Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Junior Wheaten Terrier & Poodle Mix Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Male
  • Large
  • Red / Chestnut / Orange


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Junior

Apply to adopt Junior at

Junior Summary:
Junior is a 2-year-old, 65lb Soft-coated Wheaten Terrier/Poodle mix. Junior is a very sweet and needy boy. He is a medium energy boy who loves to sleep and occasionally play with his foster siblings! Junior needs a patient and loving home. He is very sweet and affectionate toward me but it took a couple days for him to trust me. His new home needs to leave him alone for the first couple of days until he approaches you. If I got too close before he was comfortable he would growl because he was afraid I was going to hurt him. After a couple days he became the sweetest and most affectionate baby! He was living in a garage with several other dogs and is still adjusting to living in a home. He absolutely loves it and has made so much progress since we first met! He does well on the leash but doesn't like it when I put it on him. He loves his foster siblings, sleeping on my bed, eating, and getting love and pets from me! Junior would truly make a wonderful addition to any family!

A calm and patient home with another dog who can give him a lot of attention would be best. They would need to have no kids, and his new family be okay with just letting him be for the first few days while he adjusts.

Howdy folks, my name is Junior and I am 65lbs of adorable scruffiness! I would love to tell you my breed, but I am really unsure. My former owner said I was an Old English Sheepdog...but that just doesn't seem to fit me. The rescue is thinking that I am a Soft-coated Wheaten Terrier, possibly mixed with some Poodle but I really cannot say for sure. I am about 2 years old and was an owner surrender to this rescue. I spent most of my time in a garage with several other dogs and wasn't well socialized, but I have really started to come around in my foster home.

I am good with other dogs as long as they don't challenge me. I may not start fights but I also won't back down from them. When I first meet a new dog I am indifferent to him/her, but once I feel comfortable around them I become more playful. I am not being fostered around any cats so I cannot say how I would be with them. I have been around kids as young as 7 and have done well with them. Given my nervous behavior upon first entering a new environment though, my family should not have any kids younger than 12 in the home. I am a bit shy and nervous when meeting new people. I prefer that they let me come up to them and once I realize everything is okay I am the sweetest and most lovable boy!

My foster has taken me out in public a few times and I have done well. I am leash trained and enjoy going for walks. I do believe that I have the stamina and energy to be a wonderful hiking companion. I absolutely love car rides and have no problem going on road trips. I am on the laid-back side but do have a playful side sometimes. I am not interested in playing fetch. I have not had the chance to play in any water yet, so am unsure if I am a water dog or not. I like playing with toys sometimes but am not crazy about them.

I am potty trained but not kennel trained. When no one is home, I am baby-gated to a certain part of the house and do well. I have not destroyed anything in my foster home and seem to be out of the chewing stage. At night, I like sleeping in my foster mom's bed. If I get too hot, I will switch to the cool floor. Given my personality, I don't believe that I would be a candidate for apartment living. I am not a vocal dog and have not shown to be a big barker in my foster home.

I am looking for a patient and loving home. One that understands that I need some time to adjust and feel safe. Someone who won't force me to interact with them but will let me come around on my own terms. Once I do, I will be your most loyal companion. However, I just can't be rushed. I know you may be excited to start our journey together, but we have forever. What is a few days of letting me adjust when we have forever together? I would love another sweet and chill dog to keep me company, but would probably also do fine as an only dog if my owner was home most of the day.

If you would like to welcome my scruffy self to your family, you can apply to adopt me at

Once you have submitted your application, it will be sent on to my foster family for consideration.

I am being fostered in Moore, OK.
While we do adopt out of state, you would be responsible for picking your new dog up. We do not send our dogs on transport. This way you and your new fur baby can already begin the bonding process on the way back home, and it limits the stress on the dog.

My adoption fee is $250.
That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Wheaten Terrier
  • Young
  • Male