Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Rory Chow Chow Mix Marshall, VA

  • Senior
  • Male
  • Medium
  • Black, Brown / Chocolate


Playful, Quiet, anxiety, Protective, Loyal, Smart, Couch potato
Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats, children.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Rory

My name is Rory and I'm currently located with a trainer in Marshall, VA. Before that I was in a foster after my owner had to surrender me due to a change in his living situation.

I'm a mixed breed, possibly with chow or german shepherd. I'm approx. 6 years old and need a family with experience in dogs with anxiety/trust issues - that's why I'm with the behavioralist/trainer! The great thing is he will be able to help me transition into my new home! I really am a loyal pup, I just have to learn to trust you!

You can see more videos of me from the trainer:

Let me tell you a bit more about myself!

OVERVIEW: I am in search of a very specific, patient family who can really let me become part of the pack. When I first go into a new place, I need a safe space to call my own. I'm a very cautious dog and prefer to do things at my own pace. I need structure but am super willing to be obedient! I have a lot of quirks but I pawmise if you are patient with me I can show you that I am a pretty special guy!

I was rescued off of the streets of Sarajevo, Bosnia in 2015. I lived in Germany with my first family for several years before moving to North Carolina. I was then with a foster family in Virginia from Jan-May, and have been with the trainer doing a 4-week board-and-train program.. I've been doing so well with my anxiety issues that I'm ready to start looking for a new home!

My life in Bosnia was all about surviving on the streets and in makeshift shelters. I was around mean people, loud noises, and other "ruff" situations, so I come with some "battle scars" that I hope won't deter you.

Dogs: I've really enjoyed being around my foster family's dogs, and the 8-10 dogs at the behaviorists kennels. It takes me a few days to warm up to other dogs, but then it's all about playtime!

Cats: My foster home had two cats and I don't mind them at all. We just walk past each other! Sometimes they startle me if I'm sleeping so I might give them a small growl but I certainly don't hurt them.

Kids: I've been around the trainer's teenager and some kids at the pet store and have been ok.

I have become super playful with my foster family and bounce up and down when they come home! I'm also a big fan of snow and sweater weather and can't wait to snuggle with my furever family! It takes me a while to warm up to strangers though, but I'm working on that.

I tend to pace around and pant at night, and then sometimes I need my space and you might find me curled up in a small dark corner.

If you'd like to meet me or ask specific questions, please contact my foster mom - and please give me a chance!

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Mixed Breed
  • Senior
  • Male