Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Dixie Australian Shepherd Mix Great Bend, KS

  • Adult
  • Female
  • Medium

About

House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Dixie

Dixie - Hi, my name is Dixie, I am no more than 2 years old.

I was rescued by the Golden Belt Humane Society from the breeder that had me. I was very pregnant, and very scared. I have never known anything besides the inside of my kennel from my previous home. Since being rescued, my life has been a bit of a whirlwind. I went into foster care, and a few days later I gave birth to a litter of 10 puppies.

My foster parents are helping me work through a lot of issues. I am really trying to overcome them, but it is very
difficult for me to trust people.

When I first arrived in foster care, I was a bit aggressive, I did not want my foster parent too close to me. I would growl
and if they got too close to the puppies I would try to bite. I no longer try to bite or growl at my foster. In fact, I kind of
like to be petted, I will take treats out of their hands, and they have cut all the mats out of my hair. I have learned to go
outside on my own and like to go out and explore. I bark when I want something. When I want attention, when I want to
go out or when I want food.

I could not eat out of a bowl, I would bang it into the wall with my nose until the food came out, so that I could eat some
and hide some for later. I was not used to having my own food on a regular basis. I have overcome this I am now eating out of a bowl. I do have some quirks about my food still. When I am not eating, I like to have it covered.

I have come a long way since I have been in foster care, I still have work to do. I can walk on a leash, but I prefer a
harness. I don't really care for anything around my neck.

My fosters leave the door to my room open when they are home so that I can roam freely around the house and play with my foster siblings. I get along with all of them and the cats.

I can take a bath, but I still get nervous, this is still a work in progress.

I don't care for loud noise or fast movements. If you are moving towards me too fast, I will run to a corner where I am
safe.

My foster parents tell me I am becoming set in my way because I am on a schedule, and I like things a certain way. I like treats before I get my dinner and if I am in a mood, I will spit them out. I like to sit in the corner next to the couch to get some petting and attention. My favorite treats are Cheeto balls and Bill Jac.

I think I am ready for my new furever home, to learn to trust and love my forever family. If you are interested, please call to schedule a meet and greet to see how wonderful I am.

The best kind of home for me is a home that is more of a quiet home with no young kids, yet a home with other dogs that I can play and socialize with.

Because I am in foster care, we will need to set up an appointment after 5pm during the work week or any time after 11am on Saturdays.

To adopt this pet, click on or copy/paste the link https://pdf.ac/28Q2xD to start your application today.

Happy Adopting!

Check out our website https://goldenbelths.com/
  • Location Address

    151 S Hwy 281
    PO Box 1653
    Great Bend, KS 67530

  • day hours
    Monday 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
    Tuesday 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
    Wednesday 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
    Thursday 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
    Friday 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
    Saturday 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
    Sunday Closed
More about Us

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Dixie

Dixie

  • Australian Shepherd
  • Adult
  • Female