Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Dobbie ***ADOPTION PENDING**** Italian Greyhound Omaha, NE

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Small

About

Characteristics
Playful, loving, affectionate
Coat length
Short
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered, special needs. Autoimmune skin condition--Pemphigus.
Prefers a home without
Cats, other animals. Small critters.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Think you and I might be a match?

Meet Dobbie ***ADOPTION PENDING****

Dobbie is a super affectionate 5 yo IG who weighs 14#. He loves snuggling in your lap and sleeping in bed with you. He needs a family willing to let him snuggle in bed with them! He always wants to be near getting love and snuggles. He has super keen sighthound instincts so no small critters in the home and would do best without cats also as he is interested in chasing when they play. He needs a secure fence 5' or taller to keep him safe as he chases all the wildlife in the yard and can jump!

He is on cyclosporine oral medication every 3 days (inexpensive dosing) to keep his skin healthy and free of skin sores. He may be able to go to even more infrequent dosing in the near future. He was diagnosed with pemphigus which is an autoimmune disease. This medication suppresses his immune system so he will need to watched for infections (urinary, etc) and annual blood tests is recommended to check his values.

He is currently eating Honest kitchen grain-free and is taking Omega 3 fish oil and probiotics to keep his tummy happy and skin and immune system in good order. Adopter will need to be committed to feeding him minimally processed foods and treats to maintain his immune system and his good skin condition presently.

He has had a dental cleaning with no extractions (unheard of!) and has been neutered, up to date on HW testing and vaccinations.

He plays well with other dogs and enjoys their company but is a people dog and falls hard for his people and we want a home for him without other dogs. He has displayed resource guarding his favorite person from other dogs by growling and snapping when he is on their lap or when he has to compete for attention. It is something foster mom is working on but to set him up for success and safety, he should be in a single dog home. He loves to go on walks but may need some work not to react with barking and protecting when he sees other dogs. He does like to protect his people and his home by barking.

This little guy is extremely food motivated; more than any other dog we have seen! He needs help to stay safe from harmful foods so no food on tables, countertops, in backpacks or purses as he is very clever about stealing food.

Dobbie is outdoor potty trained and will also use potty pads indoors when the weather is bad or really cold/snowy.

Crating is fine for Dobbie for a few hours but he is not used to crating all day long. We would love a family who is home at least part-time during the day. this boy loves his people and wants to be close!

Preference given to applications locally here near Omaha, NE.

Please visit us at midwestigrescue.com to learn more about the adoption process and to fill out an application. We do require an adoption fee to help us cover the cost of vetting while they are in our care. This fee varies depending on their age.

Our application process consists of a completed application, vet and two personal reference checks and home visit. We do require that your resident pets be spayed or neutered and have routine veterinary care and check-ups.

Our dogs are available for adoption in Nebraska, Iowa and South Dakota and will be considered for adoption to surrounding states (within a reasonable day drive). We DO NOT transport or ship dogs. You would be responsible for picking up from foster home. If you are in a state other than NE, IA or SD, you will need to work with your state's IGRF representative in order to get your application processed and approved before being considered. Please use the website: igrescue.com to find your state's affiliate and rescue representative. Thank you for your understanding!

Think you and I might be a match?

Help provide for my care

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Dobbie ***ADOPTION PENDING****

Dobbie ***ADOPTION PENDING****

  • Italian Greyhound
  • Adult
  • Male