Inquiry Start Your Inquiry

Meet Herah's Story

-Written by Herah, a 12-month-old, 65lb female Great Pyrenees.

All I want is to feel like I belong. I have been passed around a few times already which is crazy to me. I am barely a year old, and probably one of the sweetest dogs around. My first family adopted my sister Mercy and I when we were just little fluffballs. They couldn't decide between us and decided to take us both home. For the first few months, things were great. Everyone wanted to cuddle and play with us. We got to be in the house, and we thought we had found a forever home. After our cute puppy stage was up and we started turning into rambunctious bigger pups...they decided we were too much to handle and ended up rehoming us. We actually found a new home pretty quickly and ended up with another family.

This family wanted us to watch over their outside animals and be good guard dogs. However, that just isn't what we wanted to do. We were already used to being part of the family and with our people. We didn't cut it as livestock guardian dogs, and then that family needed to rehome us. They reached out to this rescue and they said yes! They didn't have any available foster families but felt for us. We ended up going into boarding for a few weeks, and then finally someone stepped up for us and we started a new adventure!

I am now in a loving foster family and hopefully, if I am lucky my next move will be to my forever family. The one that can promise that we will be together until the end. I am so ready to be someone's forever girl! I am so sweet and so cuddly and just get so excited when I hear you talk to/call me. I just want to feel like I belong and that I am loved! ♥

Speaking of love, in case you haven't realized it yet..I am a lover! I love other dogs and do well with them. I may be a little nervous upon our first meeting but after a little will even start trying to romp around with them. I enjoy playing with my foster brother but understand when he had had enough and will walk away and go play by myself. While I love dogs, I do think I am a little more focused on my people and feel that I would do well as an only dog too. I just hope my family is home a lot because I don't think I could handle being all by myself for a full workday. I was around cats for a short time and did really well with them. In fact, I didn't pay them much mind at all. My focus was mainly on my people, and then the other dogs. I LOVE kids. My foster has 2 boys (6 and 10) and I love cuddling with them and giving them kisses. I do tend to jump when I get excited, which the 6-year-old doesn’t like, but seem to be quick at correcting when you tell me no. Since I am still working on that though, I don't know if I would be the best match for toddlers.

At first, I wasn't too sure about getting into the car but now pretty much hop right in on my own. I love looking out the window with the window down. I will also stick my head up by you when you’re driving for some quick rubs before going back to the window. I just want to be wherever my people are. At home, on walks, at restaurants, camping, road trips…as long as I am with my people, I will be happy. I have only been on a few walks so far but did well. I didn't really pull or try to drag my foster all over the place. Everyone that I have met I consider to be my best friend and will go in for kisses and cuddles.

I have not figured out fetch yet. I do LOVE toys though. I am the kind of girl that will grab every toy from the toy box and bring it back to wherever I am sleeping/hanging out. I have not had the chance to play in any water yet so am unsure if I am a water dog or not. I am not a hyper dog. I am actually pretty chill. I am mischievous though! I am very happy to explore the house and find things you didn’t know were missing, lol. I am definitely all puppy right now but will grow out of this stage. But most of the time I can be found lying down and playing with my toys or napping.

I do think that with a good exercise plan I would do well in an apartment setting. I am not a big barker, and in fact, my foster has yet to hear me bark. That may change as I start to feel more at home though. I would say that I am pretty much potty trained. My foster leaves the door open when I’m at home and I always know to go outside to potty. I have no experience being kenneled. I usually have free roam of the house when my foster is away. I do sometimes grab things and chew on them if they are left out. I am not destructive though, and usually, my foster will find them just covered in slobber ;)

Well, I have shared all that I can about myself. I really hope that we are a match.

Please I am begging you though, only apply to adopt me if you can keep me forever. If you can't keep me through ALL of life's changes, don't be the one that makes me have to be passed around a few months/years down the line. That just isn't fair to me.

I would NEVER give up on you, so please don't give up on me. I want to be your forever...not your until dog.
Application to adopt Herah

Location: Broken Arrow, OK
-Adopters must be able to pick up their new dog, with no exceptions.

Adoption Fee: $250 Includes: Two rounds of the DHLPP, Rabies, Bordetella, Fecal, Deworming, Heartworm Test, Micro-Chip, Spay, and she will be current heartworm and flea/tick prevention.


~Herah is incredibly sweet and loving. She loves attention and getting pets. I haven’t seen an aggressive bone in her body at all, even when meeting my 100 pound dog for the first time. Her fur is long, soft and she does shed. She doesn’t chew on furniture or walls, but she will chew on shoes and kids’ stuffed animals. My dog hasn’t liked sharing toys with her, so I think she would be better if she was actually allowed to chew on the dog toys and bones instead. I honestly think she’s getting into shoes and other items because my dog is hoarding all of the toys from her. Either way, just be aware of the puppy mentality from her right now. Curious is her middle name. She doesn’t know any commands yet—well, she seems to understand the word “no.” But we have been working on “sit” with her for just a few days and she’s already catching on. She will bolt out the door if given an inch, but I think that will get better as she learns her commands. She is very sweet and loves people. She seems to be very smart too considering how quickly she is beginning to pick up on things in the short amount of time we have had her. She just needs to be with a family who won’t leave her by herself all of the time. She’s very much a family dog. A person/family who is loving and wants the dog to be part of their lives and is willing to continue teaching her things like “sit, stay, come” etc., would be the perfect fit for her!

Herah would be great as a one dog home or a home with other dogs. She loves kids and is very playful, but as long as she’s getting attention and loving, I don’t think she would care if it was from a group of people or one person.~

Considering Herah's Story for adoption?

Start Your Inquiry Start Your Inquiry

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Herah's Story

Herah's Story

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Young
  • Female