Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Paloma Australian Cattle Dog / Blue Heeler Canton, NY

  • Senior
  • Female
  • Medium


Friendly, Affectionate
Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Paloma

Hi Ya!
My name is Paloma and I am 14 years young!! I heard someone call me a senior and I say bologna!!!! I may be 14 in years but my mind still thinks I am like seven, okay maybe eight! Can you believe my previous family took me to a shelter to have me go to sleep FOREVER! Uh-uh a nice lady from ACDRA said we aint having none of that and she busted me out. They said my legs weren't working right anymore so it was time for me to cross the rainbow bridge. Turns out my legs work just fine, I just needed some medication to help them feel better! And now I have made it all the way from North Carolina to Upstate NY where it is COLD! But good news so far the cold doesn't make me any more achy and I am discovering I like the nice fall cool air and I love playing in the leaves!

I am living with eleven other dogs and its all right, I like them all but my favorite is GusGus cuz he will run with me and he also has a bad knee so we can keep up with each other. There are a couple who don't like to share their toys so I have also learned to be respectful of them and honestly pretty much ignore them. I love love love just hanging out with my humans, I watch a lot of hockey games with dad and scary movies with mom since its almost halloween. My favorite thing in the world is just to be touched. I am totally okay if you just want to hang on the couch all day and rub my belly; but I am still up for a good walk in the woods. I do not have any accidents inside and will let you know when I have to go out. I put myself in my crate when I want to have some quiet time, but mom says I don't really need a crate as I am not a chewer and don't make any messes. Mom says I am a foodie as I love ALL food and I will sit quite nicely for a biscuit! And are you ready for this??? I even like a bath, the warm water felt so good and it got me some extra rubs from mom and dad. Dad discovered I like to play ball and I really like stuffies!!! The only thing I am not a fan of is long car rides, so if you plan on doing a lot of traveling, I am probably not the girl for you unless you don't mind me singing to you (mama calls it whining) while we are riding. I like meeting new people, do well meeting new dogs and I respond very well to my name!

Mama says I am the all around perfect girl and house guest! I would really like to find someone to live out the rest of my senior years with that I can have all to myself, maybe that is you! If you have any questions, foster mom will be happy to answer them her email is

Foster mom here! Paloma is one of the sweetest, most happy dogs we have ever had the privilege to foster. Although she is reported to be 14, she doesn't act it, other than she has some stiff hips and is currently on Rimadyl which has helped tremendously. She doesn't seem to be in any pain and her mobility is pretty good. We honestly were anticipating a hospice girl who would be living out her last days with us, but she is by no means ready to check out of life any time soon! I think she would love someone retired or who works from home as she really loves to just be with her people. We do crate her when she is unsupervised; but that isn't often. She is up to date on vaccines, microchipped, and spayed. She is currently on HW and flea and tick preventatives and did test HW negative. She is living with 11 others dogs and has had no issues. If you have a soft spot for the seniors, this is your girl! She is currently being Fostered in Canton, NY.

Please contact

Complete an Application:

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Australian Cattle Dog / Blue Heeler
  • Senior
  • Female