Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Posie Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Puppy
  • Female
  • Medium
  • White / Cream

About

Coat length
Long
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, children.
Adoption fee
$225.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Think you and Posie might be a match?

Meet Posie

Posie would like to share her story with you! ?

Sometimes it is so hard to figure out why life throws you curveballs. I mean, I never expected to end up in the shelter and have no one come and reclaim me. I was a hopeful and naive puppy thinking that my first family would be my forever...but I guess not.

The shelter is a scary place folks. Dogs bark all day, people keep walking by, and even though you are surrounded by other dogs you feel utterly alone. Just when I thought to give up and retreat into my shell, a rescue came for me. I ended up in an awesome foster family, and am now part of this rescues fluffy butt family! I may have been abandoned by my former owners, but that is my past. They could not see what an amazing girl I am, but some other lucky family will now!

My name is Posie and I am a 6-month-old, 43lb female Great Pyrenees! I am sharing my story in hopes that you will adopt me! Be sure to read on to learn all about me.
____________________________________________________________________

Ever since I ended up homeless I have been dreaming of a forever family. One that will love me for the rest of my life! I know it is a big decision so I have filled out this questionnaire to make sure you are 100% sure about me!

-How can someone adopt me?
The first step is to fill out an adoption app for me at https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app
Once this app comes in, it will get sent on to my foster family and they will help me decide if we are a match or not.

-Where are you being fostered?
I am being fostered in Oklahoma City, OK.

-Would I need to pick you up?
Yes, you would need to pick me up. This rescue does not send us on transports. It is less stress on us that way. Plus, you and I can already start bonding on the road trip home! ?

-Can I adopt you even if I don't live in Oklahoma?
Yes, I am okay moving to a new state.

-How do you do when meeting new people?
I am friendly and calm.

-Do you jump on people?
No.

-Have you been to any public outings?
No.

-What is your energy level like?
I am mostly calm and laid back with bouts of playfulness where I like to play with toys and the other dogs. Mostly I am content to be in the same room as my people so I can receive as much love as possible.

-Do you enjoy walks?
I like to walk once I get moving. I am still initially a little intimidated by the harness.

-Are you leash trained?
I am working on it.

-Do you like road trips?
I have only been on one - the day my fosters got me- so I can’t accurately speak to this.

-Can you be trusted with free-roam of the house, even if no one is home?
My fosters have given me free roam of the house when they are away for a short time and I have done perfectly well. I do have two other dogs to take cues from and to be with when they are away.

-Where do you stay when no one is home?
Free roam.

-Where do you sleep at night?
In my fosters bedroom on a dog bed.

-Are you potty trained?
My foster didn’t need to train me because never had an accident in the house. I bark or paw at the door when I need to be let out.

-Are you kennel trained?
No, my foster family has not tried kenneling me.

-Do you like playing fetch?
No.

-Do you like playing in the water?
I am unsure.

-Do you like playing with toys?
Yes. I am starting to enjoy tug-o-war.

-Do you have any food aggression towards other animals?
No.

-Do you try to resource guard things?
No.

-Would you do okay living in an apartment?
I don’t believe so.

-Are you a big barker?
I bark once when I need to be let out. I bark at night if a human isn’t with me. Once my foster family moved me to their bedroom at night, I have not barked. Outside, at night, when I go out to use the bathroom, I tend to bark a few times to let everyone know I am on guard at the house.

-Are you good with other dogs?
Yes.

-How do you act around them?
Playful when they’re playful, calm when they’re calm.

-Do you need another dog in your new home?
I think it would help me feel more secure.

-Are you good with cats?
I am unsure since my foster does not have any.

-Are you good with kids?
Yes! I have been around kids ages 4 and 6.

-Can I hear what your foster has to say about you?
"Other than the shelter, I’m not sure that Posie was ever inside a structure before. Initially, she seemed scared around doorways and stairs but with the help of our two dogs, it only took her a few days to overcome that. She isn’t a Velcro puppy because she will give you space if you need it but she does want to be in whatever room you’re in. Her absolute favorite things are snuggles and pats. She is the sweetest girl and she wants so much to please her people. She’s been so easy to have in our home. She only uses the bathroom outside, she hasn’t chewed on anything that wasn’t a toy, and she takes direction well from our two dogs. A lucky family is going to receive a load of sweetness and a lot of love when they adopt this girl. ?"
____________________________________________________________________

Phew! That took longer than I thought! Hopefully, all your questions about me were answered though! Before you apply to adopt me I have a few last things that I would like to discuss!

-What are you looking for in your new home?

I would appreciate another dog in the home to help me learn the ropes. I am being fostered with a 4 and 6-year-old and I love them. If I had the ability to get enough exercise, whether that be running around in the yard or playing with another dog, I think I would do well with either an active or a calm home.

*My adoption fee is $225.

That includes my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordatella shots. I will be micro-chipped, heart-worm tested, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention.

Think you and Posie might be a match?

Help provide for Posie 's care

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Posie

Posie

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Puppy
  • Female