Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

MAVERICK von MARVEL German Shepherd Dog Lake Oswego, OR

  • Young
  • Male
  • Large
  • Bicolor


Loving, Playful, Active, Easy to Train, Mindful
Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.
Adoption fee

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.


Hi, my name is Maverick and I’m just a handsome young boy around 18 months old or younger, weighing about 85-90 lbs. I was found as a stray in Beaverton and then rounded up to spend some time in the “pokey” before my posse came to spring me on Christmas Eve. I’m currently located in Wilsonville with my foster dad and foster female shepherd. I go on neighborhood walks everyday with my family and sometimes with friends. I love to play with my foster sister, and with toys and the ball. I’m very treat oriented and love to learn. I know a few basic commands and have a great ability to pay attention to my handler. I am house trained, crate trained, and kennel trained. I go to doggy day care once a week. I play with the other dogs, but I need slow introductions at first. I have a favorite staff member at the doggy day care center that I follow around everywhere she goes. I am currently learning to not jump up on people in my excitement to see them.

My worst habit is I bark at strangers at my door and that scares them because I’m a very big guy. But if they throw me a treat, I’m quickly their friend. I allow others to take me on walks besides my foster dad. I ignore delivery people in the neighborhood and their noisy trucks on my walks. I do cross the street to avoid strange dogs and people, but I don’t seem to mind them at all when they are not near me.

I’d like to find a home with a big fenced back yard or property nearby Wilsonville or neighboring areas because I come with a local training package to help me adjust to my new home environment. Continuing my training is very important so I can be the best dog for my new family, who will also be trained right along with me. Because of my size and my exuberance, I would be best in a home with dog-savvy children preferably over the age of 10. I would also like to have a new family that has had German Shepherd experience within the last 5-7 years.

I am an indoor house dog that wants to be with my people. I am not a property dog or yard ornament to be left outside all alone and ignored. I bond with my family and am not a runaway type of guy. I am neutered, micro-chipped, and up to date on all my vaccines and shots. I’m a very healthy boy.

I will be a great dog for someone who is willing to keep my training up and offer me their love, dedication and time. In return, I will be the most devoted, loving, cuddly big boy shepherd, they could ever imagine. Is that you? I hope so!


Pros: Young, easy to train, knows some basic commands, house-crate-kennel trained, walks easily on a leash, able to go to doggy day care, affectionate, non-destructive in the house, trained not to counter surf in current home, wants to please, attentive to handler, would be a great scent dog for tracking and search and rescue. Healthy, neutered, microchipped & up to date with all shots.

Cons: Barks at strangers at first, jumps up on handler out of excitement, needs slow introductions to other dogs, needs further training with treat distraction techniques.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • German Shepherd Dog
  • Young
  • Male