Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos
Adopted

Wile-E Husky & German Shepherd Dog Mix Kiowa, OK

  • Puppy
  • Male
  • Large
  • Gray / Blue / Silver, White / Cream

About

Coat length
Long
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Wile-E

Wile-E's Story
-Written by Wile, a 16-week-old, male German Shepherd/Husky mix.
---------------------------------------------

I grew up wild and free. It actually isn't as exciting as it may seem though. At first, it was fun. I spent my days exploring the great outside with my siblings and playing with them. Once we were old enough, my owner tried selling us. Things didn't quite go as planned though. We didn't sell and as time went by we started to get sick. You see, always being outside and out in the heat wasn't good for our little bodies. We ended up developing a bad case of mange and were constantly scratching ourselves bloody, which also caused our fur to start falling out. Then, no one wanted us. My owner made a plea for someone to take us since they needed us gone. We were getting bigger and along with our skin condition, we were more mouths to feed. A couple rescues ended up stepping up for us and my brother Yog-E and I ended up with this rescue.

It took 3 different vet visits to get my skin infection under control. I was always hot. I was always itchy. I didn't even feel like myself. I just sat around and didn't even want to play. When I did move around it was to scratch like crazy trying to find some relief. It literally felt like my skin was on fire. It took almost a month before I finally got some relief. Can you believe that? That didn't just happen overnight, so more likely I had been dealing with this since I was just a few weeks old. So, it is safe to say that I never really had a true puppyhood. Not before coming to the rescue. Now that we have my skin infection under control, it is like I am a new dog again!

I have turned into a very playful pup! I love playing with toys, and when I am outside I love playing in the pool or koi pond. I love playing with the other dogs and getting to explore outside. I have not had the chance to go on any walks yet due to my age and being sick for so long. I do think I would rather enjoy them though. I am quite a curious pup and have the energy to go on long walks. I definitely think I would be up for hiking through the forest or hiking up a mountain. I love water, so if we have to trek through some woods to come upon an amazing water hole to go swimming...I am also down! Now that I have my life back and feel like me, I intend to live life to the fullest!

I am working on my potty training but am kennel trained. I am not a big barker and am not as big of a talker as my brother Yog-E. I am still young so my new home should be puppy-proofed. Now that I am feeling better, I am quite curious and am still learning what I can chew on and what I can't. If my family was on the active side, I do believe I would be a good candidate for apartment living.

I am good with other dogs and am quite playful with them. I think I could really benefit from having another playful dog in my new home. To show me the ropes, but to also help me get my energy out. I am not being fostered around cats, so have no experience being around one. I do think I would be okay with them given my age but may try to play with them. I think I would also do well with kids, but think they should be older. I am an energetic and playful puppy, which means that I can sometimes be mouthy.

I had a rough beginning. I know I don't look like too much now, but I am really hoping they won't keep someone from adopting me. My hair loss is only temporary and it is already starting to grow back. And when it does, I will be an absolute knockout. Even so though, I am a very sweet and playful guy. I will bring lots of life and fun to whichever family adopts me. I plan on giving them my everything and I only ask they do the same for me. Please don't apply to adopt me unless you are ready to keep me through job changes, a new baby, a move across the country, etc. Don't adopt me, and then give me up a few years down the road. Family doesn't abandon family!

If you are interested in offering me forever, you can apply to adopt me at
https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app

Once this app comes in, it will be sent on to my foster family. This is to help ensure that not only am I a good fit for you but that you are also a good fit for me! ?

I am currently residing in Edmond, OK. If you have fallen in love with me and are out of state, how about a road trip? I won't go on a long transport, so the only way I am relocating to another state...is if we are in that car together ?

Now I know that you may have fallen in love with me, but I am not quite ready to go home yet. I won't be ready to go home with you until around the end of September. I hope that you will still apply to adopt me though, that way after my final vetting with this rescue I will already have a family waiting! ?

My adoption fee is $300.
That will include two sets of puppy shots and wormings. I will also have had a bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heartworm and flea/tick prevention.

*It will also include my skin treatment.
---------------------------------------------
EPILOGUE
-Below is an excerpt from Wile-E's foster family.

"Wile-E has such a sweet disposition. He enjoys all time spent playing with people and his brother. At night, he goes into his crate and is content to chew a milk bone until he falls asleep. The easiest dog we have ever crate trained. Both he and his brother have only had one accident. Wile-E loves his fluffy bed and a nice chew toy."

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Wile-E

Wile-E

  • Husky
  • Puppy
  • Male