Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

KYLE Australian Cattle Dog / Blue Heeler Mix Farmington, MN

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Medium
  • Bicolor, Black, White / Cream


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, children.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.


Kyle is a 1yr old, 40# Heeler mix that came to us from an overcrowded shelter in Oklahoma.

He is good with other dogs per the sending shelter, but the foster home doesn’t have other dogs. He sees other dogs during walks and does fine & did just fine with everyone on the transport. Unknown about cats.

Kyle LOVES people and would be good with older kids. He can get very excited and jumpy when meeting nee friends and could scratch/knock over a small child unintentionally. Also, he is very mouthy when he plays & a young child make think he’s trying to bite.

Kyle isn’t a barker. As far as being kenneled: he will go into the kennel with a treat; but he has VERY high separation anxiety (he hasn’t has good kennel experiences prior to coming into rescue). He would do best in a home where someone is around most/all of the time so he doesn’t have to be kenneled or alone for long periods. The anxiety might lessen over time as he get more situated into his home and with his high energy needs being met on a regular basis. He does sleep in his kennel, in our room at night - since we are in the room he does ok & he’s also there when we leave, but he gets anxious when we leave.

Kyle is still adjusting to home life vs being stuck in a kennel in a shelter. He does seem to be trained and he whines to go outside. Kyle did get an upset tummy from starting a quality food once in rescue, so swapping foods should be kept minimal to avoid diarrhea. No food aggression issues.

He walks fine one a leash but does pull a bit when he sees another dog, rabbit, squirrel or human. He’s excited to see them!

Kyle is a smart dog, but it’s obvious that nobody’s taken the time to train him as he doesn’t know any basic obedience commands just yet. Foster home is working on SIT, COME and DOWN.

Kyle does like to chew, so giving him lots of the proper items to chew on like bones and power chewer toys will help keep him from chewing your shoes/boots and other plastic items or things in his crate. He is learning these items are not chew toys & what HIS toys are. Kyle does not beg but is treat motivated so will responds well with them for training .He pulls on the leash but responds to his name and comes when outside. Life is so different in a home vs 4 concrete walls or running free as a stray, but he’s adjusting and learning, it just takes time. This smart boy is catching on quick with consistent foster parents! No apartment obviously would be ok for this guy because of the separation anxiety.

Kyle likes to get up on the comfy couch and bed (they’re sooo soft!), but this is just something that can be taught to stay off of if you don’t allow that in your home.

Heeler mixes tend to be higher energy & need an active family, older kids to play and wear them out, another dog in their home or maybe someone in the home that runs/hikes on a regular basis to get the exercise they crave. He could probably easily jump a 4’ fence (he’s athletic) and would make a good agility or frisbee dog if you’re interested in that!

Kyle is a friendly, sweet and energetic dog who just needs some training, consistency and stability in his life. Could you be the one to put all the pieces together for this adorable guy?

Adoption Fee: $350 (cash/card only)
Foster to contact: Zoe 218-791-3862 or email

Due to the recommendations about the coronavirus, we are not able to have group adoption events at PetSmart. We are, however, allowed to do individual adoptions so if you are interested in this pup/dog, please contact the foster listed above to set up a meeting. We look forward to continuing to save dogs with you and will resume group adoptions as soon as we can. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Our fosters do the best they can to provide all information about the animal's background and temperament while in foster care in their home. An adopters routine and home environment is likely going to be different than that in their foster home. Sometimes there is more that comes out about a dog's personality once they have been able to settle in a home & truly become comfortable. There are great articles out there written about the different stages a pet goes through after adoption; discussing transitions that happen at 3 days, 3 weeks, & 3 months. We highly recommend reading about this - it will help you understand the transition your new pet goes through.

Last Hope, Inc. is an all volunteer, foster based, no kill rescue! You can see almost all of our dogs on Saturdays from 11am - 3pm at Lakeville PetSmart (located by Hy-Vee just off 160th & Pilot Knob) & Burnsville Petsmart (located just off Hwy 35E & County Rd 42 by Chianti Grill).

Policies: You do not have to have a fence to adopt a dog from us, but some dogs will require a fence or acres to play, or an active family who will make sure the dog gets the exercise it needs to be happy. Some dogs do not have the temperament that will do well with young children.

The Adoption Fee is not enough to cover the vet bills. Sales tax of almost 7.25% is also included in the adoption fee that you see. Please consider donating to Last Hope to help us save these animals!

CAN YOU FOSTER? By taking a dog or puppies temporarily into your home and then coming to our adoption days to help find them homes, we can save more! If you’re interested, please email us at and give us your contact information and what you would like to foster and someone will get back to you! You can also apply to be a foster home on our webpage! In the upper left hand corner there’s a drop down tab with the link for canine foster home. Just fill it out online & submit! We will get back to you as quick as we can.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Australian Cattle Dog / Blue Heeler
  • Adult
  • Male