Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Penelopi Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Puppy
  • Female
  • Large
  • White / Cream

About

Coat length
Long
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.
Adoption fee
$300.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Penelopi

Penelopi's Story
-By Penelopi, 5-month-old, 35b female Great Pyrenees mix.
--------------------------------------------

Sometimes one only has so much willpower. At such a young age, I had already been expected to be okay with the chickens and hopefully even look after them. I was a young and playful pup, and as the days went by I wanted to play with them more and more. I knew they couldn't handle my kind of play and I also knew my owner would approve. My resolve was getting weaker and weaker though. I didn't want to watch them but I also didn't want to hurt them. So, I left.

I left my home and wandered off. You would think that I was scared but at the time I was excited. I was excited about the possibility of what I might find. I could finally be a playful and adventurous pup. I no longer had any responsibilities and could do whatever I wanted. The world was my play yard! I met quite a few people on my travels and someone ended up picking me up and taking me in. However, they couldn't keep me and didn't know if I had a family or not. They reached out in hopes that someone could take me in. Someone stepped up but shortly after my owner reclaimed me.

Just like that, my little adventure was over. I was back to having a job. I was back to someone having expectations of me. I didn't want it though. I wanted to play, I wanted to be a puppy. I didn't want to look over the chickens. I ended up doing something that I could never take back. I played with the chickens. I chased after them and during the time it seemed like harmless fun. The chickens would run and I would chase...it was just a game of tag....until it wasn't. I tried to grab one of the chickens and grabbed it a little too hard. Before I knew it, the chicken was gone. My owner came out and saw and was very upset with me. They couldn't keep a dog that killed chickens.

Remember that lady that was going to take me in before my owner had reclaimed me? Well, my owner reached out to her and told her that she couldn't keep me since I killed chickens. Before I knew it, I was off to start a new adventure. That lady, who is now my foster mama, reached out to this rescue about accepting me into their program...and they said yes! Just like that I was no longer expected to watch over the other animals...instead..I was being given a second chance for a totally different life!

Unfortunately, during my time out on the streets, I picked up a nasty disease. Shortly after I got to my foster home, I broke out with Parvo. So, just when I thought I could finally just be a puppy...I had to fight for my life. I was at the vet for a couple days and felt so crappy. I wasn't ready to give up my hopes though. I wasn't ready to say goodbye to life...so I fought and I fought hard. I ended up kicking Parvo's butt and was soon back with my foster family.

I know what it feels like to try and be something you are not. I also know what it feels like to be close to death's door and I am so beyond that. I fully plan on living life to the fullest!
I am a playful and active girl. I love to have fun, I love to play, and I love to just be a puppy! I enjoy playing with toys and will even play fetch with my people. I have not had the chance to go swimming so am unsure if I am a water dog or not. I have been on walks and enjoy them. With that said, I am still learning how to walk on a leash and will still pull when I get excited or want to go sniff something. I feel like I have the potential to be an amazing hiking partner and hope someone will take me with them one day!

I do well when my foster mom has people coming over and feel like I would do well with them out in public as well. I am good with other dogs and enjoy playing with them. One of my favorite things to do is play tug o war with my foster mom's dog. I am not being fostered around cats or children. I do think I would be okay with cats but I may try to play with them. I am quite a playful girl. As far as kids go, if they were older I believe I would do great. Don't get me wrong, I am a total sweetheart but I do like to play and can be mouthy from time to time. So, it would be best if they were older and could keep up with my playfulness.

I may be young but I already have pretty good house manners. I am potty trained as long as I am let out enough. I am kennel trained but am not a fan of it. I will initially whine but do settle down after a bit. I am a puppy which means I will grab things if they are left out. However, my foster has their home puppy-proofed and lots of chew toys out to help keep me distracted.

I know that for some...being a guardian and protector is what they do. That wasn't what I wanted though. The life I have right now...that is what I want. I want to be with my family. I want to be indoors. I want to be a puppy. Most of all though, I just want to have fun. I love playing with the other dogs, playing with toys, cuddling with my foster family, and just getting to live life the way I want to. If you are looking to welcome a playful and super sweet girl to your family, I hope that you will apply for me. I just know that I am going to be the PYRfect best friend for someone. The app to adopt me can be found at
https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app


Once you have submitted your application, it will be sent on to my foster family for consideration.

I am being fostered in Oklahoma City, OK. I do ask that my new family pick me up, none of that outside transport stuff. If I am going to move in with you, I expect to start our journey in the car together driving home TOGETHER. I am going to go ahead and let you know that I will need your help getting into the car. Once in, I ride well though.

My adoption fee is $300.00.

That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention.

*It will also include my Parvo treatment.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Penelopi

Penelopi

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Puppy
  • Female