Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Mushu Saint Bernard & Great Pyrenees Mix Minneapolis, MN

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Extra Large

About

Coat length
Medium
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats.
Prefers a home without
Children.
Adoption fee
$250.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Mushu

Hey, my name is Mushu! Check me out at my very own Facebook page too :)

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100086524883544

I am new to this “aDATEption” app thing, so I’ll start with the basics. I am almost 5 years old and 110lbs. I would weigh more, but I only have 3 legs so that brought me into low triple digits. Why do I have only 3 legs, you ask? Well, besides my desire to be different than the average dog, I got hit by a car as a young buck and unfortunately the leg couldn’t be saved. But it’s cool; I’ve been hobbling around as a tripod since I was about 9 months old, so I’ve acclimated quite well to my situation.

The folks in rescue don’t know with 100% certainty what my breed mix is but my previous owner said I am a Great Pyrenees/St. Bernard, and the nice veterinarians I have met have all said that “sounds about right”. What does all that mean? I was bred. To. Guard. And for some reason, the people around me keep making a big hub-bub about it! That’s actually why I ended up in a shelter; my mom fell down and when a strange man went to grab her (the humans said “help” but all I saw was “grab”) I gave him a
piece of my mind, which resulted in a small bite wound.

The nice people I am staying with now understand guarding breeds and know I was just doing what I was bred to do – protect my very most favorite human. With that said, the folks here have been giving me LOTS of jobs to do, to help keep me fulfilled so I don’t need to guard them quite as much as I guarded my last owner. And guess what? I love to work! Some of my chores include: placework, obedience work (I now know sit/lay down/stay/leave it), threshold work, leash work, and hunting for my food (that sounds way more rugged than it is; I sniff for my kibble in the yard/snufflemat/etc). I really really don’t want to be unemployed again so I need
whomever adopts me to make sure I have lots of jobs at their house too!

Speaking of a house, I have some unique physical dwelling needs due to my unique physical structure. I
cannot do a lot of stairs (2-3 is fine) so I need a house where, for most of our time home, everyone is on the same level of the home. Something similar to a walk-out rambler or one-level townhome would be ideal. Additionally, I am not a candidate for shared walls, as when I hear other dogs bark I feel the need to interpret their cries of alarm to my humans in my loud shouty voice (you all call it barking).

Due to my unique leg situation (you know… only having 3) I do have some medical care needs that my next owner should be ready and willing to provide. This includes cold laser therapy treatments twice per month and daily glucosamine and fish oil supplements. The cost of all of this is about $100-$150 a month. Additionally, I will likely need some pain management medications as I age … although I am in the clear on those for now!

My ideal set up would be one where I am in a rural area with little to no city sounds and activity, as I am INSANELY sensitive to energy fields around me. If a nervous human is near me it makes me nervous…but if I am around calm and confident handlers I am immediately cool with them. Similarly, if you have me in downtown Minneapolis you are going to see a hot mess express of a Mushu, as the noise and vibrations of the city life overwhelm me… but when I get a chance to go out in the middle of no where (and thanks to my foster mom’s Rav4, I have!), I am the happiest slobbery boi you will ever see in your life.

I don’t really mind if my next home has a friendly and chill dog my size in it but I would prefer there would be no small dogs. They just move too fast and it freaks me out and makes me bark and chase. I did live with a cat in my last home but my fosters think it must have been a very dog savvy cat because my prey drive is decent enough that I will need slow introductions and a cat willing to stand it’s ground. What is a hard pass for me, though, are kids. The smaller they are, the more nervous I get. They move fast. They look me in the eye. They are unpredictable and erratic. All of this freaks me out. My foster mom assures me that I am just like many other handsome young bachelors in the nation and this point in itself is not a deal breaker, so I’m hoping you agree. If you have nieces or nephews or neighborhood kids over, that’s totally cool – just put me in my kennel and I will nap away. I just don’t want to be with them while they visit you.

Were you impressed by the kennel comment? I am totally kennel trained; I hang out in my kennel while my foster mom works from the box with the bright light all day (she says it’s called a computer) and then sometimes at night. There is a big cushy bed in there and sometimes I bring in my puppy – which is an old stuffed animal from when I was only like a year old. I’ve chewed his face off (had a short Hannibal moment there) but he’s still my favorite and sometimes I fall asleep while chewing on him. He’s kinda like a pacifier for me and we’re a package deal so plan on him moving in with me.

I am also, for the record, 100% potty trained. I’ve never had an accident in the house and I don’t even “mark” like some of those other motherpuppers out there. Rest assured, your floors will remain clean from me. Well, except the drool. And the water that my jowls drag away from the water bowl. But hey, you want a St. Bernard? You get our baggage too!

Well now you know the basics. The un-basics are that I like short walks in the park, a partner who will have dinner in the bowl by 5PM, and I’m looking for something long term (lifelong, in fact). I am an incredibly goofy, loving boy once I warm up to you. I just need that special person who is going to hold me accountable and guide me through what else this life has to offer me. If you think you have the chops for the role, meeting me will be well worth your time. Head to the link below and fill out our form for the next step in this matchmaking process!

Stay classy.
Moosh



We will consider applicants in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa, and Wisconsin. Adopter must be willing to drive to the cities if needed.



If you are interested in this dog, don't waste time with an inquiry! Fill out an application here to get the ball rolling...https://pethavenmn.org/adopt/adoptable-dogs/dog-adoption-application/

Adoption fee includes spay/neuter, heartworm/Lyme test, all age-appropriate vaccinations (distemper, rabies, & Bordetella), heartworm and flea/tick preventatives, and microchip implant including registration. Adoption fees INCLUDE a mandatory sales tax of 7.525%.

There is no guarantee of age and breed as a rescue animal's history is often unknown. All ages and breeds are best guess.


Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Mushu

Mushu

  • Saint Bernard
  • Adult
  • Male