Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Fritz Australian Shepherd Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Male
  • Medium
  • Merle (Blue)


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats, children.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Fritz

Fritz's Story
-Written by Fritz, a 4-year-old, 36lb male Australian Shepherd.

All I have ever wanted was to belong somewhere. To feel welcome and to feel loved. I have been an outside dog for as long as I can remember. That was how I grew up so I never know that things could be different. I have always been quite a gentleman and never asked for anything. I accepted whatever my family gave me and was happy with it. I was just thankful to have a home and I am nothing if not loyal. I would have stayed by my owner's side through thick and thin. They were my family after all. I spent my days exploring, hanging out in the yard, and waiting for my owner to come out and play with me. It wasn't often but when they did play with me I was so happy!

I thought I would have my family forever. I never thought that I would one day find myself all on my own. But that day had come to pass. Suddenly, I was in an unfamiliar area. My owners were nowhere in sight and I was truly alone. The one thing that I could always count on was that my owners were close by. It wasn't always fun to spend nights on my own but at least I knew my owners were in the house. there was no one. Just wide open space every way I looked. I wish I could tell you how I ended up there, but things are so hazy. I was kinda in shock. I went from having a home for the past four years to suddenly having nothing. I went in search of my people and explored the countryside. I guess I had my presence pretty well known because I ended up getting picked up and brought to the animal shelter.

Silly me. I thought that someone was picking me up to take me home with them. I had no hesitations. I was just so excited that someone finally wanted me. Instead, I was brought to the animal shelter. Everyone was pretty convinced that I had an owner. I was quite the handsome boy, and someone had to be looking for me. I wasn't too sure, but since both the other dogs and people kept saying that I suddenly felt at home. Maybe this was all a big misunderstanding and my family would come for me. Sadly, they never did. I was in a small pound and I really wasn't sure that someone would come and adopt me. Thankfully, I ended up not having to worry about that. A rescue had tagged me! I found out that I would soon be going on transport to an out-of-state rescue and I was excited. A new adventure was at the tip of my paws! The shelter started to vet me and get me ready to leave when something happened. I came out heartworm positive. Suddenly, the out-of-state rescue was no longer able to take me. The problem with that was the shelter was full. Very full. I was supposed to have left and instead I now had no rescue and no place to go. I was put on the urgent list while the shelter desperately tried to find a place for me.

This rescue heard my plea. They welcomed me to their fluffy butt family..heartworms and all! I ended up in an amazing foster family and have begun treatment to get rid of those nasty worms. Despite never being in the house before, I adjusted pretty quickly to indoor life. I did have a phase where I wanted to mark my territory in the house initially...I know...I know...but I never got to be inside before. So, I felt the need to let others know that I was living in the home. Now that I feel secure in my foster home, I am fully potty trained and will even go to the back door when I need to potty. I am kennel trained but I am not happy about it. I would much prefer to have a free roam of the house. I am not a chewer and haven't gotten into anything that I shouldn't. I am given free roam of the house when my owners are away. At night, I have the choice to sleep anywhere I please. The only time I have been vocal was when I was kenneled. I barked to let my foster know my displeasure and that I wanted out. Other than that, I have not been a big barker.

I am a pretty calm and laid-back guy. I do enjoy going for walks and believe that I would enjoy going on hikes with my new family. I am uninterested in playing fetch or in the water. So far, I have not played with any toys. This is my first time being around them and I don't know what I am supposed to do with them. It may always be like that...but maybe one day I will pick one up..who knows.

I have only been to the vet so far but did really well. I loved getting to meet new people and was friendly with them. I am good with other dogs. I enjoy their company but am also indifferent to them. I have not tried to engage in play with them. I would not be a good choice if you were looking for a playmate for your other dog but would make an excellent calmer companion for them if they were chill like me. I am good with cats and have no issues with them. I am a very gentle and polite fellow and do great around kids. I have no experience with very young children though, so the kids will need to be at least 5+. I am not a jumper but I will hop in your lap if you are sitting on the couch. ;)

I am sure you caught that I was heartworm positive, and I am currently undergoing treatment for it. I will be ready to go home around Mid-August. I know that seems like quite some time still but I would really love to already have a family waiting for me. That way, once I am finished with treatment you will be waiting to welcome me home. All I have ever truly wanted was to feel like I belonged. A family that will never let me go. A family that will love me and takes care of me. I want to be someones forever....I have already been someone's until dog..and that isn't good enough for me anymore. If you can offer me forever, then please apply to adopt me at

Once this app comes in, it will be sent on to my foster family. This is to help ensure that not only am I a good fit for you but that you are also a good fit for me! ?

I am currently residing in Skiatook, OK. If you have fallen in love with me and are out of state, how about a road trip? I do very well on car rides, and would make an excellent travel companion!

My adoption fee is $250.
That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention.

*It will also include my heartworm treatment.

-Below is an excerpt from Fritz's foster family.

"We call Fritz Gentleman Jack because he is one of the most polite and well behaved rescue dogs I have brought into the house. He didn’t have any trouble adapting and has been very easy to have around. He gets along great with other dogs, the cat, the kids, he waits his turn for a treat, he doesn’t push the other dogs out of the way or try to push past his human to get to the door first. He’s so calm and easy going that you might forget he’s there but if you do he will happily remind you when you sit on the couch and he jumps up there to snuggle with you. He’s a very sweet dog and would love to be someone’s little furry companion ??"

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Australian Shepherd
  • Young
  • Male