Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Hutch Great Pyrenees & Anatolian Shepherd Mix Kiowa, OK

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Large
  • Brown / Chocolate, White / Cream

About

Coat length
Medium
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, children.
Adoption fee
$225.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Think you and Hutch might be a match?

Meet Hutch

Hutch is ready to share his story! ♥

Wow, I am so happy to be back! My name is Hutch and I am a 2.5-year-old male Great Pyrenees mix. Some of you may remember me from almost 2 years ago when I first came into rescue as an adorable puppy. I ended up getting adopted and my owner was head over heels for me. I don't know when things changed, but they did. Suddenly I found myself outside more and more. And with no fence, there was nothing to ensure that I couldn't wander off. The thing about being outside all alone, is you get bored. For example, one time I was laying by the road and some people picked me up thinking I was lost and took me over to the next city before they contacted this rescue. They let my owner know that I had been picked up and they went to go get me. Fast forward a couple months, and this rescue gets another call. Except for this time I was picked up by animal control. I was now in the shelter!! My owner picked me up again and brought me home. This is when it was decided that it would be better if I came back to the rescue. One of my owners were not happy about having to pay a fee to get me out of the shelter and didn't want to pay another fee. Just when I was scheduled to come back to rescue my owner had to unexpectedly leave town. In those couple of weeks, I had disappeared from my home again. No one knew where I was and this rescue was super worried about me. Fast forward again, and they get a call that I landed in the shelter again a town away. This time they sent a foster family for me even though I was in Arkansas and I finally made it back into rescue.

I do have a few scars on me, so while I cannot remember exactly what happened while I was on my own, it wasn't good. I also came back into rescue skin and bones. My life didn't quite turn out as I thought, or anyone thought after I got adopted. It has been one crazy adventure, but that is in the past. Despite everything that happened, I know my owner loved me and is happy that I am back with the rescue. Now that you know my past, how about we focus on my future. A future that hopefully includes you and I becoming best friends and making all sorts of amazing memories together!
____________________________________________________________________

I need...no I deserve an absolutely amazing family! I want to make sure I do this right so I have compiled a list of questions that I think you might have about me!

-How can someone adopt me?
The first step is to fill out an adoption app for me at https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app
Once this app comes in, it will get sent on to my foster family and they will help me decide if we are a match or not.

*Where are you being fostered? Do I need to pick you up? Can I adopt you even if I don't live in Oklahoma?
I am being fostered in Tulsa, OK. Yes, you would need to pick me up. This rescue does not send us on transports. It is less stress on us that way. Plus, you and I can already start bonding on the road trip home! ? Yes, I am okay moving to a new state,

-Do I do well with strangers?
I am shy. I love people but may back away or act a little nervous when first meeting new people

-Do you enjoy going places?
I have been to Starbucks and a neighborhood pool party. I was all about eating a puppuccino(see some of my photos) and enjoyed meeting the neighborhood kids by the pool.

-Do you enjoy walks?
I am GREAT on a leash. I do not pull and do not react/ appear interested in squirrels/ cats/ other dogs that I may see on walks. I may stand and look at them, but I have the best time sniffing shrubs and mailboxes along the route.

-Do you like road trips?
I am a CAR DOG! I love hopping in for rides and will sit in the back seat and look out the window. I love car rides!

-Can I trust you to free-roam the house, even if I am away?
I would have full run of the house when my fosters are away, but they have two bossy lab mixes, so they stay in the back half of the house, and I stay in the front half of the house. I really would be fine having full run of the place, if the lab mixes were less bossy. As far as chewing goes, I have not shown to be a big chewer in my foster home.

-Are you potty trained? What about kennel trained?
Yes, I am potty trained. As far as the kennel goes, I hate it! So, I definitely need a home that won't kennel me.

-What do you like to do for fun?
I have not shown much interest in tennis balls or fetch. I have not had the chance to play in water, but the groomer said I did great getting groomed. She even said that I was welcome back anytime- and was a very easy dog to groom! I haven't played with any toys yet, but my fosters feel that I will probably start playing with them as I settle in more.

-Would you do okay living in an apartment?
Yes, I believe so. I am on the more laid-back side. With that said, I would still need a good exercise plan in place.

-Are you good with dogs? What about cats? Can I trust you with my kids?
I quickly made friends with my foster three foster puppies. I will play a little bit of Chase but if my humans are out in the yard, I will focus on staying near my people and trying to get as many pets and rubs as I can! I am not being fostered around any cats so am unsure how I would do. I was originally fostered with them as a puppy and did fine then. I have done great meeting kids in the neighborhood. My fosters think I would do great with kids who are dog-savvy and know to pet me gently etc.

-Is there anything else that I need to know about you? Any quirks?
I have not shown any signs of food aggression, but I am a little skinny, so my fosters have been feeding me separately from the other dogs. I do not resource guard. I am a big gentleman!! I have not shown to be a big barker in my foster home. I have good manners and do not jump on people.

-Can I hear what your foster has to say about you?
"Hutch is a 2.5-year-old Great Pyrenees/Anatolian Shepherd mix. He is mostly white, with lovely big brown spots. He has short fur, and weighs about 67 pounds, but will be closer to 75-80 pounds ideally (he is a little on the skinny side, but doing his best to gain weight!). Hutch has the biggest brown eyes, and is the biggest lover boy! He is soulful. He is on the quieter/ calmer side. We haven't heard him bark much at all. He gets so excited when we come home. He is always up for any adventure, whether a car ride, a walk down the street, a trip to the park, or just snuggling on the sofa getting pets, and watching a movie. He likes to be right by my side. Hutch is a great laundry/chores companion and Sous Chef in the kitchen. He could reach the back of the counters if he wanted, but we haven't seen him counter surf. He likes to lay on the floor and watch me cook, and then sit under the table when we eat (he's a ham!). He hasn't been a big chewer here, but likes dental chews and LOVES milkbones. He is a dream dog and we have loved fostering him."
____________________________________________________________________

Phew! That took longer than I thought! Hopefully, all your questions about me were answered though! Before you apply to adopt me I have a few last things that I would like to discuss!

My ideal home would be on the calmer side and either have another friendly dog for me to play with or people who are home most of the day to give me pets and snuggles. I LOVE my people! I am a great leash walker, and have been going on morning walks with my foster (summers in OK are HOT!). I have not been on any long hikes, but have done well on my walks in the neighborhood. I would love to run errands with my family and be a treasured family member for the family who adopts me.

If you fit most of the above, then fill out that app and bring me home! Because I am ready! ?

*My adoption fee is $225. That includes DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordatella shots. I will be micro-chipped, heart-worm tested, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention.

Think you and Hutch might be a match?

Help provide for Hutch's care

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Hutch

Hutch

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Adult
  • Male