Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos
Adopted

Minnie Labrador Retriever & Terrier Mix Manhattan, KS

  • Young
  • Female
  • Medium
  • Black , White / Cream

About

Coat length
Short
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats, children.
Adoption fee
$200.00

Meet Minnie

Hi Everybody:
My name is Minnie and my doctor says I am a Labrador Retriever x Terrier mix (but no Holstein--HaHa) and that I am about 4-5 years old. I was very malnourished When Purple PAWS rescued me and my foster dad said I looked like a “skinny Minnie” so they named me Minnie. I weighed 36 pounds when I was rescued but am about 58 pounds now and my doctor says I am a healthy girl at a good weight.
I am very friendly but it might take a few minutes for me to warm up to you. I want to be with my people whenever I can. I can get a little anxious when you leave but I am OK now that I know you will come back. I love being pet and especially getting my belly rubbed. I am getting good at walking on a leash and starting to play fetch. I love to play tug-o-war and might grab loose clothing or material that is waved in the air so we can play. I have a ton of fun playing with my foster sister out in our playpen. When I am indoors I am happy to sit or lay by your side and will sit on you lap if you invite me up. I might sleep on your bed but am happy to be in my dog bed in your room.
I am an active girl and I need a home where I can run and play. A farm or a home with a big fenced yard would be ideal. I would not do well in an apartment since I bark at unknown noises and need a lot of exercise. I do not like things that make high-pitched whiney noises like vacuum cleaners and I will try to bite them to make them stop. Loud noises like lawn mowers running close by can also frighten me. I am starting to learn that they will not hurt me and am getting better around them.
I am good with other dogs but we might need a slow introduction to get to know each other. I would not do well at dog parks or other places where there are lots of dogs that I do not know. I am good with cats and will give them nose kisses. If the cat runs from me I might chase it to get them to play, but I will back away if they hiss at me. I would enjoy being an only dog and getting all your love but having a fur sibling my size to play with would be my dream come true. I am interested in the chickens and might chase or catch if they flutter or run.
I am mostly house trained and do well if I get outside often. I will sit and take treats gently and I am getting pretty good at “heel” “let’s go”, “sit”, “stay”, “come”, “leave it”, “walk slow”, and “go to the house”. I can get distracted on walks by things that need to be checked out like frogs or new smells but we are working on keeping my attention on you.
I am looking for the family that will be patient and is willing to teach me how to be the best dog I can be. In return, I will be your best friend forever.
I am spayed, fully vetted, up-to-date on vaccinations and preventatives and ready to find my furever family to love. If you think I am your dream girl, you can apply to adopt me at purple-paws.org.
My adoption fee is $200 which helps cover my spay, vaccinations, doctor visits, and other expenses.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Did You Adopt Minnie?
Minnie

Minnie

  • Labrador Retriever
  • Young
  • Female