Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Journey American Bulldog Mix Columbus, OH

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Large
  • Bicolor


Affectionate, Athletic, Loyal, Smart
Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered, special needs.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Journey

Name: Journey
Info: American Bulldog Terrier Mix - Zanesville, Ohio – Adult – Male – Large - Tricolor (white, brown, black)
Characteristics: Affectionate, Athletic, Loyal, Smart, Deaf, Dog Selective, Stranger Reactive/Selective
Coat Length: Short
House Trained: Yes (Is there a mostly option?)
Health: Vaccinated, Neutered, Deaf
Good in Home With: Cat
Meet Journey
Approximately 3 years old, 85 pounds, neutered, microchipped, fully vaccinated, crate trained.
It's been quite the Journey—in fact, that's where I got my name. Neglected, starved and left in an outdoor kennel with no covering for the first 12+ months of my life, a humane officer brought me an Ohio dog pound where I served 17+ months. Now I’m living in a foster home learning to live in a house, be on a schedule, and lots of love. Follow me @DeafDogJourney on Instagram.
I might be an American Bulldog Terrier mix. I have a heart-shaped spot on my side, a diamond around my eye, and my eyeliner is always on fleek. I'm DEAF, but I know how to sit by touch, and come by signal. If I like you, I LOVE you. I prefer not to be alone and I’m very affectionate. I learned how to chew on a bone, not fear the bathtub, and recently passed my cat test. I do not have a bite history or show any signs of food aggression.
I love daily walks and jogging with you. I do pull on the leash, and I'm very STRONG, so you need to be a strong, patient handler. It takes quite of bit of walking to get me tired. I will need leash/deaf training.
I'm a happy dog, but unfortunately, I don't like everybody. I'm stranger reactive and dog selective, so in-person meet-and-greets with me are required. I will bark at new people and new dogs. I would do best in a home with no other dogs, but the right female sibling MIGHT be OK. Kids usually bring other kids around, so because I'm stranger reactive, a home without kids is best.
I love the water, but I'm prone to ear infections. Fetch isn't my thing, and I get itchies from the grass.
Finding any home is easy—finding the right permanent home is hard. My team is determined to make sure the rest of my Journey is a happy one. An adopter a few hours of Zanesville, Ohio is not required, but preferred for a pre-home visit.
I require a strong, protective pawrent who knows I can be unpredictable with strangers and dogs, and can dedicate time to training.
Applications are online at
Applicants must have an excellent vetting record and all current/past pets must have been spayed/neutered, UTD on vaccines and on heart worm preventative.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • American Bulldog
  • Adult
  • Male