Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos
Adopted

Rita Cattle Dog Mix Oxford, MI

  • Young
  • Female
  • Medium

About

Characteristics
Affectionate, Active, Smart
Prefers a home without
Cats.
Adoption fee
$250.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Rita

Hi! I'm Rita, a one and half year old cattle dog mix weighing approximately 40 pounds. I have lots of energy and love to run, play in the water, chew my bones and hang out with my people. I currently live in a foster home with 3 kids and 2 other dogs - I get along with all of them quite well. I would definitely need a meet and greet if there is another dog in my new home, I tend to do best with male pups. I love to wrestle, play chase and tug-of-war with my dog friends. Sometimes I get a bit too wound up from playing with my dog friends and my foster mom has to remind me to "settle down." I'm starting to understand that means I have to take a break from playing for just a minute. I get along well with most dogs and I love meeting new people. I am a bit too curious for cats though, so I need a home without a cat. I am really good with children, but because I am still working on my manners and can be a bit jumpy, I need a home where the kids are 8 years old and older. I am also still working on my manners while on a leash. My foster mom says I'm getting better but I still have some work to do. I know how to sit (especially for a treat!) and will sit very nicely while I wait for my food at meal times. I'm learning to come when called the first time, play fetch and to wait. I really like playing ball but I'm not very good at bringing it back yet. I can jump really high so I need a yard that is completely fenced and at least 6 feet. Sometimes I get curious about what is going on in the other yards so this type of fence will help keep me safe. I have a lot of energy and would do best in an active home, especially one where I have room to run. I love being around my people. I'll curl up on the floor wherever they are and when I want snuggles I practically crawl in their lap. I like to follow my foster mom around the house just to make sure I'm not missing out on anything.

I am crate trained, even though it's not my favorite place to be I won't make a mess, and I know to go in when told "crate." I'm housebroken and will let you know when I need to go out (especially if it's at night). I'm a really smart dog with a lot of energy so I need a family that is willing to continue to train me. I also need someone to be the leader of the house so I know who to listen to and what my job/position is in the home. My foster mom says I'm a sweet, smart, playful little girl who has lots of potential and will make some family very happy. I think that sounds pretty good! Even though I really like my foster family, I can't wait to have a forever family to call my own. If you are interested in adopting me, please send in an application at k9stray.com and one of my friends from K9 will be in touch. Hope to meet you soon!

Update: Rita is back at the kennel and participating in a 5 week Teacher's Pet program with 4 other of our dogs in which they travel twice a week to Crossroads, an at youth risk center, and are paired with a youth. They will be working with our pups on some obedience training and giving them some much needed one on one time. What a wonderful program, we are so happy about it and thrilled for our dogs.



  • Location Address

    2120 Metamora Road
    Oxford, MI 48371

  • day hours
    Monday 1 - 4 p.m.
    Tuesday Closed
    Wednesday Closed
    Thursday 1 - 4 p.m.
    Friday 1 - 4 p.m.
    Saturday 12 noon - 4 p.m.
    Sunday 10- 1 p.m.
    By appointment only
More about Us

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Rita

Rita

  • Cattle Dog
  • Young
  • Female