Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos
Adopted

Coolio American Staffordshire Terrier & Pit Bull Terrier Mix Saint Paul, MN

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Medium

About

Characteristics
Calm, Cuddly, Gentle
Coat length
Short
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Cats, children.
Prefers a home without
Other dogs.
Adoption fee
$250.00

Meet Coolio

Thanks for stopping by! Here are some helpful tips:

• All dogs listed on Petfinder are still available.

• Please DO NOT use the "Ask About Me" tab on this page. We DO NOT receive these inquiries.

• We CANNOT move forward until we receive an application. Even if you're only interested, please fill out an application at mnpitbull.com. We will reach out to you (M-F) within 24-48 hours after receiving your inquiry.

• Adoption fees are as follows: 2-5 months old: $400, 6-9 months old: $350, 10+ months old: $250. This covers their Spay/Neuter, Vaccinations, Microchip, 4DX, Fecal Tests, and Housing Costs.

********************************************************************************************************
Name: Coolio
Nicknames: Leo, Budger
Age: estimated 6 years old (as of 12/22/18)
Activity level: low to medium; he definitely loves to play with his foster doggie sibling (an 11 year old female), but settles down really nicely when the action fizzles. *Coolio does have mild hip dysplasia, so activity and comfort should probably be monitored for this guy!
Things I do in my free time: Pretty good at napping when things are chill. I like to follow my humans and/or foster sister around wherever they go.
Things I know: crate, my name, pretty good at recall, working on sit (great with a treat or food, less reaction without those enticements), I know I have to wait for my release word to take my meals (Bien! Yes, evidently I speak a little Spanish too, ha)
Things I am working on: hoping to add things like down and maybe some tricks to my repertoire! I have had crate anxiety in my past, but have been showing amazing progress in keeping my composure in my crate (mainly overnight and random periods of time during the day or when my foster family leaves).
Kids: I live with varied ages (12 and 7 year old boys and an almost 3 year old girl) and do pretty well; sometimes their chaos makes me a bit nervous though, so we think it'd be best if I lived in a home without kids.
Dogs: has done well with the dog at his current foster home and the 2 adult dogs at a previous foster home too. Foster Mom says I really seem to understand fellow dogs better than I do humans. ;)
Cats: I don't bother them really, especially if they leave me be. In a previous foster home, there was a particularly ornery cat who I sometimes did chase, but I never hurt him.
Size: 62 lbs of love! I'm kind of short and long, with a funny swagger.
Car rides: seem to do fine, but getting in and out of higher vehicles is not easy for me, so I may need help. Once I'm in, I am pretty relaxed about it all.

Addition info from foster family: Coolio went through heart worm treatment this past Spring and his recovery seems to be going great! No ongoing issues that we know of there. He has a very heavy duty crate due to past issues with escaping and anxiety (will do best in a home that treats the crate in a very no-nonsense, non-negotiable manner). Leo is very sweet, a little shy (including hand-shy at times, so we take things slow), and super adorable when he is excited or super happy. He is a dreamboat for nail trims too, rolls onto his back on his and own and gets super zen, it makes me laugh every time.

Read the bio but still have questions? Email adopt@mnpitbull.com

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Did You Adopt Coolio?
Coolio

Coolio

  • American Staffordshire Terrier
  • Adult
  • Male