Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Rufus Shih Tzu Williamsburg, VA

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Small
  • Gray / Blue / Silver


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered, special needs.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats, children.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Rufus

Say Hi to Rufus!

He wants to remind everyone he is still available for adoption!

Things that are definitely positive about Rufus: senior, good with other gentle K9 friends, good with kitties, good with gentle people/children, basically housebroken, crate trained, almost never barks, loves to cuddle, completely chill, cute as can be.

Things that seem less positive about Rufus, but are all very manageable: senior, extremely limited sight, deaf, limited mobility, limited teeth, daily maintenance required

Curious, Read On: (long, but worth the read):

Rufus is a 7-9 year old Shih-Tzu who came to Homes Fur Hounds in rough shape a few months back. With some time and care, he is doing quite well now. He is neutered, UTD, and microchipped. He is a very resilient fella with a great attitude and spunk.

More on his Legs: His back legs are a bit wobbly. The vet suspects it could have been a combination of atrophy from poor care and/or a possible old spinal injury. Despite this, he does get around fairly well, but he will need a home with carpeting or runners so he can keep his balance. Because of his legs and his limited sight, he probably needs few or no stairs in his new home and a family that doesn't move the furniture around too much. One story living is ideal, but if he had and an owner who is able to carefully pick him up to help him navigate stairs, that would be okay too. He is about 18-20 lbs.

More on his dependence/Independence: He might do best with a low-key K9 buddy to help him co-pilot the world, but he would be okay as the only dog too. He strongly prefers to have a human companion around *most* of the time. However, he has an independent streak in him. He does not love a harness or leash and being told where to go. He just wants to go where he wants to go. He just needs to feel some control, some of the time. Don't we all? A fenced yard with some freedom for him to wander would be best for him. He really likes to lay in the sun and enjoy the smells of the outside. He will happily find a place to nap by himself too. But, people around most of the time is ideal.

More on his Maintenance: Rufus has dry eyes so he will need over-the-counter drops daily. He will also need his eyes wipes with a damp, warm washcloth daily to keep the crusties away. He loves being wiped down and brushed! He enjoys a bath too….he doesn’t like being stinky. He may have some seasonal allergies, so may need either over-the counter or prescription drugs on occasion.

More on his teeth: Rufus has had some dental work to take care of some issues. He only has a few teeth left, but is a good eater. He just needs soft or softened food and treats.

A few more things: : Rufus sleeps well and needs to be awakened slowly/gently because he cannot hear. After he wakes up, he needs a minute to get his bearings. He does fine in the crate as long as he has a super comfy bed and it’s not too hot. He LOVES his beds and blankets. He is basically housebroken, but will definitely need patience, consistency and routine in his new home. He does fine with dogs of all sizes and cats. Young children will probably be too much for this little dude. Older children that understand Rufus is an older, quiet guy would be okay. He is not a run, jump, or play kinda fella....he just likes to hang out.

He is a cool little dude looking for just the right person or family to become a part of .
If you are interested in meeting Rufus our application can be found at He is located in Williamsburg, VA.

Sweet Ellie Photography generously offered to take pictures of Rufus so they are the ones who took his wonderful profile picture.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Shih Tzu
  • Adult
  • Male