Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Carl Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Male
  • Large
  • White / Cream, Apricot / Beige

About

Coat length
Medium
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, children.
Adoption fee
$250.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Carl

Ready to share his story, say hello to Carl! ?
From his foster mom:

?"Carl is a 2-year-old, 98lb male Great Pyrenees mix. Carl is a BIG calm smart boy. He’s gentle and sweet and so loving. Carl’s never met a living thing he did not like. People are always intimidated by his size but fall in love with him immediately. Every new person we encounter comments on how he’s the best boy and that they’d love to take him home with them if they could. We know there’s a perfect family out there for this gentle giant!" ?

Have you ever wondered what it feels like to have a family of your own? I have. There was a time when I had no family of my own. I spent my days roaming the countryside just looking for somewhere to belong. I kept hoping someone would welcome me to their family, but no one ever did. They saw me wandering, but no one ever tried to get me off the streets. So, I got skinnier and tried to live the life of a stray..it just wasn't the life for me. Finally, I caught a break when the right person saw me wandering around. I ran right up to her and she was so nice. She tried hard to find my family but no one ever tried to reclaim me. I was truly homeless. After months of trying to find my owners or a home for me, she reached out to this rescue about taking me in. They accepted me, and now it is time to find my FUREVER family.

I tend to be more playful outside as there is just so much to see and do. When I am inside, I tend to be chill and calm and can be a bit of a couch potato. I spend a lot of my day napping, but I do find time in there to play with toys. I am good with other dogs and enjoy their company. I do play with them but am not a crazy player. I like to play a little and then relax. I believe I would be happy in a home without other dogs or as an only dog. I have not been around cats, so I cannot say for sure how I would do with them. Given my calmer personality, I think I would be fine with a proper introduction. I am good with kids and am quite gentle around them. With that said, I am also a pretty big guy so would do best with older kiddos. I would hate to accidentally knock the younger ones over.

I have been to the vet and over to some other people's houses and did well. I was both calm and loving to everyone that I met. I have good manners around people and don't jump on them. I do believe that I have the personality where I would quite enjoy being out and about with my family and meeting new people. I can be hesitant about getting into the car, but once I am in I ride really well and show no signs of distress. While I would enjoy going places with my family, overall I would consider myself to be more of a homebody. So, would do best in a home that isn't super active outside the home. I love going on walks and am always excited about my daily walks with my foster mom. Given my love of the outdoors and exploring, I do think that I would have a blast going on hikes with my new family. I have met some unfamiliar dogs on my walks and while I am a bit hesitant but also calm around them.

I have good house manners and am potty trained. I have never been kenneled so have no experience being in one. When my foster family is away, I have free roam of the house and do well. At night, I enjoy sleeping at the foot of my foster mom's bed on a doggie bed. I am not a big chewer but may get into things if I am left alone all day long by myself. I am vocal when I am outside, especially if I hear strange noises or see something amiss.

I am the kind of dog that would do well in an active or calmer home environment. I am really good about matching the energy of my family. I enjoy having other dogs around but also think that I would do fine as an only dog as long as my new family wasn't gone all day long. A couple hours would be fine though.

If you are interested in offering me forever, you can apply to adopt me at
https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app

Once this app comes in, it will be sent to my foster family. This is to help ensure that not only am I a good fit for you but that you are also a good fit for me! ?

I am currently residing in Henryetta, OK. If you have fallen in love with me and are out of state, how about a road trip? I won't go on a long transport, so the only way I am relocating to another state...is if we are in that car together ?

My adoption fee is $250.00.
That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heartworm and flea/tick prevention.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Carl

Carl

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Young
  • Male