Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Lafayette Labradoodle Kiowa, OK

  • Puppy
  • Male
  • Large
  • Golden, White / Cream


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats, children.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Lafayette

Lafayette's Story
-Written by Lafayette, a 10-month-old, 50lb male Labradoodle mix. Other guesses are Airedale, Golden, or Terrier mix. Or a little bit of everything ;)

I love to play and I love to have fun. I would like to consider myself a pretty carefree pup, but there was a time when I couldn't be. It was only a few short weeks ago that I was bailed out of doggie jail. I cannot tell you what my crime was. Maybe I chewed on a shoe. Maybe I was too big. Maybe I was too playful. I don't know. All I know is that doggie jail is no fun. You cannot run and play. You spend most of your day in the kennel. There are not any toys, and most of the kennel is concrete. It is very boring. I tried to strike up conversations with the other dogs in the shelter, but they weren't too interested in me. They were focused on trying to win someone's heart.

I saw them pull out every trick in the book. Some would sit pretty, some would jump on the kennels, some would bark, some would whine, some would look pitiful, and so on. Everyone had their own way in which they tried to make someone fall in love with them. Personally, I preferred trying to press myself against the kennel door to try and give the person licks. I guess my way wasn't all that effective though. Before I knew it, I heard whispers that my name was on the list. This wasn't just any list though, this list was the kind that you NEVER wanted to be on. Sadly, the shelter was incredibly full and I had no adoption interest and there were probably at least twenty more dogs waiting to come in that day. Things did not look good for me. For a change, I dropped my carefree persona and got really nervous. There was so much that I still hadn't done yet.

I had never been hiking. I had never been inside the house. I had never gotten a puppuccino. I had never laid by a fireplace with my family surrounding me. I was still a pup...not eve a year old yet. How could this be happening to me? I never thought it would all end like this. And all because I was unwanted and there was nowhere for me to go. How unfair is that? I ended up being one of the lucky ones though. This rescue had posted me for a foster family, and someone actually stepped up for me! I went from being on death row to having a second chance at life!

I am a playful and cuddly guy. I love getting to be with my people and playing with them. In fact, I am sure you would be interested to know that I play fetch! I hear that many dogs turn their noses to the game, but I LOVE it! I think it is the greatest thing ever! If you are unable to play with me, I am happy to entertain myself with toys. I have more fun if you play with me, but I do have an active imagination so am pretty good at imagining that my bone is a juicy steak. I have not been swimming yet. My foster says that I have webbed feet, which means that I may have some type of water-loving breed in me. So, maybe when I finally get in the water I will discover that I am an elusive merdog...or I will hate it and go running for the hills. I am thinking it could go either way right now ;). Speaking of running for the hills, I would love to go running through the countryside, a meadow, or a forest. Well, maybe not run. Maybe a fast walk with lots of stops so I can sniff and check everything out. I have never been hiking before so I would really love to check it out. I cannot say if I would love always going on hikes all the time, but I think I would definitely enjoy it every now and then for sure.

I have not been to any public outings yet. My foster has taken me on a walk and I definitely enjoy them. I am not fully leash trained, which shouldn't be a surprise since I am just now learning what it is at a year old! I have learned a lot though, and overall walk pretty well on it. I am a friendly and happy guy when it comes to meeting new people. I am still working on my manners though. My way of making new friends is to want to give them a hug! However, I am learning that not everyone appreciates being jumped on and am learning to greet people without jumping on them. I have not been on any super long car rides yet. My foster family has taken me on a couple shorter rides, and I have done really well!

I am not currently being fostered around any dogs right now. However, the ones I have met I have been playful and friendly. I think that I would really benefit from having a doggie playmate in my new home. I have some pretty good house manners, but when my foster family is away all day..I do get into some things. So, I will definitely need another dog in my new home if my family works all day. However, if my new family works from home or someone is home most of the day, I would also do just fine as an only dog! My foster family has a cat and I do well with him. I sometimes try to play with him...and lets just say he is less than amused. I am being fostered around kiddos aged 6 and 9 and do quite well with them. When my foster family has visitors come over, I am excited and friendly! I may try to give them a hug as well, but as I mentioned earlier..I am working on it.

Since we are on the subject of me working on some things...I am not yet kennel or potty trained. I do really well when I am on a set potty schedule. However, since I am young I am not yet able to hold it for a full work day yet. I am working on it though. I am also working on my kennel training. When my foster family was home most of the day, I did really good. Now that school has started back up again though, I have been a curious and mischievous pup so am now being kenneled when my foster family is away. I am not a big chewer, but I am not above snatching some paper products and shredding them! I have never seen snow before, so I like to imagine that the aftermath of my shredding session is snow! I know...I am a silly pup! I like to think that is part of my charm though :) I love being close to my people and will happily sleep in bed with them if they allow me to! Given my personality and size, I do think that I would be a good candidate for apartment living. Along with that, I am not a very vocal guy. Sure, I do bark but it is not on a constant basis. Only when I think it is necessary, and even then it is not a super loud bark. You didn't hear that from me though. To anyone else I have a very big and very manly bark ;)

I wish I could tell you more about my past. I wish I knew how I ended up in doggie jail and why my first family never bailed me out. I wish I could tell you what breed(s) I am. I don't know those things though. What I can tell you though, is that I am a lovable, happy, and cuddly guy! ♥ I love to play fetch, play with other dogs, cuddle with my people, play with toys, and just enjoy getting to be part of my family's activities! I have already been someones until dog. And it landed me in doggie jail. So, I really would rather not take a walk down that path again. What I would like to do, is go running down the path that will lead me to my forever family! You know, the kind that won't ever let me go!

If you are interested in adopting me and becoming my FUREVER family, please fill out an adoption app at

Once your app comes in, it will be sent to my foster family. This is to help ensure that not only am I a good fit for you but that you are also a good fit for me! ? And then...then my dream will have fully come to life.

I am currently residing in Norman, OK. If you have fallen in love with me and are out of state, how about a road trip? I won't go on a long transport, so the only way I am relocating to another if we are in that car together ?

My adoption fee is $250.
That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heartworm and flea/tick prevention.


-Below is an excerpt from Lafayette's foster family.

"Whoever adopts Lafayette is going to win the dog lottery. He is just the good-est boy! He is so friendly and loving. We think he is approximately 10 months old. But he may be older or younger. He appears to still be growing into his paws. He almost has a terrier look to his face, with a bit a beard. He settled down into our family so quickly, it was amazing. He is a dog that would play fetch with one kiddo, then let your other kid put him in a dress and give him a makeover, and then go on a walk/run with you, and then sleep right next to you all night long. All without ever getting irritated or wearing down. He is an active dog and should go to a family that is going to take him on regular walks or at least has other dogs to play with. He does well alone in the house for short stays, but when left for 8 hours he gets anxious or bored and may resort to experimentation and counter-surfing. Even then, the mischief has been minor and manageable. He is SUPER cuddly and always wants to be near you, preferably with his head on your lap. While we have only had him for a short time, he seems very receptive to training and has quickly learned several commands. I think the world of this dog and I think a little bit of work will make him a perfect pet for some lucky family."

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Labradoodle
  • Puppy
  • Male