Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Tequila Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Female
  • Large
  • White / Cream

About

Coat length
Long
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.
Adoption fee
$250.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Tequila

Tequila's Story
-By Tequila, 1.5-year-old, 86lb female Great Pyrenees mix.
--------------------------------------------

Girls just wanna have fun! I am a playful and carefree girl. I loved to explore, play, and just have a good time. Being charged with guard duty probably wasn't the best idea. I was supposed to watch over the chickens but would often roam around in search of something...I am not quite sure what though. My owner wasn't exactly happy with my antics but I was a young girl and I needed a change of pace every now and then! One day...things went horribly wrong. I was once again tasked with watching the chickens and I was SO BORED. I was watching the chickens and some of them started chasing one another. At first...I thought it was nothing. I kept watching them and suddenly I felt this overwhelming need to join them. I was so bored and a game of chase sounded fun. The only problem is...I got a little too into it. I ended up killing some of the chickens. It belonged to my owner's son and he wanted to kill me. He was so mad at me. Thankfully, my owner didn't let that happen.

They ended up loading me up into the car and taking me to the shelter. I knew why but I still wasn't ready. I know I messed up bad....but still...everything had gone so wrong so fast. When we got to the shelter, it turned out that I was out of their jurisdiction and they could not take me. They agreed to help with my vetting and try to find a rescue that had space. In the meantime, that meant that my owner had to take me back home. I ended up being put in a small run and that is where I stayed. Out in this heat. I no longer had the option to roam and was always confined. Once again, I understood why...but still. It was so hot and I was once again so bored in there. I started to wonder how long that would be my life.

After quite some time, I got word that this rescue was able to take me in. A foster family had been found. The shelter reached out to my owner and she brought me there and that is when everything changed. I had always been an outside dog...that was how I grew up and that was what I expected. So, when my foster family brought me inside...I was a bit lost. The first thing that happened was their other dogs came up to say hi. I was unsure at first but it didn't take me long to realize that everyone was happy and friendly. The next thing I know, I am initiating play with them! I was so excited to finally have some playmates. Some other doggie friends that I could wrestle and romp around with. The other dogs had told me about kids and cats and what they are like. I personally have met neither in my foster home, so sadly I cannot say how I would do with them. I am a very sweet and loving girl so I think I would do fine with older children that are respectful of my space. Cats...as long as they are dog savvy I think I would be fine with them, I may want to play or give chase if they run so they should hopefully be on the calmer side.

I am overall a playful girl. While I haven't been on any walks or gone hiking yet...I think I would enjoy both....that is once this dreadful heat is finally over. I don't know how I ever lived without A/C, it is such an amazing thing! I have not come around to the game called "fetch" and have no interest in it. I do, however, really enjoy playing with toys. I never knew about them in my past life, but you can bet I know what they are now! I am not a fan of playing in the water..I prefer to keep my coat dry..thank you very much! As I mentioned above, I also enjoy playing with the other dogs and romping around the yard!

Once I have gotten rid of some of my energy, I love to just chill in the nice cool house. I am potty and kennel trained. I am not a big chewer and have good house manners. I am not a big barker so think that I could handle apartment living with no problem. Now with that said, that is contingent on having a good exercise plan in place. I am thinking going on some of those neat walking trails close to us and playing with some other dogs be it with my new brother/sister or playdates with friends would work well.

I know that I made a mistake in my past, but I would have never guessed just how much that one mistake would cost me. However, it also lead me to where I am now. And I have made so many new friends and discovered a totally new way of living. I love getting to be with my people all the time, having playmates, and getting to come inside. I now have a chance to find my forever family. Everything that I have gone through has been to get to this point...I just know that this was how it was always meant to go. This is the moment is when someone is going to look at me and fall in love. That this is the moment they are going to submit an adoption app for me at
https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app
and have us start our new chapter in life...together! ♥

Once you have submitted your application, it will be sent on to my foster family for consideration.

I am being fostered in Purcell, OK. I do ask that my new family pick me up, none of that outside transport stuff. If I am going to move in with you, I expect to start our journey in the car together driving home TOGETHER. Plus, I do great on car rides...so you won't hear any reservations from me about the trip ?

My adoption fee is $250.00.

That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention.

---------------------------------------------
EPILOGUE

-Below is an excerpt from Tequila's foster family.

"Tequila is a very good sweet dog. She loves attention! She is enjoying being in a home and out of a field! She gets along great with all the dogs that we have in our home. She loves to play and enjoys toys. She gets her energy out and then enjoys her relaxation time."

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Tequila

Tequila

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Young
  • Female