Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Tango Labrador Retriever & Hound Mix Oswego, IL

  • Adult
  • Female
  • Medium
  • Golden, White / Cream


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.
Adoption fee

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Tango

Meet Tango!

?My name is Tango, I’m a sweet & adorable 5 year old hound mix. I weigh in at about 47 lbs and enjoy going on several walks a day. I love to snuggle and love getting attention from anyone I meet. I am not home alone often since my foster works from home. I am very quiet so she can work and follow her around when I hear her get up. I am not comfortable with stairs (a few steps are okay) and have only made it half way up a flight of stairs and sit on the landing waiting for my foster mom in the morning. I haven’t met any children or cats. I am house trained and sometimes go into my crate to rest but love sitting and sleeping on the couch. Sometimes I even like using a pillow.

While spending 2.5 years at a shelter in Tennessee I was the dog they used to find out if new dogs coming in to the shelter were friendly. They said I preferred male dogs but I have spent a lot of time with my foster mom’s parent’s dog when we go visit her family. That older 65 lbs female dog is calm like me and we only had a few issues when I wanted her food so I growled at her and pushed her out of the way and when I was resting on my foster mom and the other dog wanted to play with a ball. She was play growling and I wanted to protect my foster mom. While we visit we put the toys up and eat separately.

I don’t bark in the house and go near the door when I need to go outside. I am working on trying to use bells on the door to alert my foster that it’s time for me to go. She takes me on 4-5 walks during the day and sometime I go on a long leash right outside the back door. I am getting used to snow but don’t like walks in the rain and haven’t ever had an accident.

I love to be a lap dog and I’m looking for the perfect lap in my forever home. I would prefer being the only pet in the home so I can get all the attention. If there are children, it would be better if they are older. I haven’t played with toys much at all but hoping I can do more of that so after recently getting a few broken teeth removed. Right now my favorite is a tennis ball.

Puppies have special needs and require a home where there will be someone available to care for, socialize, and train them during the day. If your family is away from the home for several hours at a time, please consider adopting a teenager or adult dog.

Our standard adoption fees are as follows $400 for puppies up to 12 months, $300 for adults, and $200 for seniors 7yrs and up with cash or check. It includes spay/neuter, age appropriate vaccinations, fecal testing, deworming, flea and tick preventative, heartworm preventative, free vet visit at one of our participating vets, and micro-chipping.

We must have an application, conduct a phone interview, and meet your entire family to approve an adoption. Please visit for an application.

Please note that the breeds and sizes posted in this biography are educated best guesses and are not guaranteed.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Labrador Retriever
  • Adult
  • Female