Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Emberly Great Pyrenees & Australian Shepherd Mix Kiowa, OK

  • Adult
  • Female
  • Large
  • White / Cream, Red / Chestnut / Orange


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Emberly

Emberly's Story
-By Emberly, a 2-year-old, 61lb female Great Pyrenees/Aussie mix.

We were the best of friends. You adopted me as a puppy and we grew together. I was your walking buddy. I was your loyal companion. I was always there to greet you when you came home from work. I was always there to cuddle up close to you when you were sad. I was always there for you and at the time you were for me. We were such good friends. Where did it all go wrong? I remember the day you gave up on me as if it was yesterday.

You had grabbed my leash and I was so excited. I thought we were just going on another adventure. I happily jumped in the car and was looking out the window. We ended up stopping in front of this building, and I was quite curious. I could hear faint barks from other dogs and while I was trying to figure that out you gave me a hug. You squeezed me tight and I could tell you were sad. Why I didn't know. But I laid my head on your shoulder and tried to let you know it would be okay. That I was here for you. That is when it all changed though. We got out of the car and we walked to that building. As we got closer I could hear the dogs more clearly now. They were begging for someone to get them out. Trying to catch people's attention. I started to panic and tried pulling back to the car. You didn't let me though, you brought me inside the building. We walked up to the counter and you filled out some paperwork. The shelter said something about being really full and not having room but you went ahead with the paperwork. I probably should have seen it coming sooner, but I never saw it coming. I didn't see the betrayal until you handed my leash over to someone else. You were my everything and I had to watch you walk out of the shelter. I watched my whole whole world leave me. I watched you get in your car and drive off. I was battling some severe denial here. This was all wrong. You wouldn't do this to me. You would come back for never did though. The worst part about everything is the shelter was so full and you knew. The shelter reached out to several rescues just hoping that someone could take me before they had to make a tough call with me. Thankfully, a foster family stepped up for me with this rescue and I was able to be saved.

When I met my foster family, I immeditely went up to them and said hello! I have never had any reservations about making new friends. Plus, I was so excited to be with people again! When people come over to my foster home, I am super friendly and lovable. I am pretty sure that I could befriend even a rock! I have such a sweet and loving personality that I tend to draw both animals and people in! I quickly befriended the dogs in my foster home, and love to play with them. I have also been around cats and do well with them. Now if they run, I may see that as an invitation to play tag with them and may run up to them to see what is going on. I have yet to meet any little humans but I am probably one of the sweetest dogs you will ever meet so I believe that I would do well with them.

I spend my days following my people around, playing with the other dogs, coming on the couch to cuddle, and playing with my toys. I would say I am on the more active side but nothing too crazy. One of my favorite things to do with my toys is to load up the bed with them and throw them up in the air, then attack the pillows! So, you better have lots and lots of toys ready for me! I am not interested in playing fetch, I prefer to make my own fun with my toys...sorry not sorry ;) I have not had the chance to go swimming yet, but I would be interested to see how I react! Honestly, if I see you try to swim too far away from me I may have to just chase you down...water or not. Then again, maybe I will just run along the water's edge...I am very much a fan of going on walks but am still working on my leash skills. Right now I am so excited that I will walk in front of you and keep walking from side to side or pull. So, my foster family is working with me on using a shorter leash. So, I have never been on a hike but I would LOVE to go on one! I love to explore, I love to be with my people, and I love getting to meet other people and dogs! Hiking just sounds perfect for me.

Once we are done with our outside activities I love coming into a nice cool house! I am potty trained and can be trusted not to leave you a surprise somewhere in the house....and I am not talking about the good kind! My fosters allow me to have free roam of the house when they are away and I have done excellently. Since I do so well with free roam, I have no experience being kenneled. I would really like to keep it that way since I do so well without it. At night, I like to be near my people and will sleep in the bedroom with them. I am on the quieter side, so much so that when I do will look at me and ask "was that you?" I am not opposed to apartment living as long as my owner is on the active side. I would need plenty of walks and outings. I love my people very much but I am not okay with being cooped up all day long. A girl has to live!

I was once someone's everything until I wasn't anymore. I am doing my best to live life to the fullest and not let the betrayal of my past affect my future. However, I don't ever want to go through something like that again. I never want to be someone's "until dog" again. I want someone who will be my forever because I am ready to be theirs!

If you would like forever with me, please apply to adopt me at

Once you have submitted your application, it will be sent on to my foster family for consideration.

I am being fostered in McAlester, OK but I am okay relocating out of state. In fact, I do really well on car rides and will hop right in and settle down for the ride. If you are out of state, you need to pick me up. No ifs or buts about it. I want commitment and I want an adventure! If I am going to travel halfway across this state, you can bet that you are going to be right by my side when I do it!

My adoption fee is $250.00.

That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Great Pyrenees
  • Adult
  • Female