Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Aqua Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Female
  • Large
  • White / Cream


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, children.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Aqua

Aqua's Story
-By Aqua, a 10-month-old, 64lb female Great Pyrenees.

My life was decided for me when I was still a puppy. My owners brought me home with the intention of me being a livestock guardian dog. I was to watch over the animals, monitor the property, and ensure everything is as it should be. I didn't comprehend exactly what this meant when I was a puppy. I was young so my family did not push me too hard on it yet. However, once I got older they expected more from me. The thing was though, I didn't want that life. I did not want to be outside on my own. I did not want the responsibility of watching over the animals. I know some enjoy the job and take it seriously...but for was simply not my thing. I kept wandering off and would find my way to my owner's door. I would lie down in front of their door every night and whine. I wanted to be inside with them, not outside alone in the dark. Along with that, the neighbors were getting upset with me for coming onto their property sometimes and threatened to shoot me if I kept doing it. So, my family decided to rehome me.

A very nice family heard about my situation and took me in. They let me come inside with them, and I thought I was finally home. I thought I had found my forever family. Sadly, this new family could not keep me either. They wanted to save me from my previous situation but they had some things arise that made it very hard to keep a new dog and work with her, especially because I had no training when I first came to them. They reached out to this rescue about me and were kind enough to keep me until this rescue found a foster home for me. Soon after that, I met my foster mom and went home with her.

I am calm. I am playful. I am laid back. I am a good mix of everything, and try to match my energy to that of my family. I am eager to please and try to be the best girl possible. All I have ever wanted was to be with people, and now that I have that I don't want to ever lose that privilege. My foster tried to introduce the game called fetch to me, but I am not interested in it. I don't really get the point of it, but then again I didn't grow up with the game. I have been introduced to toys though and enjoy playing with them. I have not been around any big bodies of water, so am unsure if I am a water dog or not. Perhaps, my new family and I can discover that together?

My foster family has taken me out in public a few times and I have done well. I am not fully leash trained yet but do pretty well on it. I am a bit indifferent when I meet new people. I don't try to run up to or jump on them. However, if they come to say hello to me I am friendly with them. I do enjoy going for walks, and love getting to sniff everything. I have not been hiking yet, but do think it is something that I would enjoy. When my foster takes me on car rides, I do excellent. I actually seem to enjoy them. While I enjoy going out and about and do okay on a leash I do not think I would do well in an apartment setting. I can be quite playful at times, and love having a yard to run and play in.

I am good with other dogs and kids. When I first meet a new dog, I am a little shy and unsure about them. However, once I feel comfortable with them, I become quite playful. I would love to have another doggie playmate in my new home. I cannot really say if I would be okay as an only dog or not. I really love to play and enjoy the companionship of another dog. If my family was on the active side and home a lot, I may do okay as an only dog. I am currently being fostered around kids as young as 5 and do well with them. I am not being fostered around cats, so cannot say how I would do with them.

I am potty and kennel trained. I have not shown to be a big chewer in my foster home. In fact, my house manners are so good that I am given free roam...even if my foster mom is away. At night, I like to sleep in bed with my foster mom or I will sleep on a doggie bed in the bedroom. I can be a barker when I am outside, which is no surprise given my breed. However, for the most part, I am pretty quiet inside.

Now that you know my story, what do you think? Could I be the girl for you? Could I be your forever dog? I say forever because that is what I want. I don't want to get adopted, just to find out a year or two later that I no longer fit my family's lifestyle and they return me. I want someone who will never let me go. I am quite the loyal girl and if you were to adopt me, I would stay by your side to the very end. And I would hope that you would be the same way!

If you are interested in offering me forever then please apply to adopt me at

Once you have submitted your application, it will be sent to my foster family for consideration.

I am being fostered in Moore, OK. I do ask that my new family pick me up, none of that outside transport stuff. If I am going to move in with you, I expect to start our journey in the car together driving home TOGETHER.

My adoption fee is $250.00.

That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heartworm and flea/tick prevention.


-Below is an excerpt from Aqua's foster family.

"Aqua is very sweet, playful, and affectionate! She loves to play with her foster siblings, chew on toys, and cuddle on the couch! At night she sleeps in the bed with me or on her dog bed. She loves being outside and running around with her foster siblings. Aqua absolutely loves people, children, and other dogs! She’s absolutely perfect. ?"

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Great Pyrenees
  • Young
  • Female