Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Starke Great Pyrenees & German Shepherd Dog Mix Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Male
  • Extra Large
  • Brown / Chocolate, Black


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Starke

Apply to adopt Starke at

Starke Summary:
Starke is a 9-month-old, 102lb male Great Pyrenees/German Shepherd mix. Stark recently had surgery on his shoulder due to a bone chip that became lodged in that area and caused him to limp. The vets all say, he will be 100 percent after his rehab is completed and he will not have a problem with it in the future. He is now off kennel rest and is getting back on track to being a typical and playful puppy! Starke loves to play hard with his brothers and sister and then loves to cuddle up to them or you, if available, for a long nap. Starke has no problem being brushed gently for short periods at a time and loves to give you kisses. Starke loves crushed ice! Starke is smart and he learns quickly! He may not listen to you all the time, but he is getting better. Starke is potty trained and knows how to sit and wait.

Starke has excellent hearing and will alert you to people, other dogs, within his “home territory”, sometimes it appears “his territory” extends to a mile…lol, but we are working on one or two barks unless it is an emergency situation are enough. Did I mention he loves his ice? Because he LOVES ice! If you think a heavily, snoozing pup would be oblivious to you sneaking quietly into the kitchen to refresh your ice, think again! His eyes dart to the refrigerator once you even touch the door. Starke loves to cuddle up next to you or with a good blanket and doze or be petted upon. Starke walks well on his leash most of the time and is learning to do figure eights, per his rehabilitation treatments. Starke is very active with his brothers and sister, loves to watch squirrels, has seen a cat or two at the vet and did not go crazy, but they were both in their safety carriers and loves to sit and look up at the sky or anything flying in the sky….planes, birds, flies, etc. Starke is a good car rider. Stays in his seatbelt and sits up and looks out the windows or lays down to take a quick nap.

He is continuing with his rehab from his surgery, which basically consists of getting his shoulder muscle stronger by walking, doing figure eights, and moving his shoulder around at this point, this need should not last much longer. So if you are looking for a strong, handsome, intelligent, athletic, active, playful, loving, cuddler who is willing to give you his heart and his love and you are prepared to give him a lifetime of patience, commitment, and love and of course an endless supply of ICE then Starke is the boy for you!

Starke's ideal home would be one where he would get lots of unconditional love, cuddling, be played with throughout the day, and just sit with you and nap while you do your job. One where he could be outside off and on throughout the day and have a person, a sturdy child, a dog or two, to play with throughout the day to wear off some energy and to have fun romping with and lounging with during the day. He also wanted me to put in here that having a great ice maker would be a plus for him!

Hi guys, Starke again! Sorry that I went out of commission for a bit. I ended up having to undergo OCD surgery. For those who are not familiar with that term, I had a piece of cartilage break off in my shoulder and it was bouncing around in my shoulder which made it painful when I walk. I had to have surgery to fix it, but I am now almost back to 100% and ready to start up the search for my forever family again! I am about 9 months old and already weigh around 102lbs. I will probably still gain some more weight so you are going to have to LOVE big dogs! ;)

If you are wondering how I do in public, the answer is GREAT! I was super friendly at the vet and loved on all the staff. When my foster mom takes me on walks, I want to stop and say hello to everyone that we pass by! Speaking of walks, I love them and would love to go on them with my new family. As far as my leash manners, I am pretty good but I am still a pup and sometimes pull so need a little more working with. I love to explore and I love meeting new people. If you were to take me hiking with you, I would be the HAPPIEST boy! I really think I would make a great hiking companion. I love going for car rides and do great in the car! I tend to sit up and look out the window initially but once I get tired will stretch out on the seat and take a nap.

I am great with other dogs and I love to play with them! Right now, the dogs I play with are close to my size and so I do not think I would make a good playmate for a home that only has small dogs. I love all dogs, but I worry I would play too rough with them. I may be big but I am still a puppy myself that isn't quite aware of his size at times. I am not being fostered around any cats so cannot say how I would do with them. I am not being fostered around any kids but am a total lovebug. I believe that I would love them but given my size and playfulness, they should definitely be older.

I am on the active side and am looking for an active family! I could spend all day chasing after my doggie foster siblings and playing with them. Once I wear myself out, get ready because I am ready to cuddle! After I get my lovings and cuddles in, I will go plop down somewhere and snooze. I am not really interested in playing fetch. I do enjoy chasing after toys, grabbing them, and then playing keep away from the other dogs while they chase after me! I do okay with baths but am unsure if I am a water dog or not. Between it being cold when I came in and then my surgery I have not had the chance to play in any water yet. I absolutely love playing with toys. They are a great way to keep me entertained if the other dogs do not want to play with me but I also love bringing the toys to them and us playing with them together.

I am potty and kennel trained. I am working my way toward being given free roam of the house when my family is away. I am still a puppy though and while I am not a big chewer, I sometimes get curious and will try to grab something. At night, I like to sleep in bed with my foster parents. If I am not in bed with them I like to sleep on the doggie bed or ottoman. Pretty much wherever I feel like it! Depending on the activity level of my new family, I might be okay in an apartment. I really love to sunbathe outside though and watch everything that is going on, so would be happiest if my new family had a big fenced-in yard. I take my role as guardian seriously and will bark to alert you if I hear something off. I am not a crazy barker, but I will definitely let you know if something seems off or if I hear something.

My ideal home would have at least one other playful dog my size in it. I would love for the family to be on the more active side. I think I would really enjoy getting to go places with my new family and going on hikes with them. A family that has experience with big dogs would also be a plus. A patient family would also be awesome. I may be a big boy, but I am still a total pup! I am goofy, lovable, and sometimes a big ole clown that forgets just how big he is!

I have spent weeks dreaming of my forever home while I have been recovering from my surgery. I am so excited to get back out there and really hope I won't have to wait long to go home! If you would like to be my forever family, please apply for me at

Once you have submitted your application, it will be sent on to my foster family for consideration.

I am being fostered in Oklahoma City, OK.
While we do adopt out of state, you would be responsible for picking your new dog up. We do not send our dogs on transport. This way you and your new fur baby can already begin the bonding process on the way back home, and it limits the stress on the dog.

My adoption fee is $250.
That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention. It will also include my OCD surgery.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Great Pyrenees
  • Young
  • Male