Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Gema Great Pyrenees & Anatolian Shepherd Mix Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Female
  • Large
  • White / Cream, Gray / Blue / Silver

About

Coat length
Long
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, children.
Adoption fee
$225.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Think you and Gema might be a match?

Meet Gema

Gema is ready to share her story! ?

Hello there. My name is Gema and I am a 9-month-old, 70lb female Great Pyrenees/Anatolian Shepherd mix. I am sure you are wondering how someone as gorgeous as me found myself in need of a home.

I was a stray. This means at one point I had no name, no doggie bed, no family, and was left to fend for myself. I got pretty skinny while I was on my own and my coat thinned out. Eventually, I was picked up by animal control and brought to the shelter. I gained some things but lost others. I may have been well taken care of there, but the shelter only had a limited amount of runs. So, after I served my stray hold and went unclaimed, was put up for adoption and no one took me, I was put on the euthanasia list. Thankfully, this rescue caught wind of my situation and was able to welcome me to their fluffy butt family!

It is now time to find my forever family, and I hope you will take the time to read on and get to know me better!
____________________________________________________________________

While I am super excited to find my forever family, I do not want to rush into anything. I want you and I both to be sure that we are a match! To help with that, I have filled out a questionnaire.

-How can someone adopt me?
The first step is to fill out an adoption app for me at https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app
Once this app comes in, it will get sent on to my foster family and they will help me decide if we are a match or not.

-Where are you being fostered?
I am being fostered in Moore, OK.

-Would I need to come to pick you up?
Yes, you would need to pick me up. This rescue does not send us on transports. It is less stress on us that way. Plus, you and I can already start bonding on the road trip home! ?


-Can I adopt you even though I don't live in Oklahoma?
Yep, I am not opposed to living in another state!

-How do you act when meeting new people?
I am excited, friendly, and happy ?

-What is your personality like?
Active, playful, and calm.

-Do you jump on people?
Yes. What can I say, I am a hugger!

-Do you enjoy going places?
Yes, and I have done well when my fosters have taken me out.

-Do you enjoy walks?
Yes.

-How are you on a leash?
I am okay but could use some more working with.

-How do you do on car rides?
I do well.

-Can I trust you to free-roam the house, even if I am away?
Yes. I have free-roam of the house when my fosters are away.

-Where do you like to sleep at night?
In the bedroom with my foster parents.

-Do you chew?
Yes. I am still young so if you have things lying around, I cannot promise I won't try to munch them ;)

-Are you potty trained?
Yes

-Are you kennel trained?
NO. I panic in the kennel and will hurt myself trying to get out of one.

-Do you like to play fetch?
No

-Do you like to play in the water?
I am unsure, I haven't really had the chance to yet.

-Do you play with toys?
Yes, especially nylabones.

-Would you do okay living in an apartment?
No.

-Do you bark?
I have not shown to be a big barker in my foster home.

-Are you good with other dogs?
Yes. I am shy at first but warm up fast and become playful.

-Are you good with cats?
I am not being fostered around any so I am unsure.

-Are you good with kids?
I have been around kids as young as 5 and have done well with them.

-Have you shown any signs of food aggression with other animals?
Yes, I should be fed separately from the other dogs. I came into the rescue pretty skinny, so I am still learning that I don't have to "protect" my food anymore.

-Have you tried to resource guard anything?
No.

-Can I hear what your foster has to say about you?
"Gema is a very sweet and playful dog, she loves all people and dogs! She is potty trained but needs to be let out shortly after drinking a lot of water. She has free roam of the entire house and has done very well! Gema has some separation anxiety and does need another dog, when she’s completely alone she becomes very anxious and drools excessively. I would say she’s a medium-energy dog who likes to play but also loves to lay around on the couch! She does have some food aggression but we haven’t had any issues with feeding her separately! Gema is the sweetest girl and has been a great houseguest!"
____________________________________________________________________

-What are you looking for in your new family?

I am looking for a family that is a good mix of playful and calm. They will also need to have another dog that I can hang out with when they are away. I really love being with my family, and would probably enjoy going out and about. I don't think I would like to do it all the time, but I would definitely like to get out of the house here and there. A family that likes to be active sometimes but homebodies other times would be PYRfect for me!

-How much is your adoption fee?
My adoption fee is $225.

That includes DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordatella shots. I will be micro-chipped, heart-worm tested, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention

Think you and Gema might be a match?

Help provide for Gema 's care

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Gema

Gema

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Young
  • Female