Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Jack German Shepherd Dog Mix Port Townsend, WA

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Large
  • Red / Chestnut / Orange , White / Cream

About

Characteristics
friendly, playful, okay with dogs
Coat length
Short
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered, special needs. Hip dysplasia in both rear hips (likely genetic), will need surgery! Raising funds for surgery.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats.

Meet Jack

Hi, my name is Jack! I am approximately 2 years old. I came to HSJC all the way from a crowded shelter in California in search of my forever home.

I am a sweet, loving boy. I'm happy to greet everyone I meet, and seem fine with other dogs too. I don't seem to want to chase HSJC's resident barn cat either, so I may be fine in a home with felines too! I'm playful and silly, and all around just a "good boy." I will need to lose some weight in my new home to help keep my joints healthy.

Before staff here took me from California, they watched a video of me playing outside. Everyone noticed that my back legs seemed a little stiff, in spite of my playing and running around. Staff made a note to have me checked out by a vet once I arrived here.

Turns out I have hip dysplasia in both my rear hips. This is likely something I was born with, and have put up with despite it being quite uncomfortable. I was put on some anti-inflammatory medication as well as joint supplements, and I've improved a lot and seem to feel a lot better! However what I really need is surgery - Femoral Head Osteotomy (FHO) to be specific. Staff is looking for a home for me, and will fundraise to have at least 1 hip done before I go to my forever home (I will need about 3 weeks of restricted activity after surgery). If you'd like to donate towards my surgery fundraiser, you can click the "sponsor me" button on my Petfinder bio!
**UPDATE 4/17/19** - I'm more than halfway towards my goal of getting both my hips fixed up! Since the vet will only do 1 at a time, I'm having my first FHO surgery on 4/23. Wish me a speedy recovery!

I am up to date on my rabies, DAPP and bordatella vaccines, tested negative for heartworm, and am micro-chipped too.

My adoption fee is $150 (+ $20 county dog license, if residing within Jefferson County). Staff is taking applications for me, as they do for all the dogs here, to find me a home that suits my individual needs (for instance I may not do well in a home with too many stairs). If you're interested in me, you can submit an application on their website here (scroll to the bottom of the page): https://www.hsjcwa.org/adoptapet

Thank you!
Ask About Jack
More about Us
Jack

Ask About Jack

  • German Shepherd Dog
  • Adult
  • Male
  • Large
  • Red / Chestnut / Orange

To
The Humane Society of Jefferson County, WA

Have an account?

Or inquire as a guest

Send an inquiry
Petfinder Is Available Only In Specific Regions

Petfinder currently includes pets and adoption organizations from the regions listed above. Please check back in the future for any potential expansion.

Petfinder Is Available Only In Specific Regions

Petfinder currently includes pets and adoption organizations from the regions listed above. Please check back in the future for any potential expansion.

Do you have pets in your home?
How many dogs do you have in your home?
How many cats do you have in your home?

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Jack

Jack

  • German Shepherd Dog
  • Adult
  • Male