Main Content
Maverick, an adoptable Weimaraner in Charlestown, IN_image-1

Maverick Weimaraner Charlestown, IN

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Large
  • Gray / Blue / Silver


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered, special needs.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, children.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Maverick

Hi! My name is Maverick. I am a bit of a sad story. You see, I am a product of a divorce. I used to have a mom and dad and two human siblings. We had so much fun together. They taught me many things. I know how to sit, stay, give paw, lay down and my favorite...give hugs. Unfortunately, mom and dad got divorced. I lived with Grandpa for a little while, but he felt I wasn't getting the attention that I needed and deserved. He found LWR and I've been placed in a foster home in the Cincinnati area. My first week at my foster home, I kept looking for my family. I thought for sure they would come to get me. However, as I was waiting for them, this new family started loving on me and taking good care of me. I live with two small dogs and my foster mom and dad and their son. They are pretty nice and even though I miss my first mom and dad, I'm adjusting pretty well. My foster mom hasn't seen me around cats, but my grandpa told them that I probably should not be around them. I've had a few changes since I got here. The main one being I had to be neutered. I did just fine with my surgery and I'm all healed up. The doctor did blood work on me and even though I'm 10 years old, you would never believe it if you saw the results. I'm in terrific shape. I'm fairly thin. I weigh 62 pounds. I eat well. I guess I just still have a fast metabolism.
Living in the Midwest is tough on my nasal system! I get allergies when the earth is blooming! Just like so many people, the pollen annoys me. I got an allergy shot and had some medicine for my ears. It did the trick. I feel so much better. So please keep in mind I will probably need allergy shots each year. I'm heartworm negative and take monthly heartworm and flea/tick preventative. I have started taking some anxiety medication. With so many changes going on in my life right now, I bark when you leave. It may be because of all the changes, I just don't know if you are coming back. Or it could be that I'm jealous that I'm not going with you. You see, one of my favorite things to do is to ride in the car. I LOVE to GO and I don't care where we are going, I just want to GO with YOU! I would be a great travel buddy. Another thing that I have discovered that I like is going to the dog park. My foster mom and I will walk and walk around the dog park. My foster siblings run off and play but I like to stay fairly close to my foster mom. Don't get me wrong, I still will run and play and chase after a ball, but I always come back to where my foster mom is. She seems to like me a lot and makes sure that if I'm nervous around a strange dog, she will protect me. I like running with my foster siblings. They are really fun. The exercise is great and so important for my mental health. It helps keep me calm. "A tired dog is a happy dog." I'm a big snuggle bunny. When you are watching TV, I will want to be right beside you watching TV too. I've always slept with my humans. I've been in a crate but I don't care much for it. Even though I bark a lot when they leave, I've never torn up anything at my foster parent's house. They let me roam the house freely when they are gone. I have to admit that I did get some bacon that my foster mom left out on the counter, but who can blame me! I'm potty trained and will pace when I need to go out. I hope you are the person I'm looking for. Being a part of a family is very important to me. I don't care if my new family is just you and I or if there's many more. I just want the chance to belong again and have a special place in your heart. Please don't let my age discourage you. If you would like to talk more about me, please go to and complete an adoption application. One of LWR's volunteers will give you a call after receiving your application. See you soon!

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Weimaraner
  • Adult
  • Male