Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Mudbud Great Pyrenees Mix Kiowa, OK

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Extra Large
  • Black, Yellow / Tan / Blond / Fawn

About

Coat length
Short
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, children.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Mudbud

Mudbud's Story
-Written by Mudbud, a 5-year-old, 113lb male Great Pyrenees mix.
---------------------------------------------

I was dog 85 out of the now 1500+ that this rescue has saved and counting. I was one of the first, and I was only a couple days old when I first joined this rescue. My owner had dumped my mom and siblings and we ended up in the shelter. I was part of a big litter. It was a while ago but you may remember us...we were the Snow Buddies Litter. Rosebud, Buddha, B-Dawg, Shasta, Talon, Butterball, and me...Mudbud. I was adopted when I was around 8 weeks old.

My life has been really good. My owner and I were the pyrfect matches. We did everything together. She was my best friend and I was her good boy. We would go on walks together, which was always one of my favorite things to do. I also loved to come on the couch and cuddle with her while she watched TV. In fact, I would often end up on my back so she could give me belly rubs. Whenever she cooked she would sneak me some little goodies, and I always felt so special. I knew when it was bedtime and was always waiting before she even fully climbed into bed. When she sat outside to watch the sunset, I would be right there with her lying down and watching it as well. Like I said...we were the best of friends.

I never ever expected it to end. One day my owner left and never came back. I waited and waited. I had some other people taking care of me but I wanted her. I didn't understand where she went. I didn't understand why she never walked back through that door again. I didn't understand where she had gone. We were missing out on doing all our favorite things and I just wanted her to come home so we could do them again. I had no one to sneak me treats while they cooked. There was no one to come cuddle with me on the couch or for me to curl up close to in bed. Where was she? Where was my person? I would soon find out that my owner had gotten very sick....that is why she never came back. And when her family ended up bringing me to their house...I knew. I knew then that I would never see my owner again. Just like that my world came crashing down. Her family tried keeping me, but they had their own pets and things going on and in the end, it just didn't end up working out. They reached out to this rescue about taking me back in, and before I knew it everything changed again for me. I not only lost my owner but I lost my home and my best friend...and all in such a short amount of time.

I have mostly been around dogs that are smaller than me, so when I first entered my foster home I was pretty scared. Here were all these dogs that were my size wanting to greet me and I didn't know how to handle it. I have started to warm up to them and have even started playing with some of them. I know most dogs prefer to have a dog their size in their new home, but I would actually prefer having a smaller doggie companion friend. Not too small though because I can be a bit of a bull in a china shop when I want to play or get excited and may accidentally step on the really small ones..oops! I haven't met any cats in my foster home so make no promises about how I would do with them. If they were dog savvy I cannot see there is an issue between us but I can't say for sure. I am good friends with the kiddo that is around 5 years old in my foster home. I am very gentle with her and don't jump on her. With that said, I am a big boy so should definitely always be monitored. Especially when I get excited because I most definitely don't see myself being a big dog. I am convinced that I am a lap dog! I love hanging out on the couch with my people. At night, I will happily sleep in bed with you if you let me. I love treats and will happily "sit" for one. My foster family hasn't really taken me anywhere besides the vet yet. However, I did very well there and was both friendly and well-behaved with everyone I met there!

I am a pretty laid back guy that has playful spurts from time to time. I enjoy walks, but I am so NOT a fan of this heat. You can count me out for walks right now unless it is in the early morning when it is still somewhat cool. While shorter walks are my thing, hikes are not. I am on the lazier side and would much prefer a short walk and then back to the house for a nice nap. Not a full day of trekking through a forest. Sorry not sorry ;) I will engage in a game of fetch but it is up to you to figure out which toys I will chase after and which I won't. I like to keep you on your toes. I am a big fan of hard times and I especially LOVE my football. I will chase after it all through the house and chew on it. I have not had the opportunity to go swimming so am unsure if I would like it or not.

My house manners are superb! I am potty trained and will whine to let you know when I have to go out. I am also kennel trained. I am not a chewer and can be trusted to have free roam of the house. I am not a big barker but I am also not a quiet little mouse either. I will bark to let you know if I see something suspicious or if the other dogs are barking. I will also bark to let you know when I am tired of being outside and want to come back inside. As a puppy, I was quite the talker. I was the most vocal one out of my litter and that still holds true today. When I want something I will talk to you. However, I know how to use my inside voice so they will come out in little ruffs and mumbles. :)

I never expected that I would one day have to start over. That I would one day have to find someone new after being with my family from puppy on. I was also taught to believe that things happen for a reason though. I will always be thankful for the time my former owner and I had together but now it is time to find another amazing family..one that will hopefully be my forever. It is time to make new memories and new friendships and each day that goes by I find myself more excited to find them. I know that my owner is watching out for me still and is going to lead the most amazing family to me! If you are looking for a very lovable and silly boy that will love you like no other...then please apply to adopt me at
https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app

Once this app comes in, it will be sent on to my foster family. This is to help ensure that not only am I a good fit for you but that you are also a good fit for me! ?

I am currently residing in Tahlequah, OK. If you have fallen in love with me and are out of state, how about a road trip? I do good on car rides, and wouldn't mind relocating out of state. For the most part, I ride well in the car. I may be just a tad bit nervous though.

My adoption fee is $250.
That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention.
---------------------------------------------

EPILOGUE
-Below is an excerpt from Mudbud's foster family.

"Mudbud is such a loving dog and has some adorable quirks. He likes to give a little dance with his front paws whenever you come in from outside. He will also talk to you whenever he needs something, such as food or to go outside. Mudbud knows how to use his inside voice, so his little ruffs are very quiet in these situations. However, he will use his outside voice whenever he wants you to know someone is on the other side of the street. Other than napping, his favorite hobby is standing next to you while you give him pets on his head or chest. If you stop, he will nudge at your hand to ask for more love. He loves to be in the same space as his people, so he will follow you all over the house. He is also aware of how adorable his eyebrows are and will not hesitate to use them to beg for the yummy food you are having. Even though he's nervous around other dogs, he really is an amazing companion. If you need someone who will give you chill, comforting companionship with little spurts of active play and love you forever, then Mudbud is the guy for you."

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Mudbud

Mudbud

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Adult
  • Male