Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos
Adopted

Lucy Shepherd Mix Oxford, MI

  • Adult
  • Female
  • Large

About

Characteristics
Loving, PLayful, Amazing
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Prefers a home without
Other dogs.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Lucy

Hi there- my name is Lucy and I’m a gorgeous 84 pound shepherd mix ( between 4-7 years old) who has been waiting for my forever home longer than any dog should. I’ve been patient and am looking to you to recognize what all the volunteers at K9 already have… that I’m a wonderful dog worthy of the best home ever!

Since I’ve been a K9 resident for a while now, one of our great volunteers decided it was time I got a well-deserved break from the kennel. Let me tell you I couldn’t agree more! Like most dogs, I’m looking to my new family to instill leadership and provide me with guidance. A family that will exercise me and keep me safe in a fenced in yard is a must. If you have kids ages 13 and up, I’m game for a meet and greet. I can see it now, us playing happily together as a family!

Smart? Oh yes I am! I’m happiest when I can be mentally stimulated. If you’ve got a snuffle mat, I’ve got the time. I love all types of food puzzles because it gives me a chance to show you just how intelligent I am. As far as tricks go, I know “sit” and “shake” and am up for learning more. I also know my name and come when I’m called. I respond to “Lucy” and “Lu” or “Luce”.

I’d have to describe myself as a very happy pup that just looks forward to hanging with my peeps. I tend to be calm, but will lean in and give you lots of kisses if you let me. My absolute favorite pastime is to have my backside scratched. I’ll approach my foster parents with a longing look and as soon as I turn around, they reward me just as I hoped they would, with a nice satisfying scratch session!

Sometimes when they scratch my belly, my legs start moving like I’m running in place. They always laugh when I do this so might as well keep it up. When I’m not enjoying that special treatment, you can find me splashing in the puddles in the yard. I love the water and will find any way I can to enjoy it. When it’s time to get cozy, I love to curl up in blankets and will drag them over to be near where you are.

Did you say it’s time to eat? My foster family spoils me and in addition to my meals, they give me fish oil and allergy medicine to keep my skin and coat nice and healthy. When it comes to my treats, I can be a bit particular and haven’t been a fan of some meat-flavored treats. Peanut butter is definitely a winner though!

In my foster home, I currently live with a bird. Even though I can hear him chirping in the basement, it doesn’t bother me one bit. As I was raised with some unruly fur siblings, I’d prefer to go to a home where I’m the only dog. I’m sure you can understand where I’m coming from. I’ve had to share the spotlight long enough and have earned my chance to be the center of my new family’s world.

As I’m an independent woman, I don’t mind napping or hanging out alone in the other room. I think we can all benefit from some “me” time! Although I haven’t currently been left home alone, my foster family doesn’t think it would bother me at all. So far, I’ve yet to get into anything in the house that I’m not supposed to.

Although I’m not overly toy-motivated, I do love my Kong rope toy. I’m not possessive of my toys and don’t mind when my foster family pets me while I’m playing. When playtime is done, I give up my toys with no issue.

To top it all off, I haven’t had a single accident in my foster home. While there is no guarantee it won’t happen, I’m proud to say I’m housebroken. At bedtime, I like to sleep on the floor next to my foster parent’s bed. I’m very courteous and the only time I’ve had to wake them up is to go outside to do my business.

At a moment’s notice, I’m ready for a road trip. The other day, my foster family was unloading the car and I followed them out to the garage and hopped right in, ready to hit the open road! It doesn’t have to be a long trip, just as long as we do it together. I’m perfectly content to just chill and just look out the window while we cruise around. What can I say? I appreciate life’s little moments.

What’s my idea of a dream home? I’d love to live on a large property with a privacy fence where I can have time to explore and play fetch with my family. When it comes to meeting new people, I’ve come a long way. I used to let my excitement get the better of me, but my foster family says I’ve shown a lot of improvement with keeping calm. We haven’t had any visitors to the house lately, but I always keep my cool when there are deliveries. Those guys are just doing their jobs, so I figure they wouldn’t appreciate me barking at them while they are trying to work.

When the leash comes out, my excitement level goes way up. I can be tough to wrangle and my foster parents are working with me to have a better routine when it comes to getting ready for our walks. Once I’m settled, they say I’m great on a leash and I have to agree with them. I see no point in pulling or trying to chase small animals. I’m quite content to just enjoy my time outside with you.

Walks do come with an additional challenge though. Remember how I said, I need to be in an only dog home? That’s because I have some reactivity issues I’m learning to deal with. If you have any experience with this and are willing to help me work through this, I’d forever be grateful. This doesn’t mean that I’m not a good dog, just a dog that needs a dedicated family to teach me there’s another way to be.

My foster family says it always looks like I’m smiling at them, and it’s true. The truth is I know I’m going to need a special adopter-the type of family that can love me for all I have to offer and accept that I’m going to need some work to become the best dog I can be. If you have the patience and determination to be my new family, I promise I won’t disappoint you. Please fill out an application at k9stray.com and my friends will be in touch. I hope we can be together soon.

Love, Lucy
  • Location Address

    2120 Metamora Road
    Oxford, MI 48371

  • day hours
    Monday 1 - 4 p.m. No Appointment Necessary
    Tuesday Closed
    Wednesday Closed
    Thursday 1 - 4 p.m. No Appointment Necessary
    Friday 1 - 4 p.m. No Appointment Necessary
    Saturday 12 noon - 4 p.m. No Appointment Necessary
    Sunday 11- 3 p.m. No Appointment Necessary
More about Us

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Lucy

Lucy

  • Shepherd
  • Adult
  • Female