Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Findley Golden Retriever Kiowa, OK

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Large
  • Golden, White / Cream

About

Coat length
Long
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.
Adoption fee
$250.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Findley

Findley's Story
-Written by Findley, a 2-year-old, 66lb male Golden Retriever mix.
---------------------------------------------

I have played the role of an outside dog. I had never been inside prior to coming into rescue. I know some enjoy it, but it is different when you get little attention. It is different when it is super hot outside and there is next to no reprieve from the sun. It is different when my owner barely visits me. I am such a loving dog. I love to cuddle and I love being with my people. I am what some may call a velcro dog. So, no. I wasn't okay being outside all alone...always looking for the outside in. I wanted to be with my people. I wanted to stay close to them. They didn't give me the chance though. When they would come outside, I would be so excited and would dance around them and go a little crazy with excitement. I was just so attention starved. My excitement ended up getting on my owners nerves though so they would quickly disappear back into the house. And it would be just me again. All alone in that backyard. I so desperately wanted more...but what could I do? My fate had been written.

I never thought that my ticket to freedom would come from being abandoned. Sure, I wanted more but I wanted more from my family. I wanted them to give me a chance. I wanted them to see just how much of a good boy I could be for them. I never expected to end up all on my own. I never expected to become a stray dog. How it happened...I don't know. I tried to find my way home, but I ended up getting horribly lost. I had no idea where I was going. I hate being an outside dog but I also hated being a stray dog. The only difference was now I could go wherever I wanted instead of being trapped in the yard. I was still alone though. I was still stuck in the heat. I had no street smarts so it was no surprise when I got picked up and ended up in doggie jail. To tell you the truth though, I did not put up much of a fight. I was just happy to finally be around people again. The shelter wasn't where I wanted to end up, but at least there was A/C. At least I was being fed and watered daily, and I had a nice warm blanket. When you were only an outside dog, it is amazing how much one soft blanket could mean to you.

I had no idea what would happen to me. I had no family looking for me, and I didn't know how to win someone's heart. I didn't know what would make someone fall in love with me...how could I? I spent my whole life in the backyard and received hardly any attention. I did not think that I would catch anyone's attention, so I was quite surprised when a nice lady came for me. She said I was going home with her, and as it would turn out she is my foster mom! This rescue was looking for a foster home for me and she said yes!

I have to admit, I was a bit wild when I first entered my foster home. I had a lot of energy and I had no idea what to do with it. My former family never worked with me on any training so I was pretty much a kid in a candy shop. I ran all throughout the house in excitement and did not really know what to do with myself. All I needed was a chance though. Because as time went by, I started to learn the routine. I started to take cues from the other dogs and follow their lead. I started training with my foster mom and learned how to redirect my energy and what certain words meant. In just a few short weeks, I have almost become a new dog. All I want to do is please and I am so incredibly thankful that I get to be inside and part of the family.

Now, don't get me wrong. I am an energetic dog that sometimes gets a little too excited. I am the kind of boy that just wants to have fun! With that said, I do calm down quickly with a gentle pet and calm voices from my humans. Once I am done with my playful spurts, I am perfectly content to chill out next to you on the couch, bed, or floor. As far as games go, I do like playing chase or wrestling with the other dogs. I have a blast playing with them, but I am also still working on my doggie social skills. Sometimes I can play a little rough, in which case the older dogs will get on to me...but I am learning. For two years I sat in that backyard all alone, so I never learned what is acceptable and what isn't...but I am learning now. I am a big fan of chasing after toys, but then I want to play keep-away with the toy instead of bringing it back. So, as of right now I will fetch...I just won't bring it back though ? I have not met a toy that I don't like. A ball and rope are my favorites. I love to run around the yard with them and will throw them up in the air. When it is time to wind down, I will grab a chew bone and plop down on the dog bed. I would say that I am definitely a water dog. I jumped right into the kiddie pool that my foster family has set up for us. I will splash around in every single puddle I can find after it rains and have been known to play in the water bowl.

I love going for walks. I do pretty well when we pass by people and pets in the neighborhood. I do react to the deer in the neighborhood if I see them during our walks. My foster family has been working on getting me to focus on them instead of the deer and we are slowly making progress. I have not been to many public events but I do tend to get really excited and will bark and jump. My foster is family is working on keeping me focused and calm though and once again, I am making progress. However, if my new family wanted to take me out and about with me...that would be something we would still need to work on. I have never been hiking, but I think I would really enjoy it. I ride well in a car. My foster family uses a harness and doggy seat belt to keep me from climbing into the front seat. Once I know that I won’t be allowed in front, I will sit up in the back seat and look out the window or lay down and chill.

I am potty trained, but I do have an issue with incontinence. That was quite a surprise to my foster family, and I because I never knew why I would suddenly have an accident on myself or when I was walking. Luckily, if I am kept on a strict potty schedule and given my medication it is quite manageable. I will even make it through the night if my water intake is limited during the night. I was not the biggest fan of the kennel when I first came into rescue, but am slowly coming around with it. I am not quite kennel-trained yet but am getting there. When my foster family is away, I am baby gate to the kitchen and do well. I am not a big chewer and really haven't gotten into anything I shouldn't. I am pretty good about learning what is off-limits, but the house should still initially be puppy-proofed just in case. At night, I like to sleep in the bedroom with my foster parents. I will initially sleep on the bed, then move to the floor, and then sometime in the night jump back on the bed.

I do have a loud bark. I take my job as a protector seriously and will warn you when animals or people are nearby when I am outside. I occasionally bark inside the house if I hear or see something. I do not believe that I would be a candidate for apartment living. I am quite energetic and can be vocal.

I am good with other dogs and absolutely love playing with them. As I mentioned earlier, I do sometimes play a little too rough so need a dog that can handle that but will also help correct me when I get a little out of paw. I am not being fostered around any cats so am unsure how I would do with them. I am not being fostered around any kids right now. I don't always realize the effects of my energy, so I would probably be too much for younger kids.

My ideal home would understand my energy level and will work with me to use that energy productively. I need someone willing to give me their time and attention to continue my training. I need someone who will be home most of the day, so they can help manage my incontinence. The meds help a lot, but I still need to be let outside often. I would enjoy another dog in the home, but the dog needs to be able to handle my energy and playfulness. I think I would be ok as an only dog as long as my family is attentive and energetic.

All I ever wanted was for someone to give me a chance. For someone to see that I am more than an outside dog. That I am more than a stray dog. That I am more than a shelter dog. I want to be all I can be for my family. I have learned a lot and am still learning, but I hope that won't scare my new family away. I have so much love to give and have so much potential. I have played the role of an until dog already. Now, it is time to play the role of a forever dog. Can you offer me that?

If so, please apply for me at
https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app.

Once your app comes in, it will be sent on to my foster family. This is to help ensure that not only am I a good fit for you but that you are also a good fit for me! ?

I am currently residing in McAlester, OK. If you have fallen in love with me and are out of state, how about a road trip? I think it would be quite a memorable adventure and a great way to kick off our new life together.

My adoption fee is $250.
That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heartworm and flea/tick prevention.

---------------------------------------------

EPILOGUE
-Below is an excerpt from Findley's foster family.

"What can I say, Findley is really a special guy! He sees life as an adventure and wants to share that with his humans and other dogs. He is a super-intelligent boy. We have spent a lot of time training basic commands and Findley responds immediately. He’s already proven how trainable he is and will do well with continued practice and training.
Because of the incontinence, he will need someone home most of the day. We let him outside for a potty break at least every 2 hours and he seldom has an accident in the house. We have been working on crate tr

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Findley

Findley

  • Golden Retriever
  • Adult
  • Male