Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Ziva German Shepherd Dog Mix Van Horne, IA

  • Adult
  • Female
  • Large

About

House-trained
Yes
Health
Spayed / neutered, special needs. Unsure on stairs.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.
Adoption fee
$350.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Think you and Ziva might be a match?

Meet Ziva

Hello, I am Ziva. I am 3 - 4 years old and absolutely gorgeous. I have the softest fur around my ears that my foster parents have ever seen on a GSD.

I am a pretty good girl, but have some quirks that I will talk about later. I am fully potty trained and will let you know it is time to go out by knocking the door handle with my nose to rattle it. I know a few commands, though sometimes I am a bit stubborn and pretend I don't know what you want. I know sit, down, leave it, no, and shake.

I walk really good for my fosters. I kind of like to lead, but don't pull much. You will need a training collar on me that you only use for walking. It is because I don't like anyone grabbing my regular collar to hook me up. But don't let that fool you. I LOVE LOVE LOVE to go for walks. They are the bestest thing ever other than my squeaky ball.

I am a very trustworthy pup. I do really well when I am left home alone (well, with my foster siblings, but no grown ups). I don't do any destructive behaviors. If you need to, though, I do kennel very nicely. I just don't need to be in one to be a good girl.

I am quirky about a few things. I don't like stairs. I can do them with encouragement, but cannot initiate going up or down on my own. My fosters are a bit confused. I don't like it when shadows begin to fall and the night becomes dark. I sometimes react with fear at quick movements during this time. I also do not want anyone near me when I eat. I have a bit of food aggression to humans with this. However, I do not have the same problem with other dogs, though. And if you are giving me a treat, I am the gentlest one of the GSDs in the house. I get a bit grumbly and will growl if you try to grab onto my regular collar. It makes me feel out of control.



I need a family that will be consistent in my training. I cannot be with children under the age of 16. I would like a fence, but that is not a deal breaker. I need someone that will play ball with me and will take me for lots of walks. I will require more training and a lot of patience.

I must go to a seasoned home familiar with German Shepherds or similar breeds.

Think you and Ziva might be a match?

Help provide for Ziva's care

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Ziva

Ziva

  • German Shepherd Dog
  • Adult
  • Female