Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Henry Pit Bull Terrier Mix Skokie, IL

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Medium


Vaccinations up to date.
Prefers a home without
Other dogs, cats.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Henry

Available for adoption.
FAST FACTSMale, Medium Mixed breed, 52 pounds, 1 1/2 years oldFriendly, Affectionate, Gentle, Eager to PleaseModerately ActivePeople FriendlyDog FriendlyNo CatsKids over 6 years oldPotty TrainedCrate Trained
Greetings from your friend Henry. When CARE rescued me from Chicago Care and Animal Control, where I was brought in as a stray, I was one sick puppy. Thin, weak, and suffering from pneumonia, I received the best medical treatment and then was nursed back to health by my wonderful foster mom. Now that I'm ready to find my forever home, let me tell you a bit about myself.
My foster mom describes me as a real people lover. My #1 activity is hanging around and schmoozing with humans, but I'm also good at entertaining myself. Indoors, I enjoy chewing on peanut butter-stuffed Nylabones and getting treats out of my orange roller ball. Another of myfavorite pastimes is watching the birds and squirrels from the living room window-although chasing them around fenced-in backyard is even more fun. I'm a very smart boy who already knows several commands, including come, sit, down, stand, and touch. I always signal when I need to go outside to do my business, wait patiently while my harness or Halti headcollar (both stop me from pulling on the leash) is put on, and sit when I come back in to have my feet wiped off. I reluctantly go in my crate when asked, but I don't really need it. Just tell me "bed" or "rug," and I'll go there and settle. Although my leash skills are improving, I can still be reactive to other dogs (it's unclear whether I interested in playing or just don't want them in my space).
So I'll need a confident handler to commit to continuing working with me in this area. Finally, I initially had some digestive issues, but these have pretty much disappeared thanks to a specific and consistent diet.
Summing up, I'm a gentle, loving, big-hearted guy who dreams of being your best canine companion through all of life's adventures. Are you ready to team up? Then please fill out an adoption application right away, because I can't wait to meet you!

I have been microchipped and will be neutered and have had a full veterinary checkup and vaccines. My adoption fee is $325. For more information or if you would like to meet me, please fill out an adoption survey at
Love and licks,

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Pit Bull Terrier
  • Adult
  • Male