Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Happie Golden Retriever & Great Pyrenees Mix Kiowa, OK

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Large
  • Apricot / Beige, White / Cream


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats.
Adoption fee

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Happie

What do you do when your whole life falls apart?

I used to have a loving home. My owner and I were the best of friends. We lived a more simple life and that was just fine with me.. I was perfectly content with my life. I had a home, a person, and a routine that I was familiar with...what more could a dog ask for?

I never imagined that I would one day end up in need of a new family. I thought I had found the family that I would spend the rest of my life with. Life has a funny way of throwing curve balls your way though. My owner ended up having to move, and sadly I wasn't allowed to go with them. My owner ended up leaving me with family, but they were not able to keep me either as they had their own animals. They reached out to PPFT for help in placing me, and thankfully I ended up having a foster family step up for me!

This was my 3rd time switching homes in a short time period and I was quite nervous when I first entered my foster home. I felt so defeated. I had lost everything I had ever known twice now and had no idea what was going to happen to me. My foster family and the pets in the home have done a wonderful job at welcoming me home though, and I have really started to open up.

My name is Happie and I am a 6-year-old Golden Retriever/Great Pyrenees mix. I am a big boy and weigh around 94lbs. Apparently, I stand to lose a few pounds but given how much I love food...I don't know how likely that is to happen! ;) In fact, I am known to be an expert food stealer. If I see an opportunity to snatch some food off the table or out of the trash...I will do so before you even realize what happened! For some reason, this is frowned upon so my new family should make sure the trash can has a lock on it or is put up and that there is no food left on the counter.

I am not really into exercise. That is probably another reason I am a bit on the "fluffy" side. I really enjoy naps and lounging around the house. I am not someone who is into always going places and getting their sweat thank you! Walks would be okay as long as they aren't too long and the weather is nice out. I am not a fan of this heat and have no desire to stay outside longer than I have to. The good news is that I have impeccable house manners...well besides trying to steal food. But let's not focus on that part. Let's focus on the part where I am potty trained, haven't been a chewer, and can be trusted to free-roam the house! I have no experience being kenneled and would prefer a family that won't kennel me either since it simply isn't necessary for me.

I have canine companions in my foster home and do well with them. Now, I am not a player so don't get in hopes of becoming besties with your very energetic pup. I prefer to keep to myself when it comes to the other dogs and seem indifferent to them. If my family was home a lot, I believe I would love getting to be the only dog. However, I would also be just as happy having doggie companions as long as they were cool, calm, and collected like myself! I am also being fostered around cats and do well with them. I was around older kids 7+ in my former home and did well with them. I don't think I would be a match for a family that has younger kids as I do startle easily.

Fast movements do startle me, and I do get nervous when I don't understand what you want me to do. Given that I am a large and independent male, I don't like being led by my collar either. Using a leash or treats are much more appealing to me if you want me to go somewhere with you. I will need a calm and gentle family that understands that I am an independent boy and don't want to be "coddled". Now with that said, I LOVE attention and being with my people but I am not a dog you can just run up to and smother in kisses and hugs as quick movements spook me. I like gentle pets and loving.

If you are interested in offering me a forever home, you can apply at

Once this app comes in, it will be sent to my foster family. This is to help ensure that it is not only a good fit for you, but for me as well.

I am being fostered in Kiowa, OK. If you have fallen in love with me and are out of state, how about a road trip? PPFT doesn't send us on commercial transports. So, if you want one of us amazing fluffy butts, it is time to plan a trip to good ole Oklahoma ?

My adoption fee is $250.00.
That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heartworm and flea/tick prevention.

I bet you thought that was the end of things, huh? Well, it just so happens that I would like to share what my foster mom says about me

"Happie is a laid-back and easygoing boy. He does well with other dogs and cats but is indifferent to both. I don't think he cares if they are there or not. He has excellent house manners, has not been destructive, and is potty trained. He likes to come up on the couch and cuddle sometimes, but he is not a super affectionate dog. He respects your space and isn't pushy about attention but melts into you when you do pet him.

Happie flinches at fast movements and sometimes becomes easily nervous so he will need a calm and patient family. A home that has a lot of activity going on or is really noisy wouldn't be a good fit for him. He would do best with a more laid-back family with older kids that know to go slow and be gentle with him. He doesn't like being grabbed and led by the collar either, so his new family should use a leash if they want him to go somewhere with them. As mentioned above he does become nervous and unsure what to do when he doesn't know what you are asking of him.

Overall, if you are looking for a calm and low-maintenance boy who loves attention but won't be on you 24/7 for it...Happie is the one for you!

Happie would do best in a quieter more laid-back home. He would love being an only dog, but would also do just fine if his new home had calmer dogs."

Okay, now that is everything! Hope to see you apply for me!

Goodbye for now ?
Happie ♥

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Golden Retriever
  • Adult
  • Male