Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Mindy(Jupi)'s Story Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Female
  • Large
  • White / Cream, Black


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Mindy(Jupi)'s Story

Written by Mindy(Jupi), a 2.5-year-old female Great Pyrenees mix.
Hey guys, I have to admit that I really didn't see myself ever being back here again. Some things are just out of your control though, and sadly due to reasons out of my adoptive family's control, they have to return me.

In case you are wondering, I had originally come into rescue when I was only about six weeks old with my sister Kiki. Our owner was unable to find homes for us, so reached out to this rescue for help with placing us. I was adopted shortly after and have been with my current family ever since. While I am sad that things are no longer working out, I am excited to see what life has in store for me and meet my new family! ♥

I am good with other dogs and am playful with them. However, I am the only dog in my current home and do well. I am not currently being fostered around any cats so am unsure how I would do with them. I am good with kids but do have my playful moments so may accidentally knock over really young children. I do well when meeting new people and seem to never know a stranger! I am eager to befriend all people, but may sometimes jump on them out of excitement. When it comes to meeting new dogs I am both submissive and friendly with them.

I do well in the car and love going on road trips. I have gone to the park and different stores with my family and enjoyed it very much! I love being wherever my people are so do believe that I would enjoy going places with my new family. I love walks and am not reactive to people or other dogs, but if a loud car drives by I may need a little reassurance. I am not really a hiker and an hour's walk is about my max. Then, I am ready to nap the rest of the day away ;) While I do enjoy going places with my family, I do think I would also be happy being a homebody as long as my family still found ways to keep me stimulated at home.

I will play fetch with you but there is a catch..I will only play fetch with you INDOORS. I know...I know...that sounds silly but I never claimed to be otherwise ;) Sometimes you may be able to get me to play fetch with a stick outside. I do love toys but I need toys made for chewing because I will destroy plush toys quickly. However, sometimes there is a special plush toy that I like that I won't perform surgery on and remove all that white stuffing! Every summer I look forward to the kiddie pool that my family gets me and I absolutely love it! I have never been in an actual pool though. For the most part, I am a lazy dog. When I am in a playful mode though, I can be quite rowdy so my new family needs to be ready for me to go from 0-100 sometimes ;)

I do think that I would do okay in an apartment setting as long as it was spacious and my new family exercised me enough. I am potty trained and have learned to let you know when I have to go potty by hitting my nose on the door knob. I am kennel trained but it is usually always open and I can go in and out as I please. I don't chew on furniture or anything like that. However, I have been known to snag a shoe, remote, or another object that was left out for the taking. Typical puppy stuff. I am not really a big barker. I won’t bark at a doorbell or knock at the door, BUT if I know someone is outside I will bark. I will bark if I feel like there is something out of the normal going on to let you know, but for the most part, I am quiet. When no one is home, I am given free roam of the house and do well.

That is all I have to share about myself. I really hope that we are a match. The app to adopt me can be found at

Please I am begging you though, only apply to adopt me if you can keep me forever. If you can't keep me through ALL of my life's changes, don't be the one that makes me have to be passed around a few months/years down the line. That just isn't fair to me.

I would NEVER give up on myself, so please don't give up on me. I want to be your forever...not your until dog.

Apply to adopt Mindy(Jupi) at

Location: Oklahoma City, OK
-Adopters must be able to pick up their new dog, with no exceptions.

Adoption Fee: $250
Includes: DHLPP, Rabies, Bordetella, Fecal, Deworming, Heartworm Test, Micro-Chip, Spay, and she will be current heartworm and flea/tick prevention.


"Mindy, aka Jupiter, goes by Jupi. She is a gentle and loving dog. She wants to be wherever you are. I honestly think she’d be fine with just about anyone whether they’re super active or laid back. She doesn't always understand personal space though and would probably be a bit too much "dog" for young kids.

She knows how to sit, shake, and lay down, BUT she has the Pyrenees attitude and sometimes chooses not to do them. She does good on the leash, but she pulls for the first few minutes. She only barks when she knows someone is outside and knows something is out of the norm. She’ll also bark when she’s ready to come inside.

She loves frozen carrots and sardines. When it snows she will want to spend the whole day outside. Good luck trying to get her to come in! When it rains she will not want to go to the bathroom if the ground is muddy. She needs a nice patch of grass. Overall she just wants to be your companion and hang out in the same room as you. Once you start petting her you can not stop. She will put her hand on you as if she’s begging for more! She would be fine as the only dog in the home, but after seeing how she is with other dogs I think she would really love the companionship of another dog.~

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Mindy(Jupi)'s Story

Mindy(Jupi)'s Story

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Young
  • Female