Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Astra Husky Jefferson City, MO

  • Adult
  • Female
  • Medium


Friendly, Affectionate, Gentle, Smart, Quiet, Loves kisses
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Prefers a home without

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Astra

Hi! Im Astra. I’m 5 and I’m looking for my forever family. Read my story and let’s find out if that’s YOU!

I had to live on the streets in Texas until some nice women took me in and kept me safe. They gave me vaccinations to keep me healthy but unfortunately, they found out that I had heartworms ? But that’s okay. A nice rescue group promised they would get rid of those nasty worms and find me a home. I have completed my heartworm treatment and once I rest for a while, I will be ready for my forever person!

I’m very quiet and calm - I know that’s a surprise for a husky! I love walks, and I’m perfect on a leash. I do perk up when I see a bunny or squirrel. But I do not pull on my leash.

Though I am quiet, there are times I do like to “talk”. I get excited at dinner time and get a little playful, and I do like to howl along with other dogs!

I live with other dogs and see other dogs every day, but I am kept separate. I can see them but I feel more secure behind a baby gate. I did go on a walk with my foster brother and as long as we take things slow at my pace, I do well!

Let me tell you one very important thing about me. I am very loving and affectionate to those whom I love and trust. But I do get nervous when I meet new people or I’m in unfamiliar situations. I very much prefer when things are calm and quiet. I would love to meet calm, patient, and understanding people that will allow me to shine at my own pace. It takes time for me to become comfortable with new things. I need someone who is gentle and nurturing and patient and sweet. Someone who has experience with shy or cautious dogs would be a bonus. Ideally I would love to find a home with a family with older teenage kids who have a calm, quiet and laid-back lifestyle.

No dog parks for me please. I would not be comfortable there at all.

I have not tried to make friends with a cat but bunnies and squirrels really pique my interest!

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Husky
  • Adult
  • Female