Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Lorelei Anatolian Shepherd & Great Pyrenees Mix Kiowa, OK

  • Adult
  • Female
  • Large
  • Red / Chestnut / Orange


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Lorelei

Lorelei is ready to share her story!

I wanted a forever family. I don't know how I ended up homeless or why. I don't know why the people that should have loved me until the end, let me end up all alone and on my own. I wandered for a bit. Whenever I came upon people, I was so excited! Finally, someone would take me home and makes me theirs....but no one ever did. So, I kept wandering. Someone finally ended up picking me up and I imagined what their house looked like if they would get me a bed, if I would have fur siblings, and dreaming up everything possible! All those dreams came crashing down though when my home turned out to be a kennel, my dog bed ended up being a blanket, and my "siblings" ended up being dozens of other homeless dogs. Turns out I was actually in the shelter!

I tried to stay optimistic. I figured someone would adopt me. Heck, maybe by some chance my old family may even come for me. Neither of those things happened, and I soon ended up on the urgent list. Thankfully, this rescue ended up finding a foster family for me and before I knew new life had begun!

It may not be a forever home, but I finally have a name again, I have dog beds galore, I have doggie companions, and I am closer than ever to finding my forever family! My name is Lorelei and I am a 5-year-old female Anatolian Shepherd/Great Pyrenees mix. I weigh around 62lbs.

Ever since I ended up homeless I have been dreaming of a forever family. One that will love me for the rest of my life! I know it is a big decision so I had my foster family fill out this questionnaire to make sure you are 100% sure about me!

-How does your foster act when meeting new people?
She will do a meet and greet and then go do her own thing.

-How does your foster do in public settings?
Not sure.

-Is your foster leash trained?
Working on it.

-Does your foster like going on walks? Yes, but still working on leash training.

-Would your foster enjoy hiking?
Maybe after more leash training.

-Does your foster do on car rides?
She likes to ride in the car and does well.

-Does your foster jump on people?

-Describe your fosters energy level?
She is both playful and laid back.

-Is your foster a big chewer?

-Does your foster like to play fetch?

-Does your foster like to play in the water?

-Does your foster play with Toys?
Not really. She will play tug a war with another dog.

-Does your foster have any food aggression?

-Does your foster resource guard?

-Do you think your foster would be okay with free-roam of the house even if you are away?
At this time, no. She has separation anxiety.

-Is your foster potty trained?

-Is your foster kennel trained?

-Where does your foster sleep at night?
Just out in the house.

-Where does your foster stay when no one is home?
She is kenneled.

-Is your foster good with other dogs?

-How does your foster act around other dogs?
Playful and indifferent.

-Does your foster need another dog in their new home?
Not if the owner is home most of the time.

-Is your foster good with cats?

-Is your foster good with kids?

-Would your foster dog do good in an apartment?

-Is your foster a big barker?

-What would be your fosters ideal home?

I feel she would enjoy a home with another active dog. She enjoys playing. She would do well as an only dog if the owner was home most of the time.

-Is there anything else you would like to mention about your foster dog?

Lorelei is a sweet, loving dog that has been neglected. She has a nervous growl but it is not harmful. She does it when she plays, but we have never seen aggression. She has bonded with my husband because he works out of the house. I feel she would do best with someone that is home most of the time. She loves to play but likes to chill out also. Whoever decides to bring her into their home will fall in love instantly, she is just that sweet!


Phew! That took longer than I thought! Hopefully, all your questions about me were answered though! Before you apply to adopt me I have a few last things that I would like to discuss!

-How can someone adopt me?
The first step is to fill out an adoption app for me at

Once this app comes in, it will get sent on to my foster family and they will help me decide if we are a match or not.

-Where are you being fostered?
I am being fostered in Purcell, OK.

-Would I need to pick you up?
Yes, you would need to pick me up. This rescue does not send us on transports. It is less stress on us that way. Plus, you and I can already start bonding on the road trip home!

-Can I adopt you even if I don't live in Oklahoma?
Yes, I am okay moving to a new state.

-How much is your adoption fee?
My adoption fee is $225.

That includes my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordatella shots. I will be micro-chipped, heart-worm tested, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Anatolian Shepherd
  • Adult
  • Female