Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Winter Australian Cattle Dog / Blue Heeler & Jack Russell Terrier Mix Albany, NY

  • Young
  • Female
  • Medium
  • White / Cream

About

Characteristics
Friendly, Affectionate, Playful, Smart, Funny, Athletic
Coat length
Short
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Winter

**WE ARE ALWAYS IN NEED OF FOSTER HOMES** Homeward Bound Dog Rescue is an all volunteer rescue organization and all our dogs and puppies are in foster homes - we are not a shelter and do NOT have a facility where we house our dogs. For adoption information go to: www.homewardbounddogrescue.com. You must fill out an application online as we do NOT accept applications at our clinics.

Hi my name is Winter. I'm a year old and about 35 pounds. The conscience thinks I'm an Australian Cattle Dog/Blue Heeler and Jack Russell mix. While you might think I am over the top with energy based on my guessed breeds I am NOT. My foster home has a lot of activity with other dogs in the home and a large back yard with a dog door to it, and that is working for me. In fact after I've busied myself enough I will come in and take a nap.

I am a happy, friendly and loving girl. I love everyone I meet! I have a cute bounce that I do with my front legs when I'm excited and I run just like the Cattle Dogs do. I also have their stand up ears. I have the nubby tail and the coloring with freckles like the Jacks. I hope you can see my adorable freckles on my nose in the pictures! I also have some freckles throughout my fur. I always come when mom calls me, she says come on Winnie, Winnie, Winter! I also come when she whistles for me. I do have an alert bark, especially if I hear the neighbor's dogs bark, I think I need to talk back to them. I'm getting better at being quiet.

I came to my current foster home when my other foster mom got sick. This foster mom was surprised after a couple days how I fell into the routine with her and the other dogs. Typically she only saw me at our adoption events and I was a bit of a nut from all the stimulation there. I'm not gonna lie the first few days here were a little rocky and it will likely be the same when I find my forever home, so just know that, but it will get better. It's not easy moving from one place to another, there is always stress and anxiety for anyone even dogs. The foster homes are totally different, this one has quite a bit of activity with other young dogs and my other one was pretty quiet with older uninterested in me dogs.

We have a dog door here and a fenced in yard and it works perfect for me. I can come in and out when I want. I settle great at night because my days are usually busy on and off throughout the day. I am crate trained although I'm not crazy about it I do settle after mom leaves. I am only crated when mom goes out. Since I'm a young girl I do not want to spend my days in the crate or by myself for long hours. I do like to be outside so mom is requiring a secure fenced in yard. I am not a dog for an apartment.

I am living in a multiple dog foster home and I am doing great! I am friends with all the dogs that let me. There are a couple little ones that don't want to be bothered. I know that and stay away from them.

I like to be close enough to mom to touch her. My favorite place in the living room is laying on the footstool next to moms feet so I can touch her legs with my body and put my head on her feet. In bed I lay near the bottom, again touching her legs with my body. Touching her gives me a lot of comfort, I know she is there next to me and I'm not alone.

I have a couple of annoying traits, I guess it's who you ask, but they aren't anything serious. When I have a leash on I like to grab it and keep biting at it while keeping it in my mouth. When mom is walking my foster brother I do the same thing to his. Instead of the cloth leashes mom got us metal chain leashes. I grab it out of habit but I don't like it and let it go. My other trait is, I have two barks, a normal one and then there is the excited shrill bark that sounds like a smoke detector going off. Mom has noticed when the energy in the house with the other dogs is high, that is when I do it. At meal time I used to go in my crate but waiting for my meal was more then I could handle and moms ears couldn't take the shrill so now I watch her scoop the food, and to keep the little snot from stealing my food I wait at the door to go in the garage and eat in peace. When I'm done I sit at the door waiting for mom to open it. I also shrill when mom leaves because the others bark which excites me, after we all know she is gone we all settle down. When mom checks the camera's I am always laying down in my crate snoozing.

I have been housebroken here because I learned to use the dog door in a flash. Before I figured it out, if mom wasn't paying attention to me I did potty on the floor right in front of the door. We will have to get in tune with each other if you don't have a dog door.

I am such a loving and adorable girl, all I want is for someone to love me forever and take me on some fun adventures......will that be you? If you would like to meet me please complete an application and put my name on it so mom can call and chat all about me with you.

Our adoption clinics are held one Saturday a month at our facility in Schenectady on John Street, located directly behind Boulevard Bowl (Erie Boulevard) from 10 am to 12 pm (directions are on our website). We require an approved application before we consider anyone for an adoption - so filling out the application is your first step. Once your application has been reviewed you will receive an email invitation to attend an adoption event. Different dogs and puppies go up for adoption EVERY WEEK so please feel free to visit the site and click on the Petfinder link for updates as we are adopting dogs out in between adoption events. Puppies and dogs up to 2 years old are $350. Dogs over 2 years old are $250. 100% of the adoption fees go to help us save more dogs.
  • Location Address

    P.O. Box 5782
    Albany, NY 12205

  • day hours
    Monday Closed
    Tuesday Closed
    Wednesday Closed
    Thursday Closed
    Friday Closed
    Saturday By appointment
    Sunday Closed
More about Us

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Winter

Winter

  • Australian Cattle Dog / Blue Heeler
  • Young
  • Female