Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Ruff Chihuahua Kennesaw, GA

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Small

About

Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Ruff

LOOKING FOR A GREAT LEADER: Approx. 7 years old / Approx. 12 lbs.

Hi there, I’m Ruff! I came to Mostly Mutts from animal control, and I sure am happy to be in their care while I wait to find my new family to love!! I’m a fun and spirited pup looking for a good leader to follow. I got to spend some time in the prison/foster training program off site and learned a lot!

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS: I met dogs recently at Mostly Mutts and I have shown that I am selective in which dogs I like. I tend to get along with calm, mellow dogs that understand my boundaries and won’t be around me with food or treats. If you have a nice doggie at home, let’s meet with my trainer and see if we can be pals. / I was getting more acquainted with the cats in my foster home, and I did ok with the crated kittens I rode with in the car. When I first met cats, I showed some prey drive to chase them if they ran, though I showed some improvement. If you have a dog-savvy cat at home, let’s meet. / In my former foster home, there was an older teen who understood me and let me come to him for attention, petting and some good scratches, though sometimes I did still growl at him. I think older teens who understand my boundaries could be a fit for me, so let’s meet. I’ve done some guarding of my bowls and some toys that contain food, so no younger kids.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL: I have a very sweet personality once I know you and I do best when people let me come to them. I prefer that people get on my level to meet me; it helps me perceive you and understand that you are a friend as I am little. If I am uncomfortable with someone new, I will growl. In my former foster home, I did some alert barking and charged at visitors who entered my home without proper introduction first. Once I know you, I am a super fun guy. My trusted people can pick me up, give me baths, harness me, etc. On a recent daytrip, a volunteer said I was a “good boy” who travels well and enjoyed playing with a squeaky toy. / My energy level is 4 – 5.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY: I’m a member of the Mostly Mutts University training program and have learned the ‘sit’, ‘down’, ‘stay’, ‘come’, ‘leave it’ and ‘place’ commands so far. I also use proper door etiquette and walk nicely on a leash, though I don’t really enjoy walks, so just super short walks for me. I’m sure I’ll learn even more as I do follow my trainer’s leadership. With my trainer, I’ve learned that I’m rewarded for calm behavior. I need a family that will provide leadership and rules so that I don't feel the need to be the leader. / I do well in my crate, though you must let me come out on my own and reach in for me. My trainer has learned that I only guard my crate if there is food, treats, or a soft toy in it. / My potty manners have been good on the shelter schedule and in my former foster home. In my former foster home, I let my foster know I needed to go outside by sitting at her feet and staring at her. When she said ‘outside’ I ran to the door in excitement, so she understood I needed to go out.

• LIKES/DISLIKES: I love fetching squeaky balls and treats. I will entertain myself with a toy or play with you. I am a pretty chill guy who prefers going out for a quick tinkle and then right back in rather than a long walk. Sitting on the bench and sunning myself a bit next to the nice volunteers is fun too. / I am cautious when new people approach and did get a hold of one visitor’s shoe/foot - I am more comfortable when new people let me initiate the interaction. In the prison/foster program, I didn’t like it when the guards dressed in all black were around me and I also didn’t like when people would run by me. I’m sure I wouldn’t like it if I didn’t get enough love, attention, and training.

• MEDICAL: I'm current on vaccinations, micro-chipped and neutered. I take a joint supplement and fish oil daily for my skin and joints.

I’ll thrive with a family that will provide me with good training and leadership. My adoption fee is $299.00, and I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.

Mostly Mutts

Kennesaw, GA
  • Location Address

    3238 Cherokee St NW
    Kennesaw, GA 30144

  • day hours
    Monday 10am - 3pm
    Tuesday 10am - 3pm
    Wednesday 10am - 3pm
    Thursday 10am - 3pm
    Friday 10am - 3pm
    Saturday 10am - 3pm
    Sunday Closed
More about Mostly Mutts

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Ruff

Ruff

  • Chihuahua
  • Adult
  • Male