Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Thomas Jefferson's Story Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Puppy
  • Male
  • Large
  • Gray / Blue / Silver, White / Cream


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Thomas Jefferson's Story

Written by Thomas Jefferson, a 6-week-old, 7lb male Great Pyrenees mix.

Are you looking for a forever cuddle buddy? Someone to sleep in bed with you? Someone to cuddle on the couch with you in the evening? Someone to pick up and hug? If so, I am your boy!

My name is Thomas Jefferson and I came to PPFT when I was only a couple of days old. My former owner was not able to care for a mom and puppies so reached out to this rescue. Thanks to my amazing foster family, PPFT was able to welcome us into their fluffy butt program. I have spent the past few weeks learning all about what being part of the family means. I am now down to just a couple more weeks and then I will be able to go home. I am very much hoping that my new family will already be waiting!

I am the kind of puppy that always wants to be around someone. Be it my siblings, my people, or the other dogs. I very much crave companionship. I am on the active side, but it doesn't take long to wear myself out and then I am ready to crash! I really love cuddling and being held. I do think out of my siblings, I would be more likely to enjoy the life of a homebody. Now, don't think that means I am not playful or adventurous. It just means that I am happiest wherever my people are. I want to be involved in whatever they are doing. I think I would enjoy going places, and probably even walks once I am more familiar with the leash. As far as hiking goes, I would probably love it because I get to be with my people but I don't think I would be crushed if my new family wasn't into things like that. I do like toys, but have not shown interest in fetch.

I am good with other dogs and love playing with my siblings and visiting with the bigger dogs. I do think it would be good for me to have another dog to help get my energy and learn from. However, if my family were home a lot and kept me well stimulated/exercised I feel I would also do well as an only dog. I have not been around any cats or kids. I am still really young so feel I would adjust to both. However, I do still have sharp puppy teeth and claws, so worry I might be a little too much for a really young kid.
Right now, I feel like I would do fine in an apartment setting. I will ben a big boy though so my family will need to make sure there are no weigh requirements and they have a good exercise plan in place for me. I am still a baby so am not yet potty trained. I have no experience being kenneled and currently stay in a play pen.
That is all I have to share about myself. I really hope that we are a match. In case you missed it, the app to adopt me can be found at

Please I am begging you though, only apply to adopt me if you can keep me forever. If you can't keep me through ALL of life's changes, don't take away my chance at forever with someone else.

Please don't be the one that makes me have to be passed around a few months/years down the line because things got "ruff". That just isn't fair to me.

I would NEVER give up on you, so please don't give up on me. I want to be your forever...not your until dog.
Application to adopt Thomas Jefferson

Location: Oklahoma City, OK
-Adopters must be able to pick up their new dog, no exceptions.

Adoption Fee: $300 Includes: Two rounds of the DHLPP, Rabies, Bordetella, Fecal, Deworming, Heartworm Test, Micro-Chip, Neuter, and he will be current heartworm and flea/tick prevention.


~Thomas has been declared most wanting to be held of all the siblings. He is interactive with his siblings at times, he is a good wrestler, does not like being confined because he does not like to be left alone, likes to cuddle when he is awake and everyone else is sleeping. He loves to have a good romp, cuddle, play with toys, play with siblings, go up to the bigger dogs, and investigate and is slower to try new things. He also loves to eat but does not overindulge.
At this stage, it seems that Thomas would be good with any home. He would probably follow the vibe of the house, if really active, it would ramp him up more in his play. As he ages things might change but at almost 6 weeks this is where he stands now. ~

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Thomas Jefferson's Story

Thomas Jefferson's Story

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Puppy
  • Male