Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Mila Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Female
  • Large
  • White / Cream

About

Coat length
Long
House-trained
Yes
Health
Spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats.
Adoption fee
$225.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Think you and Mila might be a match?

Meet Mila

Mila is ready to share her story! ♥

Hello everyone, my name is Mila. I am a 13-month-old, 58lb female Great Pyrenees mix. I am unsure of what I am mixed with. My story is probably similar to other dogs, but that doesn't make it any less real for me. I hope you will listen and hopefully consider welcoming me to your family.

My story starts when I was just a pup. I did have a home, of that I am sure. The part that I cannot remember is how I ended up alone. How I ended up in the shelter full of mattes that went all the way to my skin. So full of fleas and ticks that they were literally crawling all over me. So caked in dirt you could not even see the skin on my belly. I don't remember if my owners dumped me or just let me wander off. I do know that I was on my own for a long time before animal control finally picked me up. And for a girl like me, who is pretty much still a total puppy...that just sucked. And if I wasn't miserable enough from being hungry, eaten alive by parasites, and dealing with tight mats I ended up on the urgent list. Since my stray hold was up and no one reclaimed me, the shelter needed my kennel for the next stray or owner surrender. Things looked very bleak for me.

Until they didn't. Suddenly, I was being loaded up into the car again and it really felt like I was breaking free. Like I was getting my second chance, and boy was I right! I was taken to the vet and was cleaned up a bit, and they helped me get rid of all those nasty fleas and ticks. Shortly after I found myself in a foster home and that is when everything changed. I went from being a filthy stray with no name to being a loved family member. And folks if you ask me, that is where my story truly starts! This is my second chance at life, and my focus is on my future now! Starting with finding my forever family!
____________________________________________________________________

I think it is important to know everything there is to know about me before bringing me home. I want my new family to be my forever! So, I have compiled a list of things I believe may be important for you to know about me.

-How can someone adopt me?
The first step is to fill out an adoption app for me at https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app
Once this app comes in, it will get sent on to my foster family and they will help me decide if we are a match or not.

*Where are you being fostered? Would I have to come pick you up? Can I adopt you even if I don't live in Oklahoma?
Yes, I am okay moving to a new state, I am being fostered in Kiowa, OK. Yes, you would need to pick me up. This rescue does not send us on transports. It is less stress on us that way. Plus, you and I can already start bonding on the road trip home! ;)

-Do I do well with strangers?
I am a very friendly and loving dog. I do fine when my fosters have visitors over, but there are always other dogs around. I can sense that they are excited and go with the flow. One on one I may be nervous, but I warm up quickly.

-Do you enjoy going places?
I don't know. My foster really hasn't taken me anywhere except for the vet. I did fine there, and I figure I would probably do okay going to public outings. Now, I would need to first feel comfortable with my family and slowly be introduced to going to places. I think if I was thrown right into it I would be a bit overwhelmed.

-Do you enjoy walks?
Again, I cannot answer with certainty. I do walk okay on a leash, but you have to remember that I had nothing for the longest time. The leash is still a new concept for me, and while I walk okay on one I probably am not an expert on one. My foster has a big fenced-in yard, so we haven't gone on any strolls through the neighborhood. It is something I believe I would enjoy, though.

-Do you like road trips?
You are just hitting me with all the tough questions, aren't you?! So, I have been in the car a few times and rode well. I am pretty sure I did not go on car rides in my past life so I don't have much experience with cars. For now, I will say I do good on car trips but wouldn't say that I love them.

-Can I trust you to free-roam the house, even if I am away?
Absolutely! Now, before you start jumping with glee let me finish. I am being fostered around other dogs whenever my fosters are away, so I am unsure how I would do if I was the only dog and you left me alone. Along with that, my foster has their house puppy-proofed. I am still young, so if there are shoes, magazines, books and other tempting items lying around I may get into those things. Whether you are home or not ;)

-Are you potty trained? What about kennel trained?
Ah yes, two very important questions to people these days. Yes, I am potty trained. I have not had any accidents in my foster home for a while now. As far as the kennel goes, my foster does not kennel me. So, I don't really have any experience being in one. It just hasn't been necessary since I have good house manners.

-What do you like to do for fun?
I love playing with the other dogs. I will play with them both inside the house and outside. I enjoy playing with my toys as well. I seem to love all of them, bones, soft toys, squeaky toys, and even rope toys. I do love running through the water/mud puddles with the other dogs. My foster doesn't have a pool or other large pool of water that I can play in, so I am unsure if I would actually go swimming.

-Would you do okay living in an apartment?
Yes and No. If my family was active and always taking me for walks and hikes I would love it. However, if they were more homebodies or worked all day it probably would not work between us. I would definitely at least need a yard or another doggie playmate in that case.

-Are you good with dogs? What about cats? Can I trust you with my kids?
For the record, I LOVE other dogs. I have a blast playing with them. So, yes I would fine in a home that has other dogs. My foster has cats and I do well with them. Now I am young and playful, so may sometimes give chase if they run. My foster does not have any kids. I am a total lovebug and very friendly so I believe I would do well with them. I can get rowdy at times so not sure if toddlers and I would be a good fit. Kids around 8 years and up would be perfect! I think we would be the best of friends!

-Is there anything else that I need to know about you? Any quirks?
I don't have any food aggression and don't try to resource guard my things. I do try to play with the other dogs on the couch sometimes, which my fosters get on to me for. I may or may not like to jump around and be a clown on it ;) Other than that, though, I am pretty much PYRfect.

-Can I hear what your foster has to say about you?
"Mila is adorable. This dog will win you over in no time. She is a very loving dog. She is someone that doesn't take no for an answer when she wants to give lovings. She will lick your face, she will paw you, she will even climb halfway in your lap when she wants to give lovings and vice versa. Mila does wonderful with our other dogs and cats and has good house manners. She is on the more petite side, but will probably still top out somewhere close to the 70lb range. Her coat was pretty raggedy when she first came to us. It still isn't back to what it should be, but it definitely adds to her character right now! She has such a sweet face, and I am betting she is going to be a knockout once she is back to her full weight and coat. You can even see a little gray on her ears, and it seems to be getting more distinct as time goes on. Mila is about a year old, but she is still all puppy. I don't think she got to just be a puppy when she was growing up. It is so fun to watch her living it up now. From playing with the other dogs to playing with toys, to running around in the yard, to being a clown on the couch. This girl is always happy and has a light inside of her that shines bright. All she wants to do is love, play, and live life to the fullest"
____________________________________________________________________

Phew! That took longer than I thought! Hopefully, all your questions about me were answered though! Before you apply to adopt me I have a few last things that I would like to discuss!

First off, my ideal home would have
*Another playful dog
*Be on the active side
*Want a big ole puppy
*Want a dog that is a good mix of cuddly and playful

If you fit most of the above, then fill out that app and bring me home! Because I am ready! ;)

*My adoption fee is $225. That includes DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordatella shots. I will be micro-chipped, heart-worm tested, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention.

Think you and Mila might be a match?

Help provide for Mila's care

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Mila

Mila

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Young
  • Female