Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos
Adopted

Loretta Great Pyrenees & Border Collie Mix Kiowa, OK

  • Puppy
  • Female
  • Large
  • White / Cream, Black

About

Coat length
Medium
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats, children.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Loretta

Apply to adopt Loretta at https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app

Loretta Summary:
Loretta is a 4-month-old, 40lb Great Pyrenees/Border Collie mix. Loretta is sweet, gentle, and really wants to learn and do what is right. When she is outside, she waits to be invited in. When served her food, she waits for you to tell her "dig in". She is a big love and enjoys encouragement and petting, but she is not a cuddler. On the couch, she likes to have her own space and give you your space. I honestly cannot believe a big puppy could be this easy to be around. She has picked up potty training very quickly and is very close to being fully trained. The biggest learning for her will be walking on a leash. She is naturally an easy, gentle, sweet pup who is a wonderful companion.

Loretta's ideal home would have another dog for her to bond and play with. She is currently paired with her sister Tammy, and they love each other. She likes other dogs and does well with other animals in the house. She is not protective or territorial at all. She is a great balance of active and calm and seems to know when it is time to be one or the other. I think her activity expectations will lessen as she gets older.
____________________________________________

Why hello there! Thank you for coming to my page and listening to my story. I am excited that you are considering adopting me. I would love nothing more than to find my forever home. I am a very sweet and calm 4-month-old Pyr/Border Collie mix. I weigh around 40lbs right now, and will probably top out in or close to the 80lb range. I found myself in rescue after my siblings and I were surrendered to the animal shelter.

I do well with other dogs and enjoy them. I tend to be gently playful around them initially. However, I also pick up on their cues rather quickly and will leave them be if they are not in the mood to play or up for company. I am being fostered around cats and do really well with them. I have only been around teenagers so am unsure how I would do with younger children. Given my calm and gentle nature, I think I would be fine as long as they were respectful of my space. I am politely energetic when meeting new people. What I mean by that is, you can tell that I want to jump up on you but am respectful of your space and will kind of just dance around you. I do really well when my foster has guests over and am both friendly and gentle.

I am both calm and happy when going on road trips. However, I will need to be lifted in the car initially. My social interactions have been limited to rides in the car, trips to the grandparents (who have a small dog), and being around visitors to my foster home. I have done great and am friendly and gentle. My foster has tried taking me on walks but right now I am not comfortable on a harness or a leash. Once I get the hang of that, I believe that I would enjoy going for walks. I do think that in time I would also love to go on hikes with my family.

I am active when it is time to play, but also recognize when it is time to be quiet. I will lie beside my foster mom all day when she is working, but as soon as she gets up and address me, I will hop up and am ready to rumble. I have not quite learned the concept of fetch yet but am learning. I do enjoy playing in the water and love playing with toys.

I am almost potty trained. I am kennel trained. When the weather is nice, I have free roam with access to the outside when my foster is away. If the weather is nasty, I am kenneled while she is away. I believe that if my new family was active and home a lot, I would do well in an apartment setting. I am not a big barker. Mostly, when I do bark it has been to let my foster mom know that I have to go potty.

I have shared everything I could share about myself. Now it is your turn to share some information about your home and family. If you are interested in adopting me, please apply to adopt me at https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app

Once you have submitted your application, it will be sent on to my foster family for consideration.

I am being fostered in Tulsa, OK. While we do adopt out of state, you would be responsible for picking your new dog up. We do not send our dogs on transport. This way you and your new fur baby can already begin the bonding process on the way back home, and it limits the stress on the dog.

My adoption fee is $300.

That will include two sets of puppy shots and wormings. I will also have had a bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Loretta

Loretta

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Puppy
  • Female