Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Kiwi Great Pyrenees & Australian Shepherd Mix Kiowa, OK

  • Puppy
  • Female
  • Large
  • Red / Chestnut / Orange, Golden, Brown / Chocolate

About

Coat length
Medium
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats, children.
Adoption fee
$300.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Kiwi

Kiwi will make the perfect companion to someone who is home often or has someone in the home often. She loves to cuddle and get belly rubs. She is very shy to large dogs but once you pet her she wants to be your best friend. Kiwi is such a special dog, I’ve never fostered one who loved to cuddle as much as this girl.

Kiwis ideal home is somewhere with someone who is home most of the day or if a person is home most of the day. She does good with my 2 big dogs but does get scared of really big dogs. If she was introduced slowly she would be fine with any dog. Kiwi occasionally has the zoomies but you can usually find her waiting for you on the couch. Kiwi is the biggest cuddle bug I’ve ever fostered and if given the opportunity she would crawl on top of you and fall asleep (and she has multiple times!). Kiwi is very shy around new people and animals but warms very quickly to people and fairly quick to animals. Kiwi has been around a 1-year-old and did fine. Even though she is shy she has never snarled/barked at anyone but if a new face comes at her too quickly she does shrink up and hide.
_______________________________________________________________

Hi folks, Kiwi here! The puppy, not the fruit ;) I am a very adorable and too cute for words 12-week-old, 16lb female Great Pyrenees/Aussie mix. I found my way into rescue with my siblings Saffron, Pomona, and Sorrell after we were found all alone in the woods. That is one experience I hope to never have to live through again. The whole experience was so traumatic I cannot remember if we were dumped or if we just got lost, but being all on our own in the woods was very scary. We were hungry, we were cold, we were scared, and we had no idea what would happen to us. We were both excited and scared when a nice lady finally found us. We were not sure if we could trust her, but we were also tired of being all alone so we took a chance on her. The lady ended up being really nice and took us in and tried to find our owners. No one ever claimed us though. The nice lady could not keep us so she reached out to this rescue, and thanks to our foster families stepping up...we soon became a part of their fluffy butt family.

This whole being part of a family is very new to me. I do not believe I was ever inside before. I know that I never got as much attention as I get in my foster home and I am loving it! I was pretty nervous at first but as time goes on I am starting to feel more and more secure and figured out where to wait for cuddles and pets! I am good with other dogs and will even lightly play with them. I am not a huge player though. For the most part, I am indifferent to the other dogs so believe I would be happy in a home with or without other dogs. I am currently being fostered around cats and pay them no mind. While I am a bit timid with new people, I do like kids and tend to be pretty gentle with them and believe I would do well with kids of all ages. With that said, I do spook easily so would definitely prefer a home with calmer kiddos. Super rowdy and noisy kids always running towards me and around me would probably be a bit too much for me. I like to spend my days just cuddling and relaxing with my family instead of playing all day long.

I don't have too much experience being in the car but have done well the few times that I am in it. I tend to just settle down and take a nap! I am not fully vaccinated yet, which means I have not really gone anywhere outside my foster home besides the vet. When I imagine myself as an adult, I don't really see myself as a social butterfly that is always going out and about. I see myself as more of a homebody. Someone who spends the day relaxing at home, cuddling with her people, playing with a toy here and there, and then maybe for a walk or two. As I get older, I may become a bit more social but overall I do think I will be more of a homebody. I have not gone on any walks yet but think I would come to enjoy them once I am older. I don't believe that I would be a fan of hiking though like I said...I see my future self as more of a homebody. When it comes to meeting new people, I can be quite shy but I do tend to warm up fairly quickly. I will try to make myself as small as possible but you can tell that I do want to become friends because my tail still goes about 1,000mph. I don't really jump on people unless I see another dog do it. There is no way I can let someone one-up me when it comes to getting loving and I will have to throw my paws in the ring to try and get some extra pets in. I didn't have much experience around bigger dogs before coming into my foster home. I do get pretty nervous around the big dogs and will cry and run away. Now that I have had time to realize that they won't hurt me, I have really warmed up to the other dogs in my foster home and love them now.

I am not interested in playing fetch as of right now. I will occasionally chew on toys but prefer to cuddle and get pets. I have not had the chance to play in any water so am unsure if I am a water dog or not. I am a lower-energy pup and only play when my sister(Pomona) gets really excited. I prefer to hang out on the couch and get belly rubs or to be snuggled up next to you. I will run in the backyard with my sister for a little bit but then will patiently wait at the back door to come back inside. Given my calmer personality, I do believe that I would be a good candidate for apartment living.

I am working on my potty training, I am not quite there yet but what would you expect with a pup who only started living in the house about a week ago? Given the circumstances, I am doing quite well though. I am not quite kennel trained yet either but am working on it. I have not been a big chewer in my foster home, but have been caught chewing on a pillow before. Given my age, that shouldn't be too much of a surprise ;) So far, I have not been a big barker in my foster home and am on the quieter side.

If you are interested in adopting me and offering me FUREVER, you can apply for me at
https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app

Once this app comes in, it will be sent on to my foster family. This is to help ensure that not only am I a good fit for you but that you are also a good fit for me! ?

I am currently residing in Broken Arrow, OK. I do ask that my new family pick me up, none of that outside transport stuff. If I am going to move in with you, I expect to start our journey in the car together driving home TOGETHER. ?

My adoption fee is $300.
That will include two sets of puppy shots and wormings. I will also have had a bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heartworm and flea/tick prevention.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Kiwi

Kiwi

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Puppy
  • Female