Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Roxie German Shepherd Dog & Australian Cattle Dog / Blue Heeler Mix Williamsburg, NM

  • Adult
  • Female
  • Large
  • Tricolor (Brown, Black, & White)


Friendly, Affectionate, Playful, Protective, Athletic
Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.
Prefers a home without

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Roxie

Hi! I'm Roxie. I'm a slim girl of 60 pounds and I am two-years-old. My mama was a Blue Heeler and my papa was a German Shepherd Dog. But I was born in feral conditions where I and my nine litter mates didn't have any human contact. None of us got names or kindness. I didn't have a name for a whole year!! What the heck!?

None of us got anything special besides a daily meal. That no-human-contact life (if you can call it that) went on for a full year! UGH! I didn't know a leash, kindness, a car, or what in the heck humans were for except to toss food outside for us to eat. One year ago I got rescued by the good people at Desert Haven and my formal training in how to be a domesticated dog began. Oof! It's been a year of learning for me that is for sure! I'm doing great in my life-of-a-dog lessons!

I am I am being fostered in a home in TorC NM where I've learned many things about myself. I love the sun and being outside in a fenced yard lounging and laying around. I love getting the zoomies and playing chasing games with the women who are taking care of me. This family has a nice small patch of fake grass and boy do I love to roll around in the grass! I take my toys on to my grassy knoll and squeak them, toss them around, and just lay sunbathing on my grass patch. I'm a sun worshipper through and through and also love a nice cozy doggie bed. I love toys, chewing on bones, and yummy treats. I love love love yummy treats and have learned a lot of skills from the lure of hot dog bits and peanut butter and jelly. I've learned to get into cars so I can take trips to the vet or to fun places.

I have learned "sit" and "down". I love to get in my down position and roll over and have lots and lots of belly rubs. Other things about me: I love water! I think it's super fun to go to the river and splash around. I like to have a kiddie pool to walk into when it's hot weather too.

Cats do not like my energy! I give them the feeling that I will chase them to no end, and I think they are right. My foster family has cats and so I cannot live inside the house with them during my foster tenure. They built me an outside kennel with a sunshade and a doggie door into a heated tiny home.
I know how use a doggie door and I'm house trained.

I do awesome meeting and playing with dogs my size. I've had roommates that are 40 lbs and up (I'm 60 pounds) and done great. I have learned to play and kick it from my doggie friends. I love dogs! Now, I must say that small dogs give off a cat vibe to me and I have too much intense energy around small dogs. My foster family has small dogs and a big dog so they are still working on socializing me with the small dogs but it's best that I have a forever family with big dogs and no cats.

I'm a beautiful and sweet little lady with a heart of gold. I seem to prefer women to men and men have to work pretty hard at earning my trust. I have two women in my life that are the moon and stars in my eyes. I will do anything for them and am a perfect little angel with them. I still bark at the men in my life but we're all working toward good socialization with men too. Because of my feralish start to life I know I still have a lot to learn about domestication. My foster family says I have a couple of great options for a forever family and that I should keep my chin up with all this waiting!

I can join a pack (big dogs) and live a great life as a family member of a family that likes to have multiple dogs. Or I could also become the special dog in a special person's life that wants to continue teaching me to become domesticated. What I shouldn't do is live with cats or small dogs but other than that I'm open!

I finally got a name; my name is Roxie. Oh boy, that feels good to say! My name is Roxie!

I'm Roxie, a Great Girl! I will do just about anything for hotdog bits and a patient person who spends some time with me every day building rapport and trust.

I love my "how to dog" lessons because I'm smart and enjoy learning and bonding. I'll continue to fully participate in all my lessons on being a family dog who is loved and cherished. I am eager to become proficient and am an excellent student! You're invited to come to meet me. Love, Roxie
More about Us

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • German Shepherd Dog
  • Adult
  • Female