Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Clydester Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Large
  • White / Cream


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, children.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Clydester

Clydester's Story
-Written by Clydester, a 2-year-old, 66lb male Great Pyrenees.

I knew exactly what to expect in my past life. My owner got my brother Chipster and me as puppies. We spent our time outside keeping an eye on things. Our days tended to be the same, the only thing that was really ever different was the weather. Other than that, we had our routine and we kept to it pretty well. It was a quaint little life and I enjoyed it. I spent a lot of time with my brother, and not as much with my people. Sure, they came out and gave us loving but it was never for too long. They would eventually end up going back inside and I would wander back off.

One day, I felt a shift in things. My family was excited because they had been offered a new job. The only thing required them to relocate. I was curious. I had only ever been in that yard, but I was excited. It would be an adventure. Something out of the norm, and I was actually ready for that. I excitedly ran and told my brother Chipster that we would be moving. As it would turn out, I should have listened to that whole conversation. I would soon find out that, I was not going with my family. And the same went for Chipster. Our family was moving...but we were not coming. My owner tried hard to rehome us, but no one was biting. Soon, it came down to just a few days when they would be leaving and they still did not have a place for us. I started to get worried. What was going to happen to us? Of course, secretly I had hoped that they would take us with them...but I guess that just wasn't in the cards.

Finally, our owner reached out to this rescue and they ended up finding foster families for us. Suddenly, our owner was loading us up and we were on our way to a new leash on life. The funniest part about all of this was...I did get my wish. I did end up moving, but it just wasn't in the way that I had expected. I met my foster mom shortly after and had quite a few surprises. The first was that she brought me inside. You could say I was quite shocked. I cannot remember if I had ever been in the house before. Still, this was pretty cool. I started exploring and checking everything out. I was a bit unsure the first few days, but now that I have learned the routine I am quite accustomed to living indoors. In fact, I cannot believe that I was only ever an outside dog!

I am potty trained but used to be strictly an outside dog. So, every once in a while I have an accident still but it is rare. I am kennel trained. I am not a big chewer but I am the curious sort. I am not really interested in toys, but do like chewing on bones. If I see you playing with the remote, and then I see you leave it somewhere...well let's just say I wanted to play with it too and ended up chewing on it. I guess I wasn't supposed to do that, but so far that is the only thing I have chewed on that I shouldn't have. I have not been a big barker in my foster home. I have never been in a place that doesn't have a yard. I am unsure how I would do in an apartment. I really love being inside and doing quite well, but I don't know how I would do only being leash walked. At night, my foster family lets me have free roam of the house and I can sleep wherever I want. Usually, my choice is the couch. I have decided that I quite like it, and am on it often. My favorite thing about the couch is when you are on it with me. I like to put my paws on you and cuddle. I never really got to do anything like that in my last home, and I really enjoy that time with my people.

I am really good at reading the room. I can be chill and relaxed when my people are around. When the dogs want to play or we are outside, I become playful as well. I do enjoy going for walks and believe that I would enjoy going hiking with my new family. I am uninterested in playing fetch, but that is probably because I had never played it before. It is a totally new thing to me. I have not had the chance to go swimming or play in any water, so I am unsure if I like it or not. I have not shown much interest in toys, but do like chewing on bones. I also enjoy a good playing session with the other dogs.

I am good with other dogs and kids. I am not being fostered around any cats, but I am a pretty calm guy so think I would do fine with them. When I am out in public, I am very friendly and enjoy meeting new people. When my foster family has people come over, I am waiting by the door to greet them. I enjoy hanging out with the humans, especially when they give me pets or sneak treats to me!

There was a time in my life that I thought things would always be a certain way. And now, I am living a totally different way. I am quite fond of the new life I have found and am looking for something similar in my new home. I am looking for a family that will let me climb on the couch with them, likes to go for walks, is on the calmer side(but still likes to play every now and then), and can promise me forever. I have already been an until dog and while things ended up working out, I don't want to be that to anyone again. I want to be someones forever. I want to know that the family that adopts me, will keep me through all of life's changes...because that is what I would do for them. They are my family after all, and you don't give up on family! ♥

If you are interested in adopting me, please apply for me at

Once your app comes in, it will be sent on to my foster family. This is to help ensure that not only am I a good fit for you but that you are also a good fit for me! ?

I am currently residing in Broken Arrow, OK. If you have fallen in love with me and are out of state, how about a road trip? I do well when riding in the car.

My adoption fee is $250.
That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention.


-Below is an excerpt from Clydester's foster family.

"Clydester is a wonderful dog. He is gentle with babies and kids. Gets along great with our GSD and Pyr/Heeler mix. He will make any family a wonderful addition!"

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Great Pyrenees
  • Adult
  • Male