Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Florence Shepherd Mix San Diego, CA

  • Adult
  • Female
  • Medium
  • White / Cream


Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Prefers a home without
Other dogs.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Florence

Her friends call her Ms. Sassy Lovebug!

Hi, friends! My name is Florence, and I'm a 5-year-old female Shepherd mix, weighing in at 47 pounds. I'm already house-, potty-, and leash-trained, and I'm spayed.

Let me tell you, I have had quite the past! TAP found me on the streets of Mexico, where I had a large tumor (TVT) on my head that weighed 19 pounds. Needless to say, I was so sick and at the point where even I didn't think I was going to make it. But, TAP gave me the TLC and treatment that I desperately needed, and I was able to handle chemo and surgery like a champ! A lot of people have rooted for me on social media during this process, and I'm proud to say that I'm now in good health and have managed to keep my glass-half-full mentality through it all. However, due to the tumor that covered my head (and eye) prior to treatment, I am not able to see very well out of that one eye. I am on eye drops and ointment to help manage it. Diclofenac Opthalmic Solution (monthly cost is ~$20.00 a month, depending on market value) and Optixcare eye lube (~$20.00 a month, depending on market value). "We Love Doggos" has generously sponsored and will cover Florence's medications for the first 6 months of adoption.

Now, a little bit about me! I'm a happy girl who just loves people. Everyone is a friend in my eyes! I will go up to anyone who pays attention to me and wait for pets. Once I get those sought-after pets, I'll wag my tail and give endless kisses. I love being next to my people more than anything, and I'll make sure I'm by your side wherever you are in the house. I also love tummy rubs and going on walks to sniff around. I'm very curious, and I love to just sit and watch everything around me. I definitely won't think twice about going into a car or building if a door is left open! Finally, I love treats and am very treat-motivated. I'm a great eater, and I thoroughly enjoy mealtimes. I don't appear to have any separation anxiety but giving me some food and treats when you go out the door serves as a great distraction. Thankfully, I'm not destructive at all, so your shoes and furniture are safe when you are gone and putting me in a crate isn't necessary.

I'm told that I would make a great family dog, especially since I'm a quick learner, always happy, and am devoted to my people! After all, even though I've been through a lot in my life, I have been able to come through it with a wagging tail and a big smile! I would prefer to be in a semi-active home, since I can be pretty high-energy while on walks and in general. However, with time, I've learned how to chill out and be much more calm.

I would prefer to be the only pup in the home at this time. I have come a long way with other doggies in the past few months, but I still have the tendency to be aggressive and lash out against others if they get close to me. For that reason, it's probably best if I'm on my own. I'm unsure about how I am around cats since I've never had any experience with them. As I've mentioned before, I love people and normally do great around children. However, since I can have a lot of energy, older children are probably a better fit for me. Other than that, a work-from-home situation would be ideal for me since I love to be around my humans as much as possible! If I sound like your perfect match, let's set up a play date. My adoption fee is $150 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here:

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Shepherd
  • Adult
  • Female