Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Perrin Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Large
  • White / Cream

About

Coat length
Long
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.
Adoption fee
$250.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Perrin

Apply to adopt Perrin at https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app

Perrin Summary:
Perrin is a 3-year-old, 85lb male Great Pyrenees mix. Perrin is a wonderful, beautiful, loving dog! He is so sweet and loving! He's a goofball and playful. He loves running around the backyard with the other dogs. He loves cuddling up next to his humans on the couch. He likes following his humans around the house. We haven't had a chance to set up the dog pool so not sure he likes water but I wouldn't be surprised if he did. He doesn't love thunderstorms but is content sitting next to his humans during them. Did I mention that he loves his humans? He'd be happy going and doing things with them or sitting on the couch watching TV. He looks like a big old teddy bear dog and is just so cute. Perrin is sweet as he is cute. He just wants to be a big part of the family and will be a great addition to any family looking for a family member and not just a dog!

I think Perrin will get along in any home. He loves being around people so if they were home all day he would love that. He loves laying on the couch next to you and cuddling so definitely being allowed on the couch is a must. He enjoys playing with other dogs.
____________________________________________

Do you believe in fate? Because I do. My name is Perrin but I used to be just a number. You see back in October the rescue saw me in the shelter and wanted to have me join their fluffy butt family. However, somehow records ended up getting switched up and the wrong dog ended up being sent to them. You may remember him, his name was Fencie. So, he left to rescue and when we figured out what happened I had already been adopted through the shelter. In case you are wondering how we figured it out, one main reason was that I was heartworm positive and Fencie was not.

The home I was adopted to wasn't what I would have chosen for myself. I know my owner liked me but I spent most of my days on a chain outside. One day I got out and when I was found my origin was traced back to the shelter. Stay with me now. Remember when I told you that records got switched back in October when Fencie came to the rescue instead of me? Well, the shelter still had me down as going to this rescue instead of being adopted. So, you can imagine this rescue's surprise when they were called saying one of their dogs had been found but my micro-chip did not exist in their system. Luckily, they still had my original shelter records and after talking to the shelter figured out that I was the dog that should have joined their family months ago!

We ended up getting in contact with my owner and she agreed to surrender me to this rescue. So, I ended up becoming part of this fluffy butt family anyways! Just a couple months later. If that isn't fate, I have no idea what to call it. As you may have caught up above I was heartworm positive and I still popped positive when I was rested. So, I am now undergoing heartworm treatment. I will be ready to go home at the end of June though and look forward to having a loving family already waiting for me!

My personality can be described as playful & calm. Active and laid back. I am appropriately energetic. I enjoy going for walks and believe that I would love to go hiking with my new family. I do ride well in the car but I do tend to stand and want to move around. I am not really interested in playing fetch but if someone kept working with me I may come to enjoy it. I do love playing with toys. I have not had the opportunity to play in any water yet so cannot say if I am a water dog or not.

I am good with other dogs and tend to be playful and friendly with them. I may initially be a little shy, but once I know them I am all about being friends and playing. I am not being fostered around cats so am unsure how I would do with them. I am a very lovable guy so while I am not being fostered around kids, I think that I would do well with them. When I meet people out in public, I am pretty chill about it. I will go up to them but will calmly wait for pets. My foster family doesn't really get many visitors but the few that they did have I did well with. I have good manners and don't jump on people.

I am mostly potty trained but do still have some accidents. I may be older but you have to remember that this is my first experience of being an inside dog. So, I am still learningng. I am kenneled trained. I have not been destructive in my foster home and haven't chewed up anything that I shouldn't. I may be a Great Pyrenees but so far I have not been a big barker. And if I do bark it is only outside. I do believe that I would be a good candidate for apartment living as long as my new family had a good exercise plan in place. I have not shown to have signs of food aggression or issues with resource guarding in my foster home.

I don't have to have another dog in my new home but would really enjoy the companionship. If there is no other dog present in my new home, I do ask that my new family be home a lot. I don't believe that I would be happy being left all alone for 8+ hours.

Sooooo, are you going to adopt me? I may not be able to go home until the end of June but I would love to have a family already waiting for me! If you are interested in adopting me, you can apply at https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app

Once you have submitted your application, it will be sent on to my foster family for consideration.

I am being fostered in Oklahoma City, OK.
While we do adopt out of state, you would be responsible for picking your new dog up. We do not send our dogs on transport. This way you and your new fur baby can already begin the bonding process on the way back home, and it limits the stress on the dog.

My adoption fee is $250.
That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention.

It will also include my heartworm treatment.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Perrin

Perrin

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Adult
  • Male